1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Realism Invictus

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Walter Hawkwood, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Jwitti

    Jwitti Judas Maccabeus

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Judah
    Hmm you might have to.. my norton just said "Almost nobody has downloaded it so we've got nothing" (since I was like the third to DL it ^_^) and I told it I trusted the file and I was fine.. maybe if you open up the antivirus software and look for a recent threats thing and there may be a restore type of button? Best of luck and Happy New Year
     
  2. Daft73

    Daft73 ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Baba Yaga's Hut
    Happy New years RI, :newyear: thanks for the good times.
     
  3. Daft73

    Daft73 ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Baba Yaga's Hut
    Your best bet is to get your Norton and toss it out the window.:badcomp::trouble: Try avast, 1,000,000,000 times more usefull.

    As for your question, the fastest fix is to shut your norton down to download.
     
  4. JeremyHussell

    JeremyHussell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    I have a question for the developers: what settings do you usually play on? I.e., difficulty level, scenario or map generator and world size, any favorite civs or traits, victories enabled or disabled, or other options. I'm mostly interested in what kind of games you find most interesting, so that I can try them out.

    Up until now I've been a relatively low-level player, typically Prince on the Tectonics map at standard size. I really like the "Require Complete Kills" option. I find it unrealistic the way capturing the last city of a civ causes all traces of that civ to disappear, including any unrest caused by captured population wanting to rejoin the motherland. Also, I haven't figured out how to view dead civs on the score graphs; is there a way to do that?

    I'm interested in trying out the new maps, but I could use a slightly longer and clearer description of what to expect from each one than what's provided in-game.

    I'm probably also ready to move up a difficulty level (or two), but I'd really prefer to play against stronger A.I. instead of against A.I. with bigger bonuses. The A.I. war-mongering seems to be working, but they all seem to fall behind in the tech race in my (somewhat limited) experience. Maybe arrange for at least one A.I. in each alliance to concentrate on tech while the others war-monger? I'm not sure what's easy or possible when it comes to improving the A.I.
     
  5. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    Once, when playing a map where lands surround a sea in the middle, peace treaty bumped a bunch of enemy units into a corner, inside an impassable pocket created by mountains. I was glad I didn't have the "complete kills" enabled. :D
     
  6. JeremyHussell

    JeremyHussell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    I think of situations like that as fun.
     
  7. Peregrine

    Peregrine The Swift

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    The Nether Regions
    Apparently, the new version installed over the old version. So now, not only can I not play the new version, but the old version is gone. Considered un-installing both, then reinstalling the old version, but, after checking the first post in this thread, the old version is now gone completely. No longer available for download. So, I'm out of luck. NO version works for me at the moment.

    Suppose I'll just check in periodically here to see if the bugs have been eliminated.
     
  8. aml666

    aml666 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Mulitiplayer issue with Revision 4633

    When one person loads a saved game, the others join. During the "loading game data" each other player gets an error telling them they need the Realism Invictus mod loaded (note: they already started with the mod). They click OK and CIV reloads.

    When it reloads, they get to the player join screen. They have to hit back and are immediately put in the LAN Lobby. There, they can choose the active game and join.

    Very messed up.
     
  9. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    UK
    That is what always happens when you manualy download an update to a Program or Mod.

    Check out your downloads directory/folder, if you made one. (Mine is called 'Instal Here'). If you did not make a specific directory, look for the default download directory.

    Unless you deleted the older version of the instal program - it will still be there. Just run it again - to get back to the previous version.

    Good luck.:)
     
  10. sjodster

    sjodster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    If you would like to install a previous version you can find all of the previous releases, including 3.1, here:

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/civ4mods/files/Realism Invictus/

    I play cooperative multiplayer and haven't run into this before. I'm not sure what's going on here, but I have a few general things to check:

    • Make sure each person's Realism mod folder has the same exact name ("Realism" is what people typically check it out as)
    • Make sure that each player has the same exact contents of that folder
    • Try using Direct IP connection to see if that works any better

    Personally, I play cooperatively with a friend of mine:
    • 2 human players on a team versus 6 standalone AI players
    • Conquest/Domination Victory
    • Realistic game speed
    • Huge random map: Commanding Heights with default settings, including starting positions that "Favor Humans"
    • Titan difficulty
    • Game Options Selected: Raging Barbarians, No Technology Trading (Tech Transfer is on), Holy City Migration, Protect Valuable Units
    • I play as Darius of Persia (Fin/Exp/Arr)
    • My friend plays as Diocletian of Rome (Adm/Fin/Ide)

    My buddy and I have been playing with something close to these settings for over two years and it never gets old; and even though we almost never win we have an extremely enjoyable play-through every time. As a rule, we play "iron man" style and never reload an earlier save in order to play it differently. If we ever reach a point where we think winning is impossible we restart.

