1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Re-Order build queues

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Scoottr, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Scoottr

    Scoottr Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Is there a way to change the current order of a build queue in a city without losing the work already in place for those items in queue?
     
  2. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    I think you are saying something like "you have 10 hammers invested in a barracks and you want to build something else and how do you do that without losign the hammers?"

    if so, they are just saved. for buildings, they dont' decay for a long time - for units, they decay faster.
     
  3. TLF

    TLF Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    What about if you have 3 items in the queue, all with some hammers, and you want to move item #3 to 1st or 2nd place?
     
  4. Esham

    Esham Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Canada
    I think the multiple items will all have decay. So if you somehow change your mind 3 times with some hammers in each the last item that had hammers will get more decay then the first.

    ideally put the buildings near the end if thats the case since they decay slower as AutomatedTeller said.
     
  5. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    Work is not lost if you remove the item from the queue and then re-add it. So feel free to just take something off the bottom of the queue, and then add it back to the top using ctrl+click. (or take something off the top then add it to the bottom using shift+click)

    And here's a 'pro-top': you can't have a world wonder on the queue of more than one city at a time, but you can half-build the wonder in one city, take it off the queue, then build it from scratch in a different city. Doing this will get you the wonder as well the gold from the half-built wonder. This may seem like a waste of time... but it can actually be very good value to do this if you have the resource bonus for building the wonder.
     

Share This Page