1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Realism Invictus

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Walter Hawkwood, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,448
    Location:
    London, UK
    I think I caught and fixed this one; try the latest revision. Thanks for pointing me where to look.
     
  2. paichtis

    paichtis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Yep it seems fixed/ thanks !
     
  3. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    So can we expect 3.55 somewhat soon? Looking forward to diving back in again.
     
  4. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,448
    Location:
    London, UK
    Basically what is now in SVN is the 3.55. Most of what's left is updating manuals and stuff like that, and for me to actually figure out how to make an installer, since I never did before.
     
  5. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Three things from attempting to play the SVN:

    1. The font change was quite jarring. I'm sure this is partially because I've gotten so used to the other font, but this one seemed particularly stark.
    2. The game was noticeably slower to load, even compared to the 3.5 Realism Invictus.
    3. The game crashed while I was attempting to start a game. After several minutes, it gave a DirectX-related error and did nothing else. It was not responding, but the music was still playing and it did not CTD. I can try and get you more specifics if you want.
     
  6. aantia

    aantia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    1. Walter has actually tweaked the font quite a lot because I complained it was harder to read now :p I now suspect it may be because it's switched to a sans-serif font; it's actually larger than the old one was, and other people find it easier to read.
    2. The SVN version is always going to be much slower to load, that's just the nature of the beast.
    3. I'll let somebody else answer that, I'm not aware of what the problem might be.
     
  7. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    1. It just seems very sharp now and I don't care for it, though accessibility concerns take priority. I should think those aren't mutually exclusive though.
    2. Good to know, thanks.
     
  8. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,448
    Location:
    London, UK
    I wish I could force more anti-aliasing on it, but that's as good as it's going to get, unfortunately. I still believe it to be an overall improvement.

    That's SVN for you. You can pack the assets if you want it to load as fast as release version: http://www.realism-invictus.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=885

    That might be a thing some people get when attempting to start a Custom Game for the first time; try going with Play Now once - if it loads ok, you'll have no trouble with Custom Games going forward either.
     
  9. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yeah it works fine now.

    I don't quite get the rationale for the percentage tech penalties thing. It seems to serve an identical purpose as the unhappiness and sickness penalties for going to a new era, so why is this added as well? Is it necessary as a catchup mechanism to prevent excessive snowballing?

    EDIT: I also noticed that I am unable to load my games from the unmodded game; it doesn't even ask to confirm I would like to load a mod it just fails. Other mods work fine, and loading the mod and then loading my game works fine.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2021
  10. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I was also playing around with the new PerfectMongoose map, and it might be by design, but they seem very strange for me. The landmasses were all very small, with most land on ~1.5 continents. Despite me setting the option "everywhere" almost all civilizations spawned very close to each other on a single continent most of the time, and it is incredibly claustrophobic. In some cases I could barely get a second city before being boxed in.

    Is this the intent? My assumption was that the map was for a good smart "default" map, but it seems to be for a very unique style of playing.

    EDIT: The RI Planet Generator also seems odd, and possibly different from what I remember of it. Continents are absurdly gargantuan and are almost always a Pangaea, de facto if not de jure (landmasses are 1-2 water tiles apart or outright connected).
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2021
  11. Watermelon

    Watermelon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Some more notes regarding the recent updates from the games I played:

    1. Firstly thank you very much, the updates make the game even more enjoyable. I love it!

    2. I noticed nearly all the AIs would now declare wars at pleased attitude (as the civipedia puts it, they normally only don't on friendly). Didn't see it in the change log, but it probably makes one of the largest differences, as on one hand you can't just avoid war with like a third of the AIs so easily by just having +3 relations, but on the other hand other AIs can so neither! Makes the world way more dynamic, and I feel fairer, as AIs usually get that opinion boost with each other, meaning you would often be the only target. Also nerfs politician trait, which I felt was a bit op, when RNG gave you a couple of peaceful neighbours.

    3. Changed Open Borders-Attitude make a difference. If you border a civ, you can probably forget about open borders. Makes civs on the edges even more powerful, but really cracks down on the insane research speeds of the world on higher difficulties (+100% costs but still needs only 9 turns? :lol:) Also gets (maybe, might be the different coding alone) rid of stupid long range wars, where six units show up to your border to spook you.

    3. Protectionism now really packs a punch. When I read the change log, I thought all the other buffs would be gone but man the 100% :commerce: on internal trade routs do make money. Foreign trades routes may make more, but nobody wants to trade any more, even when you find trading partners, hardly half of your trading routes become foreign, and if you really play the trading game and settle coast river cities etc. you have so many trade routes but a complete lack of destinations, which you can't open up by relations, as even +19 AIs might not want to trade with you. Meaning the 100% on internal might even then overcome the 50% foreign and internal ones. Adding the other bonuses for Protectionism and removed benefit for other empires (it finally blocks trade from foreign empires :goodjob:) I feel like Protectionism might be the better choice 85% of the time, especially for large empires who don't want to benefit their neighbours - which is why I don't mind it as much, as it probably should.
    (Though of course FT is probably still superb in larger scenarios where there are still 10 AIs left instead of 5 or 4.)

