Quick Questions and Answers

MarqFJA87

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
16
I've come to the conclusion that the AI is prone to being suicidally stupid about when to declare war, whether it be against me or another AI. Time and again, the AI players in my current game would DOW me or another AI despite it being plainly obvious that the DOWer is too weak to defend itself from its target, let alone attacking said target.

I assume this is an endemic problem in this game? Civ5's AI was a lot smarter when it came to this.
 

vorlon_mi

Emperor
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
1,232
Location
Chelsea, MI
I've come to the conclusion that the AI is prone to being suicidally stupid about when to declare war, whether it be against me or another AI. Time and again, the AI players in my current game would DOW me or another AI despite it being plainly obvious that the DOWer is too weak to defend itself from its target, let alone attacking said target.

I assume this is an endemic problem in this game? Civ5's AI was a lot smarter when it came to this.
I've seen similar behavior, and yes, it is different from the Civ5 AI. I'm not sure how or why they changed the logic for declaring war from Civ5, but it is very puzzling.

For me, it happens at two distinct parts of the game --
Mid-game (turns 90-200) one of the smaller AI decides they don't like me and declares on me. Sometimes this happens because our affinities differ, sometimes this happens because I don't have lots of veteran units. They DOW, I fight them, and they refuse to accept peace for...a...long...time.

End-game, once I've started my victory wonder. They are blinded by the rage of war, regardless of our relative military strength. More than a few times, I have taken all but 1 or 2 of their cities, destroyed their army, and they still re-declare after a few turns.

I've also seen AI fighting each other in the latter stages of the game. Big AI stomps on the little AI, leaving them with one city. Little AI waits just enough turns to build 2 offensive units and declares war, trying to get their original capital back. Hopeless case.
 

MarqFJA87

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
16
Makes me wish that someone would make a mod that fixes such glaring issues with basic AI gameplay, but from what I gathered, CivBE isn't as modding-friendly in such regards as Civ5 is.
 

vorlon_mi

Emperor
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
1,232
Location
Chelsea, MI
Since we don't have a "Funny Screenshots" thread, here's some gold ... in them thar hills ... that I can never get to improve.
20221204214945_1.jpg
 

MarqFJA87

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
16
Since we don't have a "Funny Screenshots" thread, here's some gold ... in them thar hills ... that I can never get to improve.
View attachment 646976
Ugh, I hate it when this happens; one of my relatively recent Civ5 games had a few tiles surrounding by mountains where a Barbarian Camp spawned and I couldn't deal with it to fulfill quests until I finally got paratroopers. There should be a subroutine within map generation that checks for the accessibility of non-mountainous tiles.

BTW, remember when I talked about the weird submarine exposure thing? Here is a screenshot. No, there were no inaccessible tiles around, nor any enemy submarines.
 

Attachments

  • CivBE - weird sub detection issue.jpg
    CivBE - weird sub detection issue.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 10

legalizefreedom

Inefficiency Expert
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
690
Location
Texas
Yep. Was a real oversight not to have floating workers and Explorers.

There is one biome reward that the entire map is visible, but I wouldn't think that should extend to invisible units. It's probably just a bug.
 

MarqFJA87

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
16
Yep. Was a real oversight not to have floating workers and Explorers.
Or to not make mountains passable. Because, you know, they are IRL. CivBE's canyons I could swallow being impassable, since they looked like nigh-fathomless chasms than proper canyons; still, one of the LEV-related techs should've made workers and explorers able to pass normally impassable terrain (representing them having access to their own levitation engines).
 

vorlon_mi

Emperor
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
1,232
Location
Chelsea, MI
I totally agree about mountains. They *are* passable in Civ3. One can build roads, railroads, and mines on them. I remember thinking that impassable mountains was a dumb idea in Civ4 and Civ5; I have not changed my mind in BERT. Civ6 offers some kludgy tunnel mechanics that don't really fix the problem. Both armies and civilians have been crossing mountains since the "Ancient Era," so they should be able to cross them in a Sci-Fi game set hundreds of years in the future.
 

MarqFJA87

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
16
I totally agree about mountains. They *are* passable in Civ3. One can build roads, railroads, and mines on them. I remember thinking that impassable mountains was a dumb idea in Civ4 and Civ5; I have not changed my mind in BERT. Civ6 offers some kludgy tunnel mechanics that don't really fix the problem. Both armies and civilians have been crossing mountains since the "Ancient Era," so they should be able to cross them in a Sci-Fi game set hundreds of years in the future.
Thankfully there are at least a couple of mods that rectify this in Civ5, one essentially standalone and the other as part of a much more extensive plethora of changes. Sadly, with the state that CivBE modding is in, I don't expect one for this game to be made anytime soon.
 

legalizefreedom

Inefficiency Expert
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
690
Location
Texas
Thankfully there are at least a couple of mods that rectify this in Civ5, one essentially standalone and the other as part of a much more extensive plethora of changes. Sadly, with the state that CivBE modding is in, I don't expect one for this game to be made anytime soon.

What state is it in? No interest or the tools aren't sufficient?
 
Top Bottom