[NFP] Random freezes after ending turn

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Technical Support' started by Hoopy Frood Jay, May 5, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Hoopy Frood Jay

    Hoopy Frood Jay Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    So, I recently got a new gaming PC and it's running great...aside from Civ 6 that is. Because Civ 6 freezes randomly after I end my turn. Sometimes it happens after only 10 turns, sometimes after 100+ turns and it happens across all save files.
    Since it just freezes I don't get a crash report and have to kill the task via the task manager.


    It never did that on my old machine (and still doesn't do that as my GF uses that old one and is having zero problems playing Civ 6). It's kinda getting to me, as it is one of my favorite games.

    I can exclude thermal problems, faulty hardware (as no other game is showing any other problem) or any bottlenecks, really.

    Game files have been verified multiple times, I've tried different installation paths too.
    DirectX 11 & 12 show the same behavior in regards to the freezes.

    Some details on hard- and software:

    PC:
    Ryzen 9 5900x (not overclocked, undervolted etc)
    ROG AMD 6900XT (also not overclocked aside from whatever OC ROG put on that chip)
    Aorus Master Rev. 1.2
    64GB RAM
    250GB NVMe SSD
    2TB NVMe SSD (where the game is installed)
    EVGA 1000W Gold certified (exact model name escapes me atm)

    Software:
    Windows 19, version 20H2, build 19042.928
    AMD GPU driver 21.4.1
    Only antivirus is Windows Defender
     
  2. Nicc

    Nicc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Seconding this, I've been noticing it since around the time of your post probably. It was uncommon enough to ignore and I like to quicksave before I hit next turn anyway, but I just loaded a save and had it happen after one turn of doing things which was a bit much.
     
  3. DanielINH

    DanielINH Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ciudad de Mexico
    I have the same issue. One my laptop sometimes it just closes.
     
  4. jshnaid

    jshnaid Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I have the same problem, similar specs as OP sides graphics card. 5950x, 980 pro ssd, gtx 1060.
     
  5. Hoopy Frood Jay

    Hoopy Frood Jay Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Issue still persists and I'm at a total loss on how to fix. Tried everything besides clean installing Windows (which I had already done on the new system)... :cry:
     
  6. Pzul Laturro

    Pzul Laturro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Having similar issues. Does this forum provide resolutions?
     
  7. Hoopy Frood Jay

    Hoopy Frood Jay Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Here's a little update:

    Since the freezes were happening on my desktop PC I started playing Civ VI on my laptop instead, which worked fine for a few weeks. But now those freezes are happening on that machine too.

    Man...Civ VI is about one of my favorite games of all time, and it hurts a lot to basically not be able to play it anymore... :sad:
     
  8. AlanH11

    AlanH11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    I was about to post a thread about this, but I'm having these same problems. It's only Civ6, and it's only started happening recently - after I installed GS and the latest patch. Windows is up to date and it happens on DX11 and 12. Now resorted to saving twice every move.
    Anyone come up with a fix?
     
  9. jozef57

    jozef57 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    netherlands/deventer
    i do ahve same problem i use dellG% gaming computer after a patch and often when finsihing a wonder at clikcing next turn the game crashes posted about this never an answer
     
  10. farcry1968

    farcry1968 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I am having the same problem after purchasing rising storm and several other dlc. I have disabled all non official mods. brand new core i5 with amd fireprow5100. I can run madden and skyrim no problem
     
  11. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450
    Sadly this is disturbingly common and for me it seems to have started after a forced Windows 10 update.
     
  12. Haggi68

    Haggi68 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I stopped playing Civ VI for the same reason and recently returned to the fray; I guess I forgot why I stopped playing. Has there been any feedback as to why this occurs and what I can do to rectify?
    Thanks
     

Share This Page