1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Question about AI handicap.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Hell Hawk, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. Hell Hawk

    Hell Hawk Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    If I set AI handicap to the lowest level (Chieftain or Settler, can't remember which) does that mean...

    A. The AI gets it super easy, making them a difficult opponent?
    or
    B. Humans get it easy against that specific AI, making that AI an easy opponent?
     
  2. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    Chieften, Settler, Warlord... they all give bonuses to the human, or handicap the AI in one manner or another... these lower levels are easiest for the human and hard on the AI.

    At Noble, both sides are at their closest parity in regards to breaks to either side... Prince through Diety all favor the AI with increasing bonuses and gameplay ease, making it harder on the human.
     
  3. Hell Hawk

    Hell Hawk Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Yeah, I'm not talking about game difficulty though, I'm talking specifically about AI handicap in worldbuilder. ( Handicap=HANDICAP_NOBLE )

    In other words, if I made a 1 v 1 scenario, and I myself was playing at noble, would I have a harder time against a AI handicapped to Chieftain or Deity?
     
  4. Wolfshanze

    Wolfshanze CFC Historian

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,689
    Location:
    Florida
    There's no difference... an AI at Chieften is a sap, while an AI at Diety is living hell...
     
  5. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    in other words it makes it harder for you if your playing at noble and the AI is set to chieftain.

    now its quite obvious what it does when your playing at harder or easier levels. These are two completely different things then setting the AI's difficulty in the worldbuilder or notepad.

    edit: play the original earth 1000ad scenario if you want to find out for yourself. The players are set at all kinds of random difficulty settings.
     
  6. yorkgrass

    yorkgrass Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    do we have the last word yet? So if I set one AI player as Chieftain, is it easier to be conquered or harder? i.e. is Wolfshanze right or Shiggs713?
     
  7. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    well like I said, if you really want to know for a fact, play the original earth 1000ad scenario that everyone has. The players are set at various difficulty levels, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure it out after playing some turns.
     

Share This Page