1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Question about reputation hits.

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by tR1cKy, Mar 15, 2005.

  1. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    Ancient age, or medieval age pre-astronomy. Suppose you are the Romans (what else? :D) On a nearby island, connected by sea tiles, there's France.

    France has the Great Lighthouse, so it can trade via sea tiles. France creates a colony on your island, and build a harbor in it. You build a road connecting the French settlement to your existing road network, thus establishing a trade route between Rome and Paris. You decide to trade some goods.

    Then, while the trade treaty is still active, the french colony flips to Rome. Since Rome cannot trade via sea squares at the moment, the trade treaty ends abruptly.

    The question is: do you suffer a reputation hit or not?
     
  2. Pentium

    Pentium Digital Matter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,673
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Doesn't the city keep its harbor?

    Edit: Oh no, i'm sorry. :blush: I dodn't see that you can't trade over sea.

    I think you do. Try making a gpt deal and you'll see.
     
  3. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,578
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    Well, that's a tR1cKy question ;)

    Oversea trade depends on a tech, not the Lighthouse?
     
  4. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    No, you were right. I forgot a key point. If the harbor is kept, France can reach it. It's sufficient that ONE of the two civs has the ability. Ok, let's suppose that the harbor is no more in the city. What happens?

    OOPS! Crosspost. French ability on trading via sea squares depends on the Lighthouse at the moment. We are supposing Astronomy hasn't been discovered yet.
     
  5. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,578
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    Microbe could have the answer here
     
  6. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    Checked. Nope. It's a good covering of the rep hit issue, but it doesn't go so much in the details. It reports that when the route is interrupted you suffer a rep hit, but there's at least 1 situation in which the rep remains intact (personal experience).
     
  7. DBear

    DBear unbeliever

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3,262
    Location:
    Prime Material
    I had another one in my CotM come up. I was trading a neighbor gems for ivory, when the road connecting my gems got wiped out by a volcano.

    Several turns later, the neighbor comes calling with a new trade deal and they want me to kick in some gpt. Sounds like my rep's still good. :)
     
  8. cidknee

    cidknee Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Location:
    Kitchener
    how does a colony build a harbor?
     
  9. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    bad word choice - it builds a town.
     
  10. cidknee

    cidknee Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Location:
    Kitchener
    ohhh ok. i see now.now it makes sense. I had actually assumed that but dont like to assume.
     
  11. Hooray

    Hooray Civ3 Cartographer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    West Virginia
    I don't see why the trade route would be broken at all so long as you have a harbor of your own. Maybe YOU can't trade over sea tiles, but France still can. I know that if you own the Great Lighthouse you can trade with other civs over sea tiles even if they don't have Astronomy yet. The same should apply if an AI civ owns it.

    But whether that's true or not, I'm pretty sure you would get a rep hit if the trade route were broken in such a way. Even if it's an accident, the computer still blames you for a broken trade in nearly every instance.
     
  12. bonscott

    bonscott Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    408
    You definately take a rep hit if you lose a resource/luxury. Just had this happen in my current game. I had 2 spices. Culture of a nearby civ engulfed both spices so I lost not only mine but the one I was trading to Egypt. Immediately Egypt was annoyed at me. And since then, any civ that had contact with Egypt at the time will no longer make any trades with me that includes a luxury, resource or gpt. It's gotta be cash up front or a tech to get anything. Kinda sucks.

    In this case I don't think your trade would be broken since France can trade with you. You should see this effect yourself. As soon as you can trade across the ocean for example, you can trade with anyone on the other side of the world (as long as they have a harbor) even if they don't have the tech to do so themselves. You can most easily see this effect when it comes to trading maps. Even if you don't have the ability to trade maps, if the AI in question does, you can trade world maps.
     
  13. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    Wait... i realize i made some confusion about the issue. I put some unnecessary things in the question and left something that i should have said. Let's try this way:

    I'm on a landmass, with NO HARBOR. France is on another island. France build a city on my continent, then build a harbor in that city. I build a road connecting the french settlement to my empire, thus establishing a trade route between me and France.

    I make a deal with France, involving the exchange of luxuries. Say i provide them wines and they give me spices. After a few turns, the french settlement flips to me, and the harbor is lost. The active trade treaty is broken. Do i take a reputation hit or not?

    The answer is not academic. Some people said that, when the trade route is broken, i take a rep hit. Well, not always. I know, by personal experience, of at least 1 case in which there's no rep hit. Apparently, it's the reason why the trade route has been broken that decides if i take the rep hit or not.

    Remember: it's an hypotethic situation, not a game in progress. Thus, suggestions like "try a gpt deal and see" won't be of much help :)
     
  14. Theoden

    Theoden Deity GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Denmark
    If someone is directly to blame, then they will take the rep hit. This could be if France declared war etc.
    If you can't blame anyone directly, like if the AI sold it's harbor, if a third party declares war or if a road is pillaged, then it depends on who trades what. If you both give luxuries/resources then you take a rep hit. If only you export luxes then you also take a rep hit. If only the AI exports luxes then they will take the rep hit.
    At least, I'm pretty sure it is that way.
     
  15. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but The Great Lighthouse does not enable over sea trade so this situation couldn't have come about in the first place!
     
  16. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    Ok - I'll correct you ;) The GL does allow trade over sea tiles.

    @tricky - if in doubt, you can always refuse to take the flipping city. I suspect that you do take a rep hit however.
     
  17. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    Well, my knowlege of CivIII must be way out of date. How come they don't mention that in the civilopedia?
     
  18. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    And so the general opinion is that i do suffer the rep hit, but it seems that there's no absolute certainity on that. Ok, i suspect that the final words couldn't be said unless someone finds itself in such a situation during the game and check its rep before and after the event... anyway, thanks to all for the answers! :thumbsup:
     
  19. soriyya

    soriyya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    If France was supplying you with a luxury (for say GPT or a tech or whatever) then if that luxury got out of France's hands (via flip), it would be "their fault" and hence their rep hit.

    If you were shipping the French some other lux or whatnot and their town flips to you and retains the harbor, you should still be able to trade with them and thus *your* trade route isn't broken.

    But by all means, test it...
     
  20. Arska

    Arska Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Well, a really old topic, but it's rep related...

    Situation: I've made military alliances (MA) with several civs against the Arabs. I don't share a border with Arabs and I'd like to achieve it. This would mean invading Zulus, one of my MA partners (I'm giving gpt to Zulus for the deal). If I do this, would it give me a rep hit?

    And to take the question a bit further, do I get a rep hit in the following cases (assuming no gpt deals)?

    1) MA with Zulus is under 20 turns old
    2) MA at least 20 turns old

    And finally, if I invade Zulus, are they more likely to make peace with Arabs and, furthermore, to ally with Arabs against me?
     

Share This Page