1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Realism Invictus

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Walter Hawkwood, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. le_harv

    le_harv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada/UK
    RE 5246 and the map script updates. I pretty much play global highlands religiously so if you are able to update that script, I'd happily see how the script has been improved. I didn't see Global Highlands in the SVN log as a modified file so I assume it did not have the script tools applied. Still really enjoying this mod, always end up coming back to it. Thanks for your time and effort on this creation.
     
  2. yurv3

    yurv3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Обнаружил ошибку в текущей версии мода. Россия не может создать национальный юнит- аркебузира нового строя так как он улучшается в стрельца. Это уже исправлено или нет? Если следовать истории то полки нового строя появились значительно позднее стрельцов. Уже в 17 веке. И еще одна странность я не могу построить стрельцов ( аркебузиров) без порохового завода ( и это правильно) в тоже время я могу создавать пушки и пистольеров ( казаков) без такого здания.
     
  3. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    Good idea and done.
    Thanks. I am allergic to rude people. :)

    Anyway, regarding the spies: limiting them was done when I implemented a different method for spy invisibility to other units, to let barbarians see them. A side effect of that was an inability for spies to enter a city if someone else's spy was sitting there. So in theory with unlimited spies one could easily render himself invulnerable to espionage - a spy in each city and no enemy spy can ever enter. When I reverted the change to invisibility a while ago, I reverted the limit as well, since it was meant for that particular issue. I see now there might be additional separate considerations for doing that, and I will consider bringing the limit back.

    How so? It does exactly what it say, provides free specialists from preserves in city radius.

    Your report has us stumped for now. Your first save ("before upgrade" works well - upgrading/disbanding raises/lowers appropriate role costs by appropriate amounts); but the "before purge" save has the costs already messed up really hard - not only for bakumatsu infantry, but also for irregulars who somehow got to negative price increase!

    We were unable to do anything to "before upgrade" save that would result in the situation of the later saves. Perhaps you remember something in particular you did that led to costs being broken?

    Yeah, I finally subscribed to my inability to meaningfully fix the resources, and just got a third party component for that.

    Thanks, shifted Texas to grey.

    Agreed on the boring part. I implemented the change with full realization of how boring I was making it. If I manage to come up with something more fun, yet balanced pre-3.5, I'll be sure to implement it.

    Done, as well as some other more obscure scripts. Generally speaking, almost all vanilla scripts should now be affected (except for some where stock algorithms would make zero sense, like Mirror).

    Must be something wrong with your copy then. This here clearly points that New Model Regiment upgrades to Rifleman, as it should, taken from a 3.4 install:

    upload_2019-12-13_14-19-29.png

    Russia not building Fusiliers/Line Infantry would be pretty noticeable, and would be reported and fixed during the time the current version was out (almost 2 years).

    As for black powder, bombards - as the earliest gunpowder units - come before you can even build powder mills, and as such require just sulfur (which is almost the same, as sulfur is the sole prerequisite for black powder production in RI). Non-reliance on black powder is specific to cossacks out of all pistolier-type light cavalry, as cossacks were supposed to provide their own equipment. So it's a particular trait for Russian and Ukrainian flavour light cavalry. Heavy cavalry (cuirassiers) requires black powder as per usual.
     
  4. yurv3

    yurv3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Спасибо. Я имел в виду более ранние юниты. Screenshot_1.jpg
     
  5. Dairokutenmaou

    Dairokutenmaou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Sweet! in my current 5246 game I can't be too sure but I at least have noticed a few Rebels getting put down, Not all the time but at least it happens;

    Unfortunately I can't remember since it has been a while, I also updated to 5246 so I can't even check the save again.

    The Bug has actually shown itself again upon checking my current save thoroughly however, in this case my Yabusame has some rogue 22% cost increase even if I have no Mounted or Flanking units existing.

    upload_2019-12-14_7-7-35.png

    And looking at saves from long ago that actually has been around for at least 250 ingame years, culprit in this one seems to be the Flanking Role (More specifically 7.5% from 3 units) since my Mounted units aren't affected.

    That this is happening to the Yabusame is even weirder since they haven't ever been upgraded, I built all of them as Yabusame and not as Heian Horse Archer and far back enough the bug hasn't happened.

    My current guess is that some AI unit is applying roles to the player since it doesn't seem to be something I'm causing myself but that's a blind guess and doesn't explain the "Negative Costs" case, I wish there was a "Delete all units" button in world builder.

    Edit: On another check the Irregulars are also broken again.
    Edit2: The blind guess is wrong, I did find something similar to a "delete all units" button and the costs didn't change after absolutely everything everywhere being purged.
    Edit3:Ranged Support role seems to work fine at first glance but upon deleting Bakumatsu in my current save it goes into the negatives.
    Edit4:My own inability to replicate it between saves 1 turn apart is leading me to believe it's something happening due to the game having run for some time in which loading/restarting the game causes the bug not to happen anymore.

    In other words I'm out of ideas, I can at least identify which save was before things started getting *really* messed up and continue from there.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2019
  6. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ah, this one is intentional. Foreign-trained units in general can be built only if the civ in question doesn't yet have the tech to build their own appropriate unit (but has access to a gun-related resource, such as black powder in this case). So you can basically arm someone else for a proxy war for instance - I even saw big but somewhat outdated AI empires relying on their small advanced vassals for supplying arms to them.

    Logs from a game during which you're sure it happened could be useful. Also, just in case, what exactly do you mean when you say you're "deleting" units? Especially when you say about a "delete all units" button?
     