    Titan presents a very interesting set of challenges. We have not succeeded in winning on this difficulty level yet, but we succeeded in reaching the nuclear era in our last game (ultimately, we were nuked into oblivion before we had any deterrence or even bomb shelters). Even though we play at a high difficulty level, we allow ourselves some caveats to compensate somewhat: we play with Diocletian and Darius, which is an extremely good combination of traits and civilizations, and we play with a map script that I modified to give humans the best starting positions: the "Favor Humans" option ensures that we rarely end up with a bad starting position. Ideally we even hope to start in a corner or on a left or right edge. Starting in the middle typically spells doom, but sometimes there are enough barriers on the map to protect us even with a centered start.

    Raging Barbarians on Titan difficulty makes for a... unique experience :). Surviving the first 200 turns takes a lot of effort but is always very exciting. We pretty much always go for the Great Wall, and we typically are successful in acquiring it as long as our science hasn't been hurt too badly by over-expansion or military costs. I do believe that Raging Barbarians is a net-negative for the AI, and on occasion the AI can be somewhat crippled, but typically the AI recovers; even with one AI down the rest will expand to its place so the game is still interesting.

    Our strategy usually involves finding key chokepoints on the map and building outpost cities and forts to control them. Thanks to the mountain ranges, in some games we can protect ourselves by holding just 3 or 4 tiles. We also employ a strategy of over-expansion that has significant economic costs (15-30% science rate is not uncommon), sometimes having 12-14 cities before we've even reached banking (a critical point in every game).

    The theory is that a greater number of cities is necessary to have enough production to compete with the AI in military conflicts. We generally avoid war as much as possible and keep low troop counts in peace time, but stay prepared to muster troops quickly when necessary. In an ideal setup, we have enough troops in the border cities and forts to slow an invasion down long enough for the reinforcements to complete training and start streaming to the front line.

    Most of our conflicts are not lost because we can't produce enough troops but because the enemy reaches a higher tech level or attacks before we have our shell setup properly. Maintaining an adequate science rate is always a challenge with this approach. Typically, we will designate one player to keep a higher science rate and a lower city and military count, while the other player goes for expansion and military. Courthouses become essential in this style of play, as does the Great Wall, which allows us to keep military costs down and move all of our troops to the border. Both of our leaders are financial, which helps tremendously, and we build lots and lots of cottages. We never run slavery.

    By the way, if you haven't tried the Commanding Heights map script, I highly recommend it. It produces some really beautiful maps that are extremely tactical with huge mountain ranges and lots of narrow passes and chokepoints. The script is originally based on Highlands but I altered it to add several additional passes that make the maps much more interesting. With the default settings it also produces some very interesting large seas and oceans that further add to the strategy.

    -Josh
     
  11. Terkhen

    Terkhen King

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    912
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Granada
    Hello:

    First of all, thanks for the new release. The amount of improvements since 3.1 is awesome :)

    I found a python exception while playing my second game when having the first contact with another civilization. I wonder if it is related to it being a game with Unrestricted Leaders on. You can find an screenshot attached to this post. The python exception from PythonErr.log can be found below:

    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "BugEventManager", line 358, in _handleDefaultEvent
      File "FavoriteCivicDetector", line 308, in onBeginActivePlayerTurn
      File "FavoriteCivicDetector", line 116, in doUpdate
      File "FavoriteCivicDetector", line 257, in removePossible
    AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'remove'
    I would also like to point that http://www.realism-invictus.com/ still points to downloads of 3.1.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Ahnarras

    Ahnarras Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Thanks for the Sjodster :)
    But it raises a question: you play on a huge map, with only 8 players? Why? Don't that make way too much room to expand for everybody?
     
