1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Realism Invictus

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Walter Hawkwood, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. johncade

    johncade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it normal for the AI to attack with stacks of 60+ units on Noble level? if so then the 35% congested strength penalty is probably being offset by the fact the AI is training units with an automatic 8+ promotions.
    So what I did was double all the Congested penalties so they had a -70% penalty, and even then with my 15 units fortified with +60% from the city, and all being more modern units, 16 attack vs 14s & 12s, they still annihilated my army and razed the city.
    Is this a bug with these 60+ unit stacks?
     
  2. Alexej

    Alexej Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    433
    Have not played last svn but never experienced 8 promos even with armies that destroyed entire civs before me. Maybe you count automatic stack support promos too? And 60 units hmm, I had faced around 35-40 strong maybe
     
  3. Marrci

    Marrci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Budapest/Hungary
    Will the Seafarer bug for world maps be fixed for 3.5?
     
  4. johncade

    johncade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    You are probably correct with the stack support promo, the icons for them are a blue/grey colour?
    But the 60+ unit stacks has happened twice in game from different factions and I can supply screenshots if required, I think it's a bit extreme, I'll have a look through the files to see if there are any set limits.
     
  5. Alexej

    Alexej Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    433
    Yes they are bit more transparent than regular promos. Some Civs with 10 or more cities can sustain even stacks you are describing though
     
  6. Marrci

    Marrci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Budapest/Hungary
    On the huge world map i got attacked by a 200+ russian stack made of rifles/grenadiers.
     
  7. johncade

    johncade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    How did you deal with that? Alt F4 :lol:
     
  8. Marrci

    Marrci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Budapest/Hungary
    i was a half era ahead, and some of my units were extremely promoted (200+xp with stuff like marksmanship3+combat 5+pinch2) from constantly fendng off invades. And these units are almost invincible with their 8 first strikes and insane bonuses.
     
  9. 2popbulb

    2popbulb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you have problems with long turn times on this map? I tried to play and gave up because it was very slow,even in the beginning of the game when there aren't lots of cities and units.
     
  10. Michkov

    Michkov Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,375
    I'm about 3/4 through a game now and I'm getting the "City X wants to join Empire Y" messages. The odd thing is the civ they want to join never owned the city in question. They are usually cities I conquered but so long ago that I didn't even know the civ they want to join. Also I'm alone on my continent with enough gap that their culture couldn't influence the cities.
     
  11. Shuikkanen

    Shuikkanen Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Finland
    The turn times get progressively longer and longer for me. By medieval it's several minutes. By Renaissance it's 8-15 minutes. I do something else (like read a book, watch a show, or chores) in-between the turns. I kid you not.
     
  12. Marrci

    Marrci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Budapest/Hungary
    its not that bad, nowhere near close to that 8-15min turns renaissance experience. couple of minutes in industrial, thats not bad, though there are some extremely long turns (that russian task force took a really long time)
     
  13. johncade

    johncade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    I think I know why the stack of doom are stomping my units, it does not appear to be applying the Congestion penalty, not in the combat log nor the advanced odds, the icon is there with most of the units in the list, except for some reason horse archers, but the rest of them that have the Congestion 6 icon are suffering no penalty.
     
  14. dhuntgen

    dhuntgen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    turkey
    waiting new version anymore. can be done eyes friendly graphics? because it is tiring for eyes these graphics.
     
  15. sazhdapec

    sazhdapec Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    When playing random maps I am always getting a feeling that availability and diversity of resources is odd. So I conducted a small investigation to figure this out (using SVN 5218).
    I created a map with the following settings:
    Spoiler :
    RI_Planet_Generator
    Huge
    Temperate
    Medium
    Ancient
    Realistic
    No override
    3 continents
    Min 5 water tiles
    Smart Selection
    Landmass (rough edges)
    Rare small islands
    Equal size
    More than 60%
    Never
    5 islands (if possible)
    Medium
    No
    Some peaks, Groups up to 11
    Normal hills, Groups up to 2
    Normal
    Rainy
    Fresh
    Standard placement
    Standard generator

    The number of players was left at default — 15; the difficulty setting for everybody — Noble.
    I saved the resulting map as a WB save file. Using regenerate map function I created (9) more maps and saved them too. Then I counted the number of each resource on each map. Positive values mean that the number of resources is more than the number of players. Negative values mean that the number of resources is less than the number of players. As one can see there is regularity in the results. First, there is always an abundance of sea resources (especially fish). Second, some resources may never appear. Third, most of the resources are pretty scarce. Considering that with the revolutions component the number of civs can grow the situation becomes even worse.