  7. Dairokutenmaou

    Dairokutenmaou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    I used the eraser tool in the world builder at all-map range hoping it would be faster than deleting most units manually, It wasn't and took some 15 minutes with the game frozen instead, took less work at least.

    Also I suppose you mean the logs of a single session where it has happened I suppose? I can't say I'm sure where I'd find the relevant logs, the folder I found doesn't seem to have any logs that are of use.

    Edit: Is it possible to have a Info message say whenever the % costs change for the player for diagnostic purposes?
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
  8. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'm actually not sure if deleting units in WB should legitimately raise/lower costs, as I'm not sure the game registers units as being built or disbanded if it's done through WB. But I'm not actually sure myself regarding that.

    Yeah, also logging should be enabled in the ini file for the log files to even be produced.
     
  9. Dairokutenmaou

    Dairokutenmaou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    It does, I used it to see if costs were increasing or decreasing for a few units.

    Got it, I was just editing the .ini to enable autosave every single turn too.

    So far I exceeded the turn that things started getting really wild, Mounted-Flanking are still at 22% ghost cost but everything else is correct for now, will report as soon as it happens again.
     
  10. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks! Also keep an eye out for anything in particular you suspect might be linked to it - anything that doesn't happen often and happens to coincide with the problem when it appears (revolutions, barbarians settling etc.)
     
  11. Dairokutenmaou

    Dairokutenmaou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Ending the industrial era and the problem hasn't shown itself again, I'm thinking that there might be something specifically around the Flintlock Musket technology since in the last game that's when it got really noticeable but that doesn't explain the Yabusame being affected.

    Those are all units affected by the Archery Guilds/Trained Archers which I make sure to get every time but at this time this is just conjecture.
     
  12. ederl

    ederl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Hi, I'm playing r5248 using RI planet generator, since the new map update (which I like) somehow no "sea ice" is generated. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  13. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    All right, guys. I'm off for Christmas, and at this point it's obvious we still have a bit to go before actual 3.5 release. On the other hand, it's obvious that it's just a bit - hopefully the rest can be finished in a couple of weeks when I come back. So, barring anything unforeseen, I'd say a January release is a realistic bet.

    Thanks, fixed this one in the latest revision.
     
    aantia likes this.
  14. ederl

    ederl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Hi, I'm playing r5249 now and somehow since the last update tribal villages work differently now:
    - When I get a technology, i additionally get some money
    - When I get a scout or a militia, works as before, but when I should get a warrior I get nothing instead
    - When villagers are hostile also no barbarian warriors are generated
    Should it work like this?

    And I saw that the unit "tupi scout" has no picture at the moment, it's just a purple square.
     
  15. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,281
    Location:
    London, UK
    Oops. Thanks for reporting! All fixed in the latest commit (should be save game compatible if you want to continue a current game).
     
  16. ETyrell91

    ETyrell91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Can't remember if this has been suggested before, but the "Poor Organization" malus seems unbalanced compared to the other "military leadership" maluses - you can fix Poor Leadership and Poor Morale with just the Combat I promotion, but Poor Organization needs two Drill promotions to fix. Thoughts on switching it to :"-1 FS chance" instead of "-1 FS chance + -1 FS"?
     
  17. cfeyyaz

    cfeyyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Hi all,

    It has been more than a year, since I've been active here. It was because, I was playing other games than Civilization IV Realism Invictus for a change :)

    Nevertheless I've been playing a recent SVN of Realism Invictus for couple of weeks. Previously, I was heavily working on my own version of RI, where I made several changes to game balance, civics, military, economy etc., and I was satisfied with those changes.

    However, I have to admit, that the current SVN version of RI is most refreshing and it feels much more rewarding then my own version of RI. The game is very well round-up and balanced in comparison to the version - let's say - two years ago.

    I also read the forum today, and I was sad to see, that Walter Hawkwood and the developing team are retired/planning to retire. Therefore, I want to thank the developing team for their hard work and dedication, and also I want to thank you for implementing my suggestions into the game throughout the years.

    I was actually preparing a new set of suggested changes/food for thought, but as I see, you don't intend to make any drastic changes anymore. So I won't bother you. For the time being, at least :)

    But I have at least one idea, that is very easy to implement, would not disturb game balance and I am sure you would like:

    1. Fishing Docks give +1 :health:: Even thought you are not planning the water tiles actively, Fishing Docks encourages citizens to fish occasionally, which contributes to a more balanced and varied diet. This makes Fishing Docks a nice addition to smaller and larger cities alike.

    By the way about the discussion about the scrubs:

    The reason, why you could build improvements on scrubs, is following: The map generator "sweetens" the starting location of each civ. The flood plains were considered as bad terrain, because they cause :yuck:, like jungles, swamp etc. And therefore, the map generator replaced flood plains with useless scrubs, which actually worsened the starting location. So, being able to build on scrubs were a (semi-temporarily) solution to this problem. For the same reason, scrubs along rivers get also large bonuses.
     
  18. Michkov

    Michkov Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391
    If anyone is interested in a PBEM using the mod, have a look here
     
  19. Goetz53

    Goetz53 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    France
    Just a small post to thank Walter warmly fort its ongoing efforts to finish the last release and to wish him and everybody of the 'Realism Invictus' community a very happy new year 2020 ! :beer:
     
  20. Neonprime

    Neonprime Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Curitiba, Brazil
    In which files can I set to not allow that improvements can be built on tiles with hot springs? They become overpowered and
    aesthetically not matched since the improvement overlap the geyser
     

Share This Page