1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Randomised Mediterranean Map v16

Coastline of part or all of the Mediterranian sea, with randomised terrain and resources.

  1. HandyVac

    HandyVac Gentleman

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The shire where the oxen cross the river. UK.
    HandyVac submitted a new resource:

    Randomised Mediterranean Map - Coastline of part or all of the Mediterranian sea, with randomised terrain and resources.

    Read more about this resource...

    Also available on Steam
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2017
  2. HandyVac

    HandyVac Gentleman

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The shire where the oxen cross the river. UK.
  3. HandyVac

    HandyVac Gentleman

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The shire where the oxen cross the river. UK.
    To add a true start region on this map for a new civilization mod, please include the following SQL code in your mod:
    Code:
    CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS HV_Map_TrueStartRegion
    (
     MapType    text   default null,
     MapSize    text   default null,
     Civilization  text   default null,
     Leader    text   default null,
     Region    text  default null,
     OverrideCapital  text   default null
    );
    INSERT INTO HV_Map_TrueStartRegion (MapType, MapSize, Civilization, Leader, Region, OverrideCapital)
    VALUES ('HV_Mediterranean.lua', null, 'MY_CIVILIZATION', null, 'REGION_NAME', null);
    
    Replacing MY_CIVILIZATION with the CivilizationType of your civ, and REGION_NAME with the name of the desired region.

    A full list of regions on the map can be found here:
    Spoiler :
    FRANCE
    CORSICA
    GERMANY
    SWITZERLAND
    AUSTRIA
    ITALY
    SICILY
    SARDINIA
    SPAIN
    BALEARIC_ISLES
    PORTUGAL
    MOROCCO
    ALGERIA
    TUNISIA
    LIBYA
    EGYPT
    ARABIA
    SYRIA
    ISRAEL
    LEBENON
    TURKEY
    RUSSIA
    UKRAINE
    GREECE_MAINLAND
    GREECE_ISLANDS_NORTH
    GREECE_ISLANDS_SOUTH
    GREECE_RHODES
    GREECE_CRETE
    GREECE_PAXI
    CYPRUS
    BALKANS_ROMANIA
    BALKANS_BULGARIA
    BALKANS_MACEDONIA
    BALKANS_ALBANIA
    BALKANS_HUNGARY
    BALKANS_BOSNIA
    BALKANS_MONTENEGRO
    BALKANS_KOSOVO
    BALKANS_CROATIA
    BALKANS_SLOVENIA
    BALKANS_SERBIA
    Spoiler :


    Multiple start regions for the same civ will all be equally valid.

    By default, start regions will apply to all leaders of that civ. If you want to set different starts for different leaders, add the LeaderType under Leader. E.g.
    Code:
    INSERT INTO HV_Map_TrueStartRegion (MapType, MapSize, Civilization, Leader, Region, OverrideCapital)
    VALUES ('HV_Mediterranean.lua', null, 'MY_CIVILIZATION', 'MY_LEADER', 'REGION_NAME', null);
    
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2017
    ReichAdler likes this.
  4. ReichAdler

    ReichAdler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Great map, & thanks for the info on how to add for customs Civs, I will add support for this to all my Civ mods in upcoming updates. Wanted to put my Byzantine Empire Civ into the Bosphorus/Constantinople space, is there a region for that, or shall I just take Bulgaria. I assume Turkey is Ankara?
     
  5. HandyVac

    HandyVac Gentleman

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The shire where the oxen cross the river. UK.
    Glad you like the map.

    Both Constantinople and Ankara would be inside Turkey on this map, which is quite a large region. I've added a diagram to the post above to show exactly where each region's borders are.
     
    ReichAdler likes this.
  6. ray111

    ray111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    How did you get a map like in screens?

    I tried playing small central x central (italy+greece mostly on it), but it always generates a totally messy, ugly map. Lack of rivers for one, sometimes there are clusters of 3+ rivers going in the same place, then another 10 tiles in any direction is dry as hell. There is a lot of coast, which makes all sea resources spawn haywire across the seas - and for some reason the hell away from any river, making coastal+river cities rarely have more than 1 sea resource within workable radius (vanilla coastal cities are crap even without that disadvantage).
    Worst of all seem to be mountains - they come in downright nasty formations and tend to have an annoying habit of spawning in a line exactly 1 tile from coas, especially anywhere on river's ends.

    I SERIOUSLY HATE civ6's maps (even the "balanced 4p and 6p maps). Oh I so wish I had IGE for civ6 or at least a WORKING world builder that doesn't make a person gray haired trying. I went so far to give a Settler 700 movement points (AI tends to escort them, slowing them down, so I don't have to worry about that bit), but on 90% maps there simply ain't any regions that I would want to settle in. I mean, F that!
     
