1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rallying call for Rhye's and Fall of Civilization

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by Rhye, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    As announced some days ago on rhye.civfanatics.net, RFC is in development.
    A brand new map is already been made, and the core mechanics are slowly being built.


    However, it needs your help.
    I'm looking for volunteers for adapting the city names map (on Excel) to the civ5 format (another Excel file).
    It's just a matter of patience: copy from the old file, paste and sometimes check the Atlas to see the right alignment.

    Instructions:
    ->you need Excel 2007, to open Xlsx files.
    -> Possibly, don't leave blank spaces. You should extend the area of some 1-tile cities instead. Doing research on new historical names would be far too long to do and largely unnecessary.
    -> Copy the spelling exactly as it's written in the Civ4 map. Stressed words are already converted to the civ5 UTF format. You can directly copy and paste the tile, and colour it afterwards. Or you can copy and paste an adjacent cloloured tile, and copy and paste the text field from the civ4 sheet. It's very important that you don't miss any " or ,
    -> Don't add new names or make corrections without approval

    I will send a excel file of a specific civ to the one who asks that civ. Just post here and send me a notification by mail to gabrit20 [AT] yahoo.it

    Currently assigned civs: England, China, USA, Rome, Siam, Russia, Japan
    Completed civs: France, Germany, Spain, Inca, Arabia, Egypt, Greece, Rome
    Available civs: all the rest, except Iroquois




     
  2. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Oops, maybe I posted this in the wrong forum. Should be moved to C&C perhaps.
     
  3. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,882
    O My God YES!

    RFC for CiV!

    Unrelated: Ak-Ink? Was that the actual city in Europe?
     
  4. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    I can help with maps if you wish, I have sent you an email.
     
  5. I_am_sin7

    I_am_sin7 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    I'll help, sure. Email sent -.
     
  6. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    You have my sword!
     
  7. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    Thats Aquincum in the original spelling for you
     
  8. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    oh and I'm going for Russia and also Japan. Japan's a small one anyway. Sent you an email
     
  9. NinjaCow64

    NinjaCow64 Thought Bubble Thinker Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,026
    Gender:
    Male
    I’d like to help. But, could you give me an idea on how long it would take to do a Civ? An hour? A day?

    BTW, one of the reasons I got CiV for Windows via Bootcamp was because I wanted to play this mod! So it’s fantastic that you are starting.

    :D
     
  10. Gruekiller

    Gruekiller Back From The Beyond

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sadly, I don't have any experience with that sort of thing. Not to mention that I don't own Civ5 yet. :p But regardless of that, I'm really excited to hear about this and wish you all luck.
     
  11. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Just a question: Will it need any of the pricey DLC? You know Inca, Spain or Babylon.
    Please say no. I won't buy them for a mod, even if this is EXACTLY what I've been waiting for from the day Civ 5 was out. :D
     
  12. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,882
    Time for city name pondering based on what we see in the pic.

    Athens=Athenae or Athini
    Sparta=Sparte
    Corinth=Halicarnassus
    Rome=Roma
    Elephantine=Xou maybe?
    Heliopolis=Per-Wadjet or Alexandria
     
  13. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Those names are still from English civ names imo - hence Corinth even though Corinth isn't actually in Turkey :p
     
  14. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I'm working on Greece now. How much should we be sticking to the old map? For instance, the Peloponnese is seven hexes in CiV but only two tiles in CIV. Should I make it so those two cities (Sparta and Corinth) fill the whole peninsular? Put them in the corresponding places and leave the rest blank? Fill the space with new city names?
     
  15. Mekajiki

    Mekajiki Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    St. Louis
  16. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    That's a good question, actually. I'm currently working on France and I'm seeing more open spaces - which is to be expected, France is no longer ~25 tiles, it is about ~35 hexes. Do we make it so that cities such as Brest, Nantes or Rouen (for example) get more tiles each or should we get creative and fill in the gaps with new cities? Obviously most new names won't be as historically prominent, but in some cases it means previously "neglected" names get a chance to be seen.

    Also, how do we go about typing accents so the game recognises them? Should I write:
    Code:
    "Fort Détroit",
    or go with
    Code:
    "Fort Détroit",
    just like the Civ IV maps did?
     
  17. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,594
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I've added some answers to your questions in the first post.

    Dumanios -> We don't need to do research on ancient names, since we directly import them from the civ4 mod.
     
  18. n0thing

    n0thing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    I can help with USA and Germany, rhye.
     
  19. pokeravi

    pokeravi Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    Jersey City, NJ
    You probably will need help with the city-states as well since for example Brussels is spelled differently in French, German and Dutch;.
     
  20. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    This is just a city map.

    City renaming upon conquest is something that will come later, I suspect.
     

Share This Page