1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rant about you unlucky moments here

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by civverguy, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. civverguy

    civverguy Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,922
    Location:
    quiet suburb
    In my current game, I had the largest territory but no rubber!:mad:
    What's yours?
     
  2. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    In my current solo game, I owned one entire continent (out of two), only to discover that I had no coal.
     
  3. Aramazd

    Aramazd Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,786
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Same here, but no coal either, and the only civs with rubber and coal were just as advanced as I was and had 1 source. I retired after that.
     
  4. Synsensa

    Synsensa - Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    18,513
    Getting close to finishing Fall Of Rome and then the computer crashing. No save either.
     
  5. AskReeves15

    AskReeves15 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Virginia
    I had a huge continent to myself and no luxes or saltpeter. I think i could fit maybe 25-30 cities on it too. I had 7 irons and 9 horses though.
     
  6. King Hannibal

    King Hannibal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    arch map no horse iron or coal on half the map.
     
  7. ecuwins

    ecuwins Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Ouch, you guys have some bad stories. No iron? <-you have to take it! No coal? <-you have to take it! It sux but it is what it is. Once, I had a great start and was ruler of the world but found no oil. Someone had to die!!! It happened to be some tundra island 30 tiles away from my continent but it was the only choice. There are certain strategic resources you must have or you might as well just give up and re-start.
     
  8. BEHIND_THE_MASK

    BEHIND_THE_MASK A Liar... A Cheat...

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,840
    Napoleonic Europe Map

    The Battle For Venice:
    French Army: 20 Imperial Guards (Later Reinforced my 15 more)
    Austrian Army: 8 Grenzers (+3 Conscripts), 3 Grand Batteries (Later Reinforced by 5 Grenzers, + Conscripts)

    For the entire game, I had been dominating, Spain and Italy had fallen quickly. Portugual was mine. I had taken all of Prussia. Amsterdam was French now. And Britian was gone.

    Up to this point I had dominated. I was now at war with Austria and Sweden. I owned Denmark and Norway, and felt Sweden would fall quickly. The mass of the Austrian army was pouring into occupied Prussia and I saw my chance at Venice.

    Id explain the battle, but its to painful to recall:

    FRENCH CASUALTIES: 31 Imperial Guards
    AUSTRIAN CASUALTIES: 14 Grenzers, 7 Conscripts, 3 Grand Batteries

    It was a painful victory and completly humiliating to my original strategy. It was at this point I began mass production of Artillery to accompany my troops.

    (In the whole game, Venice became a major fortress and a would become a major battle site 2 more times. The 2nd Battle of Venice I faced 20 Grenzers. In the 3rd Battle of Venice, 30 Janissaries assualted the city. All the Battles of Venice I won. But the first battle was still extremly unlucky in the ammount of casualties)
     
  9. Jazzmail

    Jazzmail King

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Gelderland
    Starting a pangea map, but end up alone on a small island with no fresh water and no bonus food resources.
    It's about the worst thing that can happen to a civ.

    The upshot is you can restart right away if you don't feel up to the task.
     
  10. sirdanilot

    sirdanilot BBcode owns in sigs!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Terneuzen, The Netherlands
    I once had only one source of Oil when I discovered refining. I had all other resources (except for horses, but I could easily trade that with the AI). Then, a couple of turns before Combustion:

    'This source of Oil has expired!'

    :suicide:
     
  11. Sanctum

    Sanctum Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    I beat Napoleonic Europe on demigod with Prussians, but it deleted my score (assuming because I reinstalled it):mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  12. Whomp

    Whomp Keep Calm and Carry On Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,200
    Location:
    Chicago
    I decided to play a deity pangea as Ottomans with a not so great start. All plains tiles around the capital and only 1 bonus food (plains wheat) in a city nearby but that's it. Well that was workable until I had 1. had no iron and then 2. had no saltpeter. Two wars gave me a little breathing room and right before learning MT I bought some salt from the Mongols and upgrade some horses to Sipaphis....until my seller got whacked. Now there's two mini AI's left that won't do anything and two big AI's Iroquois (to my NW w/cavs and rifles) and Sumerians (to my N and NE w/the same) and they have an MPP. I'll follow with details later once I start war with the Iroquois who are flush with cash.