  7. Nigel_Tufnel2

    Nigel_Tufnel2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    Great Plains of North America
    I'm really enjoying this mod! I've probably started 15 games already, just experimenting with different setups, civs, true start or not, etc.

    I would enjoy playing without True Start quite a bit more if the AI was more spread out (20+ AI, 30+ CS). It seems like so many AI still get shoehorned into the Balkans and N of Italy. Is this because of the Regions? I have perused most of the mod files - I did find some code in HV_Mediterranean.lua that refers to "passable plots" (line 398). I've only done a little mod editing in the past, so not exactly sure how or what to adjust. Any ideas?

    I'm going to try Gedemon's More Distance Between Civilizations mod, perhaps that would work? Not sure if load order is an issue?

    I guess as an added bonus I would like to assign certain AI to certain regions (like Australia to Libya)... I'm not entirely sure how to do that as of yet.

    Again, great work - all that map scripting by hand is impressive!
     
  8. dagriggstar

    dagriggstar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I think rather than each region belonging to a country, you should be using the region system to simulate different climates. For example I find that often the Sahara desert is in fact plains, presumably because inland Algeria is set to default to being plains (rather than desert). I think separating so that the coastline is its own region (North Africa coast - default plains) and inland is its own region (Sahara - desert) would work better (Separated by the Atlas Mountains, which I have never spawned). It would also mean that any North African cities could start a little bit unpredictably along the coast, rather than knowing exactly where they will be every time. I'm sure similar logic would apply to other regions too.....

    I'm also interested in why Turkey isn't joined to Europe ? I think having it join up would pretty much guarantee a strong Byzantium/Constantinople type city, because it would be used as a trading post by so many.

    Great work so far though
     
  9. HandyVac

    HandyVac Gentleman

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The shire where the oxen cross the river. UK.
    Seperating the north African coast into another region is a good idea, I'll probably do that in the next version. I think I forgot to put the Atlas mountains in at all, so I'll add them too. There are some other big regions like Turkey, which could probably do with being divided up as well, If I can decide where to put the dividing line.

    I figured a one-hex wide bosphorous strait would make for better naval warfare, since it means naval units of any civ can move between the black and agean seas. If they were separated by land then only the one player who owned a city there would be able to move naval units through.
     
  10. Chingford

    Chingford Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Used this map several times. It is very good. A great variation if you like playing the Mediterranean map. Thank you for making it! :) :thumbsup:
     
  11. HandyVac

    HandyVac Gentleman

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The shire where the oxen cross the river. UK.
    HandyVac updated Randomised Mediterranean Map with a new update entry:

    Love for North Africa, Continent Names, and some truestart deduction

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    ReichAdler likes this.
  12. Nigel_Tufnel2

    Nigel_Tufnel2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    Great Plains of North America
    @HandyVac - I'm excited to try your update, the changes sound great!

    I'm not sure if you saw my earlier post. With Random Starts, I had no success getting AI to spawn further apart by changing the one parameter (in 3 places) from 6 to 18 tiles for spawns. It seems like the overriding factor is Regions - so it gets extremely packed in the Balkans especially. So much so that many AI don't settle a second city.

    I ended up just playing True Start, but assigned a ton of new AI to various Regions. Tried different combos, and really like having England in Portugal. I ended up sliding the coast 2 tiles East, and taking 2 tiles from Spain, as in many games I couldn't sail around a CS. It left the map a little wonky, but it worked very well.

    I like having the Aztecs in Turkey, along with Norway (lots of forest). Turkey suffers from no mountains, and often no hills in the West half. I put Persia in Libya, and eliminated alternate starts for Arabia and Sumeria. Just a fun exercise. Unfortunately Firetuner is wonky on my laptop, so I had to sail around to see where everyone spawned, lol.

    One change I was considering was splitting some of the Regions up to be able to place naval civs better. It seems like the script wants to put civs near the edge of the map a lot more than you'd think by chance. I also thought about limiting Rome to above the toe and heel of Italy - when they spawn there they really suffer. I also increased lux per regions from 7 to 12, and it seemed to help both myself and the AI.

    Anyway, it was fun to play around with the code a bit...
     
  13. Scrum Lord

    Scrum Lord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    Nice work! This is a fun alternative to earth maps, and your XML/modinfo files also serve as a helpful example for how to get a map script to install in Civ 6. Thank you for sharing this! :)
     

Share This Page