1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Random shut-downs

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by erikg88, May 27, 2006.

  1. erikg88

    erikg88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Recently, when I've played civ for as long as 5-30 minutes, I have been experiencing crashes. And not just crashes - the computer actually shuts down, all of a sudden.

    This leads me to believe that it might be a ventilation issue for the computer and the fans aren't doing the job - but why would this problem make itself known now? I've been successfully playing Civ since release without the slightest hiccups, so what could be different between now and then?

    I'm playing 1.61 and I'm not running any extra programs - the computer feels a normal temperature when I put my hand to it, and it doesn't sound like it is laboring to play the game - just all of a sudden, ZAP. Reboot.

    So I dunno what's going on... let's just say I'm glad Civ autosaves, otherwise my most recent game would have been a total loss.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Zanmato

    Zanmato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    Any random shutdown, not a reboot would suggest a heat problem at the CPU. I would open the case and give it a good dusting around the graphics card and CPU heatsink and fan. A buildup of dust somewhere might be just enough to tip the over the edge. Try playing with the case open and see how it handles it. I've noticed recently since it's get warmer here that my computer's CPU temp has raisen by a couple of degrees so it can be down to the room temp aswell - abit absurd I know but it could be partly that too.
     
  3. erikg88

    erikg88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Thanks very much for the post - I think you've diagnosed it correctly. It seems pretty dusty in there, but unfortunately, I don't have one of those spray-bottles that can shoot air in there. It's a compact PC, so I can't really dust without undue hassle, but I think once I do, it should be good. I tried playing with the case off, and results were pretty good - I had enough time to wipe out Hatty and half of Asoka's empires before I got my shut down.
     
  4. crunch

    crunch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,100
    Location:
    Slovakia
    vacuum cleaning, anyone?
     
  5. Zanmato

    Zanmato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    It's an idea. Though I would think getting one of those 'Air Blaster' cans with a thin long noozle would be better for getting into the heatsink. I'm sure you'll be able to get one in a good computer shop.
     
  6. nib51

    nib51 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    I too have been having random crashes, but I only noticed it after I upgraded to 1 GB of RAM, I put back in 512 and now no more crashes???
     

Share This Page