1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Question around colonies

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by lummoxybez, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. lummoxybez

    lummoxybez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Do I need to build a road on the resource tile before I build a colony there, or does the colony come with a road?
     
  2. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    You don't need to build a road.
     
    tjs282 likes this.
  3. WeirdoJoker

    WeirdoJoker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Hillsdale, Portland, Oregon
    If you build a colony or a town on an unroaded square, next to a roaded square, the road will connect up. Same with RR instead of road.
     
    tjs282 likes this.
  4. Nathiri

    Nathiri Commander

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    576
    Gender:
    Male
    This rule can be quite helpful on tiles that take a while to road like jungle or marsh if you are in need of it immediately.
     
  5. WeirdoJoker

    WeirdoJoker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Hillsdale, Portland, Oregon
    It's very helpful for strategic/luxury resources (whether colony or town), but what about bonus resources? And is it ever worth building a town ON a bonus resource? I don't, because then I cannot improve the square (i.e., irrigate or mine) and get more out of it.
     
  6. CKS

    CKS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,972
    You get the commerce, so founding a town on a commerce bonus can be helpful sometimes - I'd found a town on tobacco, for example. I might found a town on a gold hill if food is in short supply, so that I thought I wouldn't be able to work the hill otherwise.

    Building towns on strategic and luxury resources also makes it much harder for the AI to disconnect them in wartime.
     
    WeirdoJoker likes this.
  7. justanick

    justanick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    Germany
    It depends on food. Many bonus resource increase food. The food output of the city tile does not depend on the tile including the resource. This makes founding on on bonus resources wasteful. If reasonable possibly you should found towns on tiles with low food like desert or plains.

    Shields and commerce are fully utilized by cities and metropolises.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop