1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Realism Invictus

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Walter Hawkwood, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    I mean, when you start a scenario Huge or Large Worldmap, which are scenarios of Realism Invictus. Just start as anyone, it doesn't matter. Then go to worldbuilder and edit the world map to put Americans on it. Then save the map, exit to main menu, and start the worldbuilder save you just made. You now have the option to play as Americans.
     
  2. The Francis

    The Francis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks. I will try that
     
  3. The Francis

    The Francis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Any advise?
    I played japan, in the middle game when musket man comes available , and I tried to expan, Start war on China and Korea , the cost of maintenance were killing me, then earlier infantry comes along, I was at 60% of research , then the production of those infantry take 11 turns. Then some newer cities takes 20, then I find my self way too behind to England and petty much all other civs, what did I do wrong, I tried not to biud any army till my income was like 25 per turn and 3000 gold , but still later in the game money runs out and I have to lower the research , but later on I got so behind I couldn't win.what did I do wrong . The
     
  4. pioswa

    pioswa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    probably you get to big, if you have to many cities then cost of maintaining them is just to high. Try to stay small until you have enough income to support big empire.
     
  5. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    What Pioswa said. Also, make sure you have one city (most likely capital) that is seriously dedicated to producing great people and science. Majority of your science output should come from that one city, even if you control several others. The benefits of city specialization haven't much changed from vanilla civ.
     
  6. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    If he posts a save over in the S&T thread, we can take a look and see what can be done to assist his game.
     
  7. Quoth the Raven

    Quoth the Raven Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    I am wondering the reason for units like Machine Guns and the German special Flamethrower unit going obsolete?

    Edit: Is it possible to put a mechanic in the game that caps all civs research at a certain era? Such as if I wanted to play an entire game without advancing past the medieval era?
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  8. The Francis

    The Francis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    dude it didnt work. i start a large map game, went to the world builder,added American,then saved it, (i dont understand what you mean by save the map not the game), went back to main menu, then the game/map (which i name: saasasasa) i saved showed on the same page as large or huge game, try to load that game but no american showing? can you help?
     
  9. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    I mean save it while in worldbuilder. There should be icon that says save. Hard to remember these things without having the thing in front of you so there might be a step I forget, and since I play with SVN everything takes 20 minutes to load, so I'll check back tomorrow.
     
  10. [Y]

    [Y] Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    I just got attacked by some Mayan unit and it produced the most annoying, vuvuzela-esque sound. I quit the game immediately. Can it be removed/replaced with a sound that's more tolerable? And while I'm asking, can the same be done for the shrill noise made when completing the woodcutting building?
     
  11. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,286
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hey everyone, I'm back from a lengthy vacation, and I've rolled out some updates that should be affecting the game balance quite a lot. Hopefully in a good way.

    With so many changes, you should consider releasing it as a modmod (though of course basing it off an SVN version is problematic in that respect). I admire the globality of your approach to changes, and even when not adopting those directly (though I did some, see below), reading through this and the following discussion gave me a lot of food for thought.

    Well, here one is trying to solve a very contradictory problem, from gameplay point of view:
    1) Jungle is considered a "bad" tile.
    2) This is a strategy game focused around a civilization developing and molding the environment around it though technologies, improvements and stuff.
    3) Delaying and even taking away the ability to do that significantly reduces the strategic enjoyability of the game.

    To add to that, a little known fact. In the Old World, most forestation was indeed cleared by the medieval ages, except for the areas where people were still at tribal stages of development. People don't realize the degree of forestation (and following man-made deforestation) that pre-dated civilization. It is said that a squirrel could run from Greece to Spain never touching the ground 7000 years ago. Most areas of North Africa and Middle East were forested (those deserts - totally man-made!). If anything, Civ series downplays the extent of environmental changes due to early human activity.

    While I am intrinsically opposed to these changes (as I like the feeling of permanence provided by wonder effects), I guess this positively affects game dynamism. I will consider giving early wonders much less of a duration...

    The change to Peasant Servitude has already been implemented independently in SVN since.

    As far as watermills are concerned, I am actually considering a different approach altogether. Usually, a river tile is too important anyway to put a watermill there, and I almost never see them built (or want to build them myself). It might instead become a city building.

    Yeah, I still have to find a good balance for economy civics. Getting there...

    Good point about GS and nice ideas for specialist slots!

    The gems thing is more for AI's sake. Previously, it would leave out Aesthetics for as long as it could, therefore not getting Classical art, and therefore no following art eras as well.
    Good idea with Coffee.
    As for boosting the start locations, I am not sure if that's justified. Getting other resources might be as beneficial, and might result in a more varied starting strategies.
    Good call on Bureaucracy.
    Considering this for GWoS too (though again admittedly I love hoarding the bonuses!).
    I build a mixed archer/militia army early on myself (if at least due to cost increase), but I can see your reasoning. Also, chariots should definitely be more useful early on. So, some kind of nerf for militias is coming.
    I adopted your animal bonus idea in a recent update (might have forgotten to include it in the changelog, though).

    Partially adopted this in a recent update, for health-related buildings. That's coupled with an increase in benefits too, though. Now building an aqueduct really feels like you're providing a major service to the city!

    I'd settle on the fact that the more likely scenario is that RI will not include RevDCM ever. We'd love to, but unless it happens by magic, it's likely we won't manage.

    Yeah, you're actually right. This part of the upgrade tree doesn't look logical. Will think of something here.

    And no, none that I know of right now.

    You can remove it, if you want. Go to AudioDefines.xml, find SND_HORNET, and replace the <Filename>Sounds/Units/Hornet</Filename> with whatever sound you want. I actually went and checked after your post, and at least on my PC, the sound isn't too loud, actually quieter than many other unit sounds (if it's different for you, please report). As for the actual sound, that's what angry hornets really sound like.

    You're right on the saw sound, though. I will edit it to make it less annoying.
     
  12. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    Wheee!! I managed to merge my own, by now heavily diverged version of an earlier svn, with the latest one with only minor edits. The program is very smart at merging, it seems.

    The reduced started health took me by surprise even though I read the previous post. Also, looks like poisoning wells in the early classical era is back on the menu thanks to the changes. Leopold of Austria decided to drop my third city's pop from 3 to 2 by this way very early even though he feels neutral about me. Might be an aberration but I like to think the AI's smart and considers the city's overall health when doing espionage decisions like that.

    Agree with [Y] in that the sawmill sound grates my ears. The hornet thrower sound does feel louder but I think that's just because it's different. (I like it, actually.) While we're on the subject of minor corrections, the (Russian) Rifle Infantry has such a large "clickable area" that it's impossible to open city build queue by clicking on the city name (you have to double click to open the whole city screen) while it's the main guardian unit (which it is for it's era).
     
  13. cfeyyaz

    cfeyyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Very interesting but I don't think I would take such a huge risk :D
     
  14. cfeyyaz

    cfeyyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Istanbul
    @ Walter Hawkwood:

    I've read the recent changes on the last SVN and I'm greatly honored that you liked and have already implemented many of my ideas :) I am also very curious about the new adueducts/water system. Inspired by the changes and other suggestions from the community, I also lowered the initial health bonus and the militia bonuses against cavalry in my version. I keep changing things and I'll definitely write another list of changes in the future to feed you with further thoughts.

    Now to the few points that you mentioned:

    Watermills: Normally, you get :hammers: from your hills, :food: from your flatland. But if you have decent watermills, then it might be an attractive option to use your hills for :food: and your river banks for :hammers: . So I basically want to give players an alternative economical model. However, I like your idea to make them a city building only, it is realistic. My only concern is cities that do not have any hills around their city radius. How do you want to enhance production in those cities before industrial era? (By the way, I felt +1:food: boost for my watermills was too strong, leaving cottages too weak, so I took it back.)

    The economical model: My system above wasn't good enough. The Merchant Prince or Guild Monopoly didn't feel significantly stronger than the Agrarian Economy. Therefore, nations like mongols, nguni or armenians who can run pastoral nomadism very efficiently will have an upper hand over the others.

