1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] Railroads across the ocean

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by avguy2, Mar 2, 2019.

  1. avguy2

    avguy2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    I've only finished one game in GS so far and I still got no idea how railroads work. Actually I couldn't even figure out how to build them. I've researched all techs and thought my trade routes would place them at some point but it never happened.

    I've seen them go through ocean tiles which seems weird. The tiles in the pic are not flooded by sea levels rising btw. Bug? Feature?

    Spoiler :

    rr.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    • rr.jpg
      rr.jpg
      File size:
      640.4 KB
      Views:
      99
    • rr.jpg
      rr.jpg
      File size:
      640.4 KB
      Views:
      97
  2. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,610
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Can you post a save file? Playing any mods?
     
  3. avguy2

    avguy2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah I still have a save file. Can post that when I have access to my gaming computer again. No mods.
     
  4. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,379
    There are some graphical anomalies with roads and railroads. But to build them yourself you need a military engineer and a supply of iron and coal. Engineer can then build railroads on any land tile you want, there doesn't need to be a road already there, does not consume charges, just uses 1 iron and 1 coal per tile.
     
    CPWimmer likes this.
  5. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,132
  6. Draco84

    Draco84 Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    208
    Maybe it's an Easter egg from Civ1, railroard the world!
     
  7. Phoenix1595

    Phoenix1595 Lord of the Two Lands

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,010
    While I haven’t had underwater railroads, I have had roads going under ocean tiles, on top of the road spaghetti in general. The road graphic situation is perhaps the most glaring bug I have seen in GS,and prevalent here on the forums. Hopefully, they patch this quickly.
     
  8. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

    Salt and iron, they don't mix, nono... :nono:

    No, the most glaring bug is the Magnetunnel Superconductor Highway.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2019
  9. DefoesRightBoot

    DefoesRightBoot Former Daimyo x3...

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Is it possible those tiles have been submerged by global warming after the railroads were built?
     
    tedhebert likes this.
  10. The googles do nothing

    The googles do nothing Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    314
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    This reminds me of key west and seeing the old dilapidated railroad bridge that used to connect the islands.
     
  11. rschissler

    rschissler King

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    So. Cal, USA
    I don't have GS, but am wondering how railroads work, like the 1 iron and 1 coal per tile? Are the resources consumed, or does it just mean that only 1 tile can be railroaded per pair of resources in a turn?
     
  12. Red_warning

    Red_warning Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Lappland, Sweden
    It's the express line to Seahenge
     
    Bosque, Kjimmet and Meluhhan like this.
  13. Banazir864

    Banazir864 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    The OP says no.
     
  14. Pietato

    Pietato Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,402
    Location:
    New Zealand
    You need an Encampment and an Armoury to build Military Engineers.

    Railroads use 1 coal and 1 iron when you plant one. No upkeep.
     
  15. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,008
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    What’s that?!!! :eek:
     
  16. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    If you build more than one tunnel on any continuous mountain range, any unit will be able to enter any of the tunnels, and come out any of the other tunnels, no matter where in the range they are, including for combat.

    Magnetunnel Superconductor Highway.
     
    Ondolindë and Trav'ling Canuck like this.
  17. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,379
    Yeah, I'm not very happy with how that works either. I might even prefer no tunnels over how they implemented that.
     
    Banazir864 likes this.
  18. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    Well, it's clearly a bug... not even them would be that crazy to believe it should work like that. :crazyeye:
     
  19. Klinn

    Klinn Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    I just assumed that Elon Musk was involved somehow, so of course the tunnels are magic! :lol:
     
    tedhebert likes this.
  20. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,864
    Gender:
    Male
    It's exactly how the developers described it working in the preview videos, isn't it? Unless I'm misremembering. Put a tunnel in one mountain, put a tunnel in any other connected mountain, instant connection between all such tunnels in the same contiguous mountain range. Substitute Incan road for railroad on a 1:1 basis
     
    King Rad and oakdragon like this.

Share This Page