    Then I created a map with default settings:
    Spoiler :
    RI_Planet_Generator
    Huge
    Temperate
    Medium
    Ancient
    Realistic
    No override
    FT random (1-5 continents)
    Min 3 water tiles
    Smart Selection
    Unpredictable
    Rare small islands
    Equal size
    More than 60%
    Sometimes
    3 islands (if possible)
    Medium
    No
    Some peaks, Groups up to 5
    Normal hills, Groups up to 2
    Normal
    Normal
    Fresh
    Standard placement
    Standard generator

    I saved the resulting map as a WB save file. Then I returned to the main menu and repeated the procedure (9) more times. I got the same regularity. However the average and the total number of resources grew up.

    Then I decided to change map’s size to Standard leaving default settings (they are the same for all map sizes). The number of civs here is 9. Absolute numbers differ but the same regularity persists. The average and the total number of resources was again lower. However there were no absent resources.

    So I want to raise a question: how many resources should a map generator create depending on a number of players? What resources should be abundant and which ones may be scarce because there are ways to increase their number (mines, unique improvements, rich soils)?

    I also attach raw data so anyone can double-check me.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 8, 2019
  16. [Y]

    [Y] Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    One thing I realized in a recent game is that the map created likely has a huge impact on the available resources, since resource spread can vary according to latitude. In my game, the continents were all mostly in the south or in the north, and not the center. As a consequence, sugar, tobacco, and dye were all fairly rare, as they usually spawn in the jungles near the equator. But in previous games, where the continents spawned in line with the equator, those resources were abundant while others were not.
     
  17. sazhdapec

    sazhdapec Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Can you provide both of these maps so I can analyze them too? Or any map with peculiar resource distribution for that matter?
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2019
  18. Hamid.H

    Hamid.H Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    175
    im getting the following crash at the end of this turn and cant progress past this point. anyone have any idea how to fix it? game file also attached.

    Problem signature:

    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

    Application Name: Civ4BeyondSword.exe

    Application Version: 3.1.9.0

    Application Timestamp: 4a0c27e6

    Fault Module Name: CvGameCoreDLL.dll

    Fault Module Version: 3.1.7.0

    Fault Module Timestamp: 5c0ad4c6

    Exception Code: c0000094

    Exception Offset: 001ec36b

    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48

    Locale ID: 1033

    Additional Information 1: 8485

    Additional Information 2: 84853502223d8164a31468861a7c3d71

    Additional Information 3: a4ea

    Additional Information 4: a4eacf9d27e5ee8cb3a70ac0035eb8ab


    Read our privacy statement online:

    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409


    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:

    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,236
    Location:
    London, UK
    Same here, playing since 1, modding since 2. :)

    Have you had a chance to test if turning off stuff resolves OOS?

    It was fixed almost as soon as first reported, so yes.

    Uh... No? Don't know any special eyes friendly magic, sorry.

    Well, don't see any major surprises there, except maybe for over-abundance of timber. Everything else is actually surprisingly consistent to each other.

    This one should be working. Had to kill a newly revolted civ that was causing a CTD for some reason.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. johncade

    johncade Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Gender:
    Male
    My son and I have tried everything (we can think of) and we have been unable to play multiplayer without the OOS, it's a real pity too as this would be quite enjoyable multiplayer, awesome actually.
    I got a system setup here as a server with an old i7 3770 cpu, 16GB and a 240SSD that we use as a server for a few different games, 7 days to die, Killing floor 2, Empyrion, and Pitboss for Civ 4.
    I've installed the game in the C: directory, set permissions to "everyone", turned off firewalls and antivirus, deleted the cache, disabled random events, set the game to turn based rather than simultaneous turns, tried smaller maps and less civs and still no joy.

    It really is strange, the pitboss server keeps running, if we both log out after the desync we can login again, have our turn, and then the very next turn we get another desync.
     

Share This Page