1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

question about conquering cities.

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by chudd, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. chudd

    chudd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    i just got civ 3 again and i was wondering when i conquer cities of a population of 1. why do i automatically destroy them? when i used to play it i thought i could take them and turn them into my cities. if anyone knows the reason please tell me. thank you for your time.
     
  2. Jokeslayer

    Jokeslayer Dedicated

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Location:
    Haxxing Meisen's combats
    This feature didn't exist in the original game. It was introduced by one of the expansion packs. So I guess you didn't have those before and you do now.
     
  3. chudd

    chudd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    is there a way to get rid of it?
     
  4. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,698
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    It was actually introduced with a patch, you could play without patching up to that level. You would have to read the notes to find the one that has it. I cannot even remember, if came in Vanilla patch or PTW.

    It is not the size, it is the culture. A size 1 town will not auto raze, if it has expanded it borders. It will not raze, if it is native to you. IOW the town was yours and you recapture it and it still has you nations citizen.
     
  5. chudd

    chudd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    thank you
     
  6. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,698
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    It was 1.16f patch fro vanilla.
     
  7. Optional

    Optional Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    I don't know which version of the game you've got, chudd, but for Conquests an unofficial patch has been made that gets rid of the automatic city razing. The download can be found in the first post of this thread: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=327919.
     

Share This Page