    Also I observed an interesting game balance issue that you may want to keep in mind: I increased the construction cost of buildings, because in my opinion it shouldn't be that easy to build libraries and theaters and bathhouses and harbors in all your cities. My intention was, once again, to make the game more slow paced. What happened is that the old world couldn't invest in those expensive buildings because of military tension, while the isolated civs on islands could thrive and get the technological lead.

    One more thing: I also didn't like the starting location sweetening by food resources only. I was trying to simulate the fact that civilization started on fertile land, and foo was the priority. But I just resulted in a very standard start for each and every game.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2017
  15. Enyavar

    Enyavar Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    414
    As cfeyyaz mentioned, additional food is too strong, (also, for that one we have farms!?)

    But have you considered to make it possible that watermills can be built in forests? I mean, without deforesting. That would mean an additional hammer in a forest-watermill. I have seen it mentioned for another mod a long while ago, but please don't ask me which one it was... :mischief:

    Still, I have come to value watermills in riverlands where there are no hills. Having 2,3 or even 4 watermills there early boosts the production of pre-industrial cities. It's just that Levee comes pretty late.
     
  16. [Y]

    [Y] Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    So, I like the strength reduction of the militia, but raging barbarians is now very overwhelming, especially coupled with the lower production rate that comes with the new health rules. I play on a customized version of Emperor, and assuming I copied the new settings properly, cities won't grow until there's a developed food resource nearby. And since there's no extra food, workers take much longer to create. The end result is that 100 turns in, I either have a measly army trying to fend off a barbarian rush (and typically, failing), or no workers, so an army with a poor, poor undeveloped city.
     
  17. Routalempi

    Routalempi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Finland
    Just decided to test out the newest version and the first thing I noticed was this. Would it make sense to have "raging barbarians" off by default or at least reduce the spawning a bit? Right now the first 100 turns are absolutely terrifying when you are playing monarch or above. If you don't have easily defendable first city, you are almost certainly either going to lose or crippling your economy to pump out units after units. I guess there's always the option to play custom games without raging barbarians, but it just takes some extra time to set the game that way.

    Health system seems indeed pretty harsh, too. I like that you actually have to build wells and other health-related buildings to be able to grow now, but at the same time it's maybe a little bit too difficult to have any growth during early game.

    I see there are lots of other big changes too, but it's too early to say if I like them all or not. Most of the changes seem pretty reasonable.
     
  18. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    Decided to write this post after something peculiar happened. So far, I've had the understanding that military traditions and doctrines built in a city are lost upon conquest (was I wrong?) but in my latest game I finally won a 2000-year old cultural battle over Mecca when it finally flipped, and as a result I gained 4 traditions and the culture-giving doctrine Imperial glory (well, that one was obsolete) which the AI had built in the city to try to stave off my culture. Quite a coup since I had gotten only 2 great generals myself.

    Regarding the troubles with barbarians, so far, on Monarch I've quite enjoyed the renewed challenge but can't say anything for Emperor. Also, it probably really sucks to have jungles near your first city.
     
  19. Routalempi

    Routalempi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Finland
    Out of curiosity I have to ask: what kind of maps do you mostly play? Can you manage the barbarians on maps with large landmasses and default number of AIs? And if so, how? I find that REALLY challenging on monarch especially if the starting location is in the middle of the continent.
     
  20. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    Most of the time I use the planet generator so I can control the number of continents. But I also almost always use more civilizations than default which is a good point. In my last game though, I ran standard size with 4 continents and default number of civs. To the north was coast, but there was a large area south that sent barbarians all the time against me until they started to settle down, which weirdly enough tends to slow their overall rate (they start to come in bursts, instead of all the time).

    I built a worker first and then mostly units at the start. Militia mostly once I got the tech. Couple of goody huts ensured I could upgrade two warriors. I took a long time building my second city. Clever positioning of my units ensured that none of my improvements were pillaged and I won 95% of my battles.
     

Share This Page