1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Ran out of use for workers

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by mortalmadman, Dec 21, 2004.

  1. mortalmadman

    mortalmadman Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    I've actully got to the point where I have nothing to change about the land. I roaded every roadable square, and the same with mining and irragrating every square I could. It's rediculous. I got 20 workers, working on a road to a city. Luckylu, I'm about to discover steam power, but has this ever happen to you? How did you handle it?
     
  2. punkbass2000

    punkbass2000 Des An artiste

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    A(sia) Minor
    It should happen every game, IMO. Add them to cities that can use them. Most such cities will only take one turn to spit them back out later and you will save 1gpt/Worker plus the gains of extra citizens. Keep a few around, of course, though.
     
  3. IbnSina

    IbnSina Former Lurker

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    fsa
    Yes, I worry if that doesn't happen - it means I don't have enough workers.

    If your workers need something to do, go conquer some AIs territory. After that, there will be plenty of new work.
     
  4. Pook

    Pook Bloviating

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    554
    Location:
    Where Triton meets the Amish
    Agreed, you can never have too many workers.
    With steam power, you can now start rail-roading everything to get production bonuses and double irrigation bonuses. Double irrigation is not listed in the manual, but it works- an irrigated square with a railroad gets an additional food per turn above the irrigated value.
    If you have a border with a potentially hostile neighbor, you may want to start putting down rows of barricades (the improvement after fortress) with railroads and stationing troops in them. This will stop the AI troops from pouring across your border, and give you a bit of time to react.
     
  5. Dell19

    Dell19 Take a break

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    16,231
    Location:
    London
    And then later on you will need the workers so that you can clean pollution on the same turn that it appears...
     
  6. punkbass2000

    punkbass2000 Des An artiste

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    A(sia) Minor
    An easier way is just to remember that a railroad gies a +1 to whatever improvement is already on the tile (Mine vs. Irrigation).
     
  7. Vegasgustan

    Vegasgustan Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Lost Wages, Nevada
    It is too bad that workers can no longer convert hills like in Civ2. That always took extra time. I usually do exactly what Punkbass does, it really helps boost the economy.
     
  8. Zandrew

    Zandrew The Black Knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Bothell (nr Seattle)
    When I have idle workers and am close to getting steam power I like to position them where I know I'll want my first railroads. I fortify them there, then wake them up when the rails arrive.
     
  9. viper275

    viper275 Playing Civ4

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    LA
    It's usually after Steam Power that this happens to me. Fortify some, double-check to make sure you got every square, then join a few into cities and use the rest to clean up whatever pollution may result.

    For you in this situation, just move around your workers and get ready for steam power.
     
  10. WackenOpenAir

    WackenOpenAir Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,196
    Location:
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    Yes, always. Time to rejoin them in cities. I always have that WAY before i get rairoads, moreso in the ealry middle ages.
     
  11. Quilty

    Quilty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Once in a while I use some of my surplus workers as a Peace Corps -- I send some of them to a friendly civ with whom I have a right of passage agreement, and build roads and clear jungle and marshes.

    I once built a transcontinental railroad conencting all the capitals of a rival on another continent... I had a city on one edge of the continent, with a harbor connecting it to my home continent with its abundant iron and coal. (The railroad came in handly later in the game, when I got into a war with one of that continent's civs -- I was able to move units to the front lines almost instantaneously!)
     
  12. Desertsnow

    Desertsnow πr²

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Fold them into any cities that have room to grow but keep enough on hand to build railroads when you can. Also, put the latter near the cities you want to join first with those first railroads.
     
  13. mortalmadman

    mortalmadman Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Ironicly, I did take over a civ. I took over spain but they already had EVERYTHING worked. I'm attaking the celtics now, there boarder and ours has floodplains and jungles there so it's not very favorble territory.
     
  14. rysingsun

    rysingsun King

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    959
    railroads improve prosperity so much that i would say keep the workers around until you get steam power and then railroad up everything quickly. then you will have nothing for them to do again and you can combine most of them back into your cities. combining by the way is THE way to make coastal cities grow up big and strong.
     
  15. Charles 22

    Charles 22 King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Supposing you're through with railroading though, and you don't think you'll ned more than half od them for coming expansions, then there's always putting them in the capitol and trading them off, though I don't think during gametime I've ever thought of doing that.

    There is one more consideration assuming somebody didn't touch on it, and that is to use them to fill out conquered cities, or at least to get the pop to be dominated by your people.
     
  16. JoeBas

    JoeBas Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Congratulations... you may FINALLY be building enough workers... :mischief: :lol:
     
  17. nullspace

    nullspace King

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Whenever my workers have some time to waste, I make them plant and chop forests for 10 shields. I certainly wouldn't join them to cities if I'm going to need them for railroads soon.
     
  18. Shinatoo

    Shinatoo OZ wasn't in Kansas

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I like to keep them around. If they are idle get them to building fortresses along your coast to ward off those pesky amphibious landings. Not a top priority but good work for idle hands.

    Has anyone written an article in the +/- of building fortresses?
     
  19. fishpimp

    fishpimp Keepin' it Rural

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Selling seafood in the Suburbs
    I have used this strategy quite effectivly, especially when the conquored city is significantly closer to the enemy's capital than mine.
     
  20. Charles 22

    Charles 22 King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    For abrief span of time one thing I will do when they have nothing to do is to actually 'plant' forests. I llok for all the hexes that aren't city hexes, the gap ones, and plant forects there, hoping they will make up greenhouse-wise for so many that I chopped before.
     

Share This Page