1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Realism Invictus

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Walter Hawkwood, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. ETyrell91

    ETyrell91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    My solution is to give Barbs a modified version of the Internet project, on the lines of if there's a 9-player game, they get anything researched by at least 4 civs for free. That definitely puts them back in competition.
     
  2. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    I was compiling the Cvgamecoredll.dll but I recieved this error: "1>CvPlot.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _GetProcessMemoryInfo@12 referenced in function "bool __cdecl NeedToFreeMemory(void)" (?NeedToFreeMemory@@YA_NXZ)"
    Someone knows what does it mean?
     
  3. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    You can use SVN to check out any version of any RI files. It doesn't just hold the current revision, but all the previous ones as well.[/QUOTE]

    I've downloaded all files with SVN, I've compiled a new Cvgamecoredll with my modifications, but I found out that the files in your repository are already changed from the 3.1 version of the mod while I need specifically the 3.1 files. What can I do?
     
  4. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    Working with Microsoft C++ 2008 Express Edition I've realized that I can see the code of any single file compiled in Cvgamecoredll file and it looks that I can make changes this way. Is it possible?
     
  5. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    Won't be answering certain requests, as it turns out people don't really read stuff even if it is written in bold. :)

    Good idea regarding the effect. Your attribution of it to Medieval era is absolutely correct, but since I had more stuff I absolutely wanted to represent, it kinda "overflowed" to Classical. Unfortunately, it isn't easy to move now, as I'd need to remove some other Medieval work and create a new Classical one, as there are no suitable swap candidates.

    Thanks, will update. Though a picture of just text looks a bit too bland. I found this illustration that seems to be inspired by the book, and will be using it instead:
    Spoiler picture :
    (https://www.wxwenku.com/d/105405907)

    Tweaked the gain of barb technological gain upwards. They were a bit too slow indeed.

    Not going to happen, as I explained above. The component will basically stay as it is. It is off by default due to the fact that it won't ever get to the point that I'm satisfied with it, as it is beyond my skills.

    Answer is the same as before.

    I've downloaded all files with SVN, I've compiled a new Cvgamecoredll with my modifications, but I found out that the files in your repository are already changed from the 3.1 version of the mod while I need specifically the 3.1 files. What can I do?[/QUOTE]

    You can now update it to a revision around 3.1 release. Something like 3561 should do the trick.
     
  6. Abel Kroksabel

    Abel Kroksabel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, I am a long time lurker and civ player that just wanted share my knowledge about OOS problems with Civ IV and Realism Invictus.

    First I want to thank all of you that have contributed to this masterpiece of a mod during all the years! I've think I've come back to this mod over and over again during the last 10 years.

    Since 3.4 me and my friend started to play multiplayer a lot more and the platform for Civ IV multiplayer coordinatior these days are Steam. 1) We use one computer with Win 7 64-bit and one computer with Win 10. 2) We play casually on prince with AI's and the experience with Steam is god awful. We never got any game past 500 turns on world size larger than Standard map size. With Standard size around 900. 3) We have inactivated random events which took away some desyncs. 4) We could never resume the game by loading without getting new OOS within 1-20 turns.
    Nevertheless we have kept playing and as most civ players know a fresh new start is always fun!

    Finally we found a solution to this mess of always ending up with OOS. We have setup up a proper VPN. In our case using Zerotier. We followed this guide for Rocket League to setup the VPN with 1 addition: changing the virtual IP-addresses to 192.168.192.X . With a stable virtual LAN we can now load games without OOS. Playing on Large map is no problem. Turn-transistions are even faster than before. We are gonna try setup a Huge map within the next week with max AI players and see how long we can run without getting OOS. I'll post an update on how that goes later.

    Anyone that have had the same experience with inevitable OOS should try to run LAN via VPN. For myself this fix has made my life complete ;)



    TL:DR
    Steam multiplayer coordinator for Civ IV is complete garbage. To avoid constant OOS setup a proper VPN and play over LAN.
     