    4. New Conqueror and Militaristic are nice. Nerf to Militaristic was needed, city raider on Conqueror is fantastic.

    5. A question: Sometimes the Avoid Epidemic button in the city screen shows avoid at 4% epidemics, sometimes its 8%. Can you change that somewhere, or what is it based upon?
     
    Snowygerry likes this.
  12. Snowygerry

    Snowygerry Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gent - Belgium.
    2 - 3 are probably dependent on difficulty level no ?
     
  13. Grassland Farm

    Grassland Farm Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Le mighty motherland France
    I think I'll grab the SVN, this is too tempting...
     
    Snowygerry likes this.
  14. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Hi, me again. Some constructive criticisms from a fan:

    1. Academies are included in the things a Great Scientist can't build if they've already built in a city that era. Not sure if this was intentional, this could have easily been my misinterpretation and not a bug. EDIT: Does it count as a National Wonder? I've already built 1, but there's no listing of it as one, and it wasn't outside of this mod.

    2. The different constitutions for the Democracy civic is a stroke of genius, but the federal one (with the free specialist and higher GP boost) seems much better unless you really need that happiness.

    3. The Islamic wonder, the Kaaba, while mechanically on point, is essentially the same thing as the Islamic shrine, the Masjid al-Haram. Maybe swap it out with the Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem?

    4. The tech tree. Aside from a couple redundant prerequisites, it feels very clustered. To be clear, there are still abundant meaningful decisions to be made on what to research, but it does start to feel restrictive by the Renaissance if you're going for a science victory. This might be for a game balance reason, but some of the prerequisites seem like very dubious connections. I would prefer something a little more loose, especially if the number of prereqs are there for flavor mostly. I can look through and compile a list in the near future if you'd like.

    5. American ancient era units should be not be Scandinavian. There's not a good answer for this, but I feel like English would be a closer match, or if they're Celtic at that point, Germanic.

    6. Copernicus' Observatory and da Vinci's Workshop, mostly the former, weren't really wonders (the civilopedia article admits as such) wielding any sort of the effect they do in game irl. If the Civ2 reference is worth it (I joined the franchise long after that), then fair enough, but I wonder if there are better thematic options available, like Ulugh Beg's observatory.

    7. Years and tech penalty. The concept is honestly kind of neat, but I don't really know what purpose it's serving given the anger and sickness penalties already exist. I am currently in 1070 CE on noble and about to discover the stock market, if that feedback helps. If the mechanism was added to try and make the game years closer to reality, then I think you need to just change the years themselves. Keep in mind that Civ has no dark ages or collapses (in this game and mod anyway), so there's going to be a discontinuity right off the bat. EDIT: I am also hilariously ahead of all other civs to the point my score is almost double the runner up.

    8. On that note, how do you feel about changing the dates to BCE and CE? It's more universal and slightly more accurate to boot.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2021
  15. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,448
    Location:
    London, UK
    Actually, after some tinkering, I think I produced a satisfactory alternative font variant with better anti-aliasing. There is no automatic way to implement it, but see if swapping out Civ4Theme_Common_Segoe.thm with Civ4Theme_Common.thm does work better for you. I personally wasn't 100% satisfied with the end result, so I didn't go with that as the default version.

    I think some bug in AI logic got fixed in process, enabling that - there was no real change specifically aimed at it.

    There was definitely specific coding to get rid of stupid long range wars. My only worry here is if it also got rid of smart long range wars too... :mischief:

    These two are extremely nasty to balance out. I feel both are now at least very situational - any given game might end up with leaders more or less inclined to open borders overall, and as I myself found out, forcing someone to adopt Free Trade so you can trade with them is now quite lucrative - and very much "in the spirit" of early modern era.

    That's the setting the particular leader you play as tolerates their pandemic chances. They are individual per leader, and I felt that setting this button for plain 0 tolerance is too restrictive. I know having it leader-dependent is somewhat stupid, but TBH I couldn't think of a better alternative.

    Thanks! Most of those are actually quite sensible, though I won't be implementing anything pre-3.55 release, as one has to stop themselves at some point with adding stuff, or nothing ever gets released.

    Academy is one per civ. I might rename it to "National Academy" so it conveys it better.

    Balancing stuff is tough. :) I might throw in extra health in Centralist too I guess.

    Shows how much of a visual person I am. All those years I thought the Islamic shrine was Al-Aqsa, as that's what it looks like (and nothing at all like real Masjid al-Haram). Now I feel really stupid. :lol:

    Reminds me of the fact that for years, we had the Whippet tank in RI driving backwards and nobody noticed despite it being the default WW1 tank, so everyone should have seen it. This is definitely getting changed (I guess the shrine will be converted to Kaaba, while the current graphic will be used to make Al-Aqsa the Islamic wonder).

    It has several "node" technologies, after which it starts branching again, the most notable being Critical Thought. But generally this probably comes down to a personal preference - I hate seeing anachronistic stuff, so I did make it sure that one couldn't beeline too far in any one direction.

    