1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Raise your hand if you have harvested when you meant to improve

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Big J Money, Oct 22, 2016.

  1. Big J Money

    Big J Money Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,022
    That button looks so much like a farming button that I've already clicked it when I meant to place a farm or pasture. Haha. Well, hopefully I will get accustomed to this, soon. My poor 2nd city.
     
  2. Stilgar08

    Stilgar08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,448
    Location:
    Zeven, Germany (Lower Saxony ;)
    Never. But to me that would qualify for a reload! ;)
     
  3. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,595
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    The two buttons are located on different toolbars, so you have to be pretty determined to select the wrong one.
     
    ales_ likes this.
  4. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,396
    Yeah, I'd probably reload too if that happened to me. Thankfully I didn't make that mistake yet, as Browd correctly said, it's two different toolbars, I grew accustomed to it immediately. The buttons do look pretty similar though.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  5. Menzies

    Menzies Menzies

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Australia
    I could see it happening the first time or two playing, but they are quite separate. I would say this one qualifies under poor UI design though, especially considering that it's a pretty poor choice tactically in most circumstances (from what I can tell). They should probably hide it away a bit like selling a unit.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  6. OTiger

    OTiger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Gender:
    Male
    Speaking of that, though, when should you harvest or make an improvement instead?
     
  7. MistyRonin

    MistyRonin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    It happened to me once in my first gameplay. I was not aware it meant harvest, I thought it was a fast shortcut to farm.
     
  8. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,595
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    That's something you have to decide based on the map and your goals. The only reasonably clear case is where you want to put a district or wonder on a tile with a bonus resource (cows, stone, wheat, etc) or a terrain feature (like forest, jungle or marsh). In that case, you should harvest the resource and bulldoze the terrain feature before planting the district or wonder, else you lose the ongoing yield but do not receive the harvest/bulldoze bonus.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  9. Stilgar08

    Stilgar08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,448
    Location:
    Zeven, Germany (Lower Saxony ;)
    Does harvesting cost a charge? If so, is it worth it?
     
  10. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,595
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    It does. Whether it's worth it is something you have to decide for yourself. See the discussion in this thread.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2016
  11. Big J Money

    Big J Money Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,022
    Yeah this is by no means a big problem or really even a problem. I just want to know how many other civ vets made this mistake ;)
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  12. Acrtic

    Acrtic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Usually updraging a tile is better, but its good if you want to rush a unit. I found it useful when I wanted to just get rid of my builder before it was about to get stolen by a barbarian horseman.
     
  13. TehJumpingJawa

    TehJumpingJawa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    yep, I did it.
    Thank Autosave for autosave!

    The way workers have a completely separate toolbar does seem rather counter-intuitive.
     
  14. Sommerswerd

    Sommerswerd I never yielded

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    15,864
    Location:
    Wakanda Forever
    I dont think you linked the right thread.:confused:

    Moderator Action: Thanks. Link fixed (both in the original post and in your quote) to point to the right thread.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 22, 2016
  15. Zaarin

    Zaarin My Dearest Doctor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5,704
    Location:
    Terok Nor
    If you're going to put a wonder or district on the spot it probably is.
     
  16. code99

    code99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    Romania
    I did that a couple of times but now that i got used to the not so briliant ui, i dont do it that often :)
     
  17. isau

    isau Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052
    Whether to harvest or not is often a difficult decision. The thing about Harvesting is that it can give you immediate benefits and sometimes that is actually a better payout than waiting. Here's what I mean:

    Let's say a Harvest gives you 2 extra population right away. That translates to 2 extra citizens working tiles. That's worth it if you've got a bunch of high value tiles nearby that aren't being worked. That would take a long time to even start working on the resource you just harvested. So the early payout option is better.

    Often I will Harvest if I find a spot with like 3 or 4 copies of a resource. Wheat for example. Usually I Harvest whichever copy is next to a mountain. It's not always a good deal, but often works out. Jump starting the city makes it more able to build Districts, pop out units, and pop out more Builders.
     
  18. steveg700

    steveg700 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,188
    I was wondering what the harvest option was about. I saw "harvest fish" as being unlocked somewhere, and I was like, "ain't I already doing that"?
     
  19. valamas

    valamas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I accidentally harvested. Only noticed early game. Where was my improved tile? Why does my builder have only 2 charges.

    I must have been distracted.

    Now I am paranoid using builder charges that I don't do it again only to notice later in the game.

    I don't like where the harvest button is. It should be in the builder mini icon list at the bottom or with the delete unit icon.
     
  20. TehJumpingJawa

    TehJumpingJawa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Yep, it's a bit inconsistent
    • Deleting a unit (irreversible, but largely recoverable) has a confirmation dialog
    • Deleting a tile's resource (irreversible and unrecoverable) has no confirmation dialog
     
    valamas likes this.

Share This Page