    I will win this game! :D

    Edit: I received steam as my free tech...no coal. Of course Iroquois and Sumerians have some. Time for a little coal extraction.
     
  13. SG-17

    SG-17 Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,615
    I set everything to random, , I started as Carthage, my first city was setting nicely on a river in grasslands, and even a cow, but ten tiles out was all desert, all the way to each shore, was desert on my continent, desert, mountains, and like a few tiles of grassland and, plains, one river. And to top it off, no strategic resources, at all, not even oil.
     
  14. Son_Of_Dido

    Son_Of_Dido Prince

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Let me put it this way...

    In the Mesoamerican Conquest Scenario, it is possible for settlers to build towns on top of mountains. Which therefore means it is possible for a Spearman to fortify inside a town on a mountain.

    Which means it is possible for one of those scrub AI civs that basically exist to be conquered, to stand tall, eat your entire invading army for lunch and dinner, and humiliate you into resigning yourself to peaceful building in cramped quarters.

    I sent a dozen javelin throwers at that city -- half of them elites -- and did a COMBINED TOTAL of ONE hp damage to one defender. My reinforcments trailing the stack ended up having to be their own assault force and they all failed just as miserably. I lost most of my military force inflicting that one point of damage. Bah.

    I really, really, REALLY hate spearmen.
     
  15. iambenben

    iambenben Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    in the middle of two warring civs and i get fed up, attack them both and lose :(
     
  16. Synsensa

    Synsensa - Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    18,513
    Hmm....

    Fall Of Rome Scenario

    I was playing as the Franks, I took over the Anglo Saxons, then Western Rome. According in my military advisor, my military was stronger than anyone else's. So, I attack with an army of elite Berserkers and 20 Heavy Cavalry on Constantinople (I had taken TWO other cities only, after throwing almost my entire military at them). So, I lose my army. I lost those 20 Cavalry. SO I tried again.

    This time I attacked Alexandria with 10 Dromons (to bombard), and around 28 Beserkers. Their casualties? 3 Legionaries. My casualties? Everything.

    At that time, every single nation had already been dragged into a MA against me.

    End story? I was ruling them all, and all of a sudden I get a really large bad luck spike.

    Meaning? It means I lost.

    Time to restart Fall Of Rome...
     
  17. axehaxe

    axehaxe Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    I lost modern armors to riflemen before. Also I've played many a game in which I had 0 resources and 0 luxuries Had to crank out those longbowmen and trebs and go to town. Tech selling helps cuz you can include luxuries and resources in the deals.
     
  18. Synsensa

    Synsensa - Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    18,513
    That absolutely sucks. Once I find that out, I resign and start off.
     
  19. anaxagoras

    anaxagoras King

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    961
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    It was trivial in the long haul, but I remember one time a veteran spearman fortified in plains took out four of my veteran cavalry. Three redlines and a kill later, the spearman was a redlined elite. That means he had gone 12-4 in combat rounds against 1:2.2 odds. I don't know the math to figure out exactly how unlikely that is, but let's just say the RNG was pretty unhelpful. I probably wouldn't remember it except the stupid spearman was in a key location I needed to break through, and delayed my war by an entire turn as the reinforcements had to be brought up.

    I remember one other time I was staging for an attack. The main route was jungle with no roads, so I sent my cannons and "slow-mover" escort around the flank to join up with the main attack later. I declared war and moved my main force into the attack, but the very next turn, just before the canons got to my intended route, an intervening Civ's borders expanded, and when I tried to go through anyway, it was "Move or declare". So I moved, intending to go further around the flanks. The turn before I got through that route, the same Civ's borders expanded there, too, and again it was "Move or declare". By the time I got a road built back at the original entry point, the war was pretty much over. I gained only about half the ground I intended, just because I couldn't get the darn canons through.

    Of course, I should have just brought up a big enough stack of workers to build a one-turn road, but I didn't want to pull them off other tasks. So is that luck, or bad planning? I prefer to call it bad luck, but I know what I'll do next time....
     
  20. Aramazd

    Aramazd Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,786
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Just played a game as Persia and the only coal sources I could find were in America and they just started giving me GPT, so I had to wait 20 turns to attack them, and then after I declared I realized a backward civ who got stuck by itself on an island had coal.:wallbash:
    Not really bad luck, just bad planning.
     

Share This Page