  7. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    I've downloaded all files with SVN, I've compiled a new Cvgamecoredll with my modifications, but I found out that the files in your repository are already changed from the 3.1 version of the mod while I need specifically the 3.1 files. What can I do?[/QUOTE]

    You can now update it to a revision around 3.1 release. Something like 3561 should do the trick.[/QUOTE]


    First of all, I want to thank you Hawkwood to reply to all my questions and the team for the wonderful mod created, I've appreciated very much. But I have to say, I'm not smart as you, and I cant understand right everything. For example, your last tips is totally enigmatic for me, can you explain with some details what I have to do to replace the python files with 3.1 version? Sorry to bother you everyday, but I'm finally ready to complete my reworked R.I. version, this it's last step before to release it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2019
  8. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    SVN works by storing everything that happened to the code (to the mod in this case) since the repository was first created. Changes get uploaded to it in numbered "revisions". Yesterday I uploaded rev. 5223, for example. The main "power" of SVN is that any change can be rolled back. The default "SVN update" action in TortoiseSVN updates to the latest revision, as logically that's what most people would want to have. But there is also an "Update to revision..." command that allows you to manually specify the revision you need to update to. 3561 is the revision number from the time around 3.1 was released, so you can use SVN as a time machine to go there.
     
  9. The Francis

    The Francis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    hi
    can someone share how to play the SVN mode????
    how to download and how to load RI?
     
  10. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    Ok, mission completed. Now I have to work on my dream, give the possibility to accumulate the resources produced by industrial buildings through conversion to produce military units. This process will have a minor impact on ancient times, but on modern times I find total unrealistic that an industrial power can have military problems against a minor nation. I have some idea how to realize this mechanic, but I would like to know your opinion, as you have much more experience and abilities than me. How should I proceed?
     
  11. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,568
    Location:
    israel
  12. Sathar

    Sathar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    New Jersey
    With the latest SVN I'm getting a hard crash to desktop between turns with no warning or message. I realize troubleshooting is not a high priority but here is a save from right before the crash. BTW it's a Huge World Map game, somewhere mid to late Classical.

    Edit: A little more info -- I rolled back one Autosave (2 turns earlier) and got past the crash turn okay. On that turn I received what I guess is my first "sovereignty event" so that sounds suspiciously like the culprit. This is on SVN 5224.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 29, 2019
  13. ETyrell91

    ETyrell91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    RI website is down! Hope 3.5 is still coming...
     
  14. aantia

    aantia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    The last update on sourceforge ( Realism: Invictus Activity) was after the website went down, so I wouldn't worry about that.
     
  15. aantia

    aantia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Hi @Walter Hawkwood
    I just saw a bit of weirdness where three Egypts formed from revolts. I know you've said that you're done with revolts for the foreseeable future, but would it be possible to add a check for if the civ already exists when a new one spawns?

    Thanks for all your hard work, RI makes Civ4 my favourite strategy game by far :trophy:
     
  16. Hamid.H

    Hamid.H Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    178
    Understandable and I appreciate all of the work you've put into the mod over the years. It really is excellently done. The level of detail is amazing.

    I wasn't asking to add new civs per say. What I was wondering is if it would be possible to choose minor civs to play as that are essentially already full civs. If this isn't possible would you be able to provide me with the the proper civ, flag, and leader names that would need to be added manually to a private map so I can make them playable? Or tell me where I can find these names in the mod files (sorry, I'm just not that skilled with this stuff).

    hh

    edit: ok, so i figured this out for the most part. now im just trying to figure out how to add a leaderhead photo. i think i need to make a dds file and i have the photo i want to use (attached). im just not sure how to make the file. id be grateful to anyone who can help. thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
  17. The Francis

    The Francis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    how to disable nukes??
     
  18. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
  19. ETyrell91

    ETyrell91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    I like this one - I always avoid Humanist leaders because I never waste any GPs on Golden Ages. Having another way to start them is a plus!
     
    plasmacannon likes this.
  20. plasmacannon

    plasmacannon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Same. I hate to waste a great person early on that way when I could have had a Great Engineer to rush a wonder, an Academy or thousands in gold for upgrades.
    It looks like in that mod add on, that when we hit a culture threshold, then we gain a golden age.
    True, we often have inner cities that don't need or see a culture radius pop, yet they are our most cultured cities.
    So when we are choosing to go for a Conquest or Dominion victory, those cities of ours that mainly build wonders, can have a secondary way of assisting us.
     

Share This Page