  13. ununcle

    ununcle Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Hmm, Playing large world map and decided to see how the rest of the world was doing at 2500bc. Barb presence in Asia may be a tad strong at the outset as they destroyed the Chinese, Indian, and Korean Civs keeping their capitals and they have like 50 various units poised to take out the South Chinese and Dravidians. I don't feel like playing in a world where Asian stands for Japan, So I put them all back and took out the barbs. Also The Africans took Carthage and sacked their second city knocking out the Carthiginians. :crazyeye:
     
  14. Peregrine

    Peregrine The Swift

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    The Nether Regions
    Used the solution in post 4009. Worked. Thanks very much.

    I'll still check in from time to time to see if the 3.2 version is working right. It certainly looks promising. My problems are the two mentioned above; the all-black background after map generation (and only generating a map with the pMongoose script fixes it still), and the disappearing unit command blocs.
     
  15. Markolainen

    Markolainen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    I found a bug that's probably related to this mod since it's the only mod I have installed.
    I can't add or remove spy specialists. Would be very grateful if you could release a fast hotfix for this issue.
    Otherwise thanks for a great mod. In my opinion this is the only way to play any civ game at all.

    Sent from my GT-I9305 using Tapatalk
     
  16. Michkov

    Michkov Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    The guns of the transoxian Uzbek Rider are pink when they are dropped by a dying unit.
     
  17. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    I'm not sure if you're supposed to exploit slash and burn -farms by pillaging them before they become depleted and build them again. :D The investment requires 1 move from a military unit and 2 moves from a worker. It's not too much to ask since the workers don't have much to do early, and the military unit might be stationed on the square to ward off barbs anyway.

    @Markolainen: Repeating from above what works for me as a temp fix:
    Spoiler :
    If you want to assign a spy specialist, go to interface options, there should be an option to change how the specialists are shown, under "city screen", if I recall correctly. Change it from default or chevron to stacked. You now have a very ugly specialist view, but you can assign the spies. (You'll probably want to change the view back afterwards.)
     
  18. Markolainen

    Markolainen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thank you very much for this!:goodjob: And ofc to the OP of the fix.
     
  19. Oktoberfest

    Oktoberfest Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Now that I've started playing 3.2, it's officially time to fire the team at Fraxis and just hire you guys. The improvements to the World editor are phenomenal, and I love the new "islands" terrain. Great job guys.
     
  20. JeremyHussell

    JeremyHussell Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    sjodster: thank you for your reply. I'll definitely try out Commanding Heights, though probably not at Titan difficulty!

    A few more bugs and suggestions:
    • Buildings: Military Academy currently show Strategy info for Science Academies, and the first line of the Background section needs to be edited for grammar. That first line should probably be moved into the Strategy text, too.
    • All the civilopedia pages documenting improvements which give a chance of getting a resource should mention that they need to be worked for that to happen. The cultivation improvements should change "small chance of discovering X" to "large chance", or possibly "100% chance".
    • There's a Hint about Paganism benefiting from Slavery. I'm pretty sure that benefit doesn't exist any more.
    • I'm still occasionally getting strange random events. This game, I got metal decks for my carriers before researching Power Projection or building any carriers. Also, the fourth option for the Merchant Inheritance event failed to show the name of the city, and all text following the place where the name of the city should have been was rendered bold.
    • When building an improvement that will replace an improvement already present, the tooltips usually show the net effect, but they fail to do this for railroads and electric railroads replacing older routes, instead showing (falsely) that, e.g., an electric railroad will increase food production on a plot with a workshop and a regular railroad.
    • In the Domestic Advisor you can sort the cities, but doing pretty much anything will cause the sort order to go back to default. It should stay in the last requested ordering until a different ordering is requested.
    • On the city screen, many tooltips show a list of buildings which could affect an attribute (e.g., hovering over hammers will show buildings that could increase production). R.I. has enough buildings that sorting this list to put the largest bonus at the top would be useful. Also, putting the buildings that can't be built yet in the current city in a separate section would be helpful.
    • Barbarian naval units often end turn on a reef, and take damage. The barbarian A.I. could be taught to avoid reefs, but a more fun solution might be to give barbarian naval units a promotion that prevents them from taking damage from reefs. Maybe call it "Local Navigators" or "Shallow Hulls".
     

Share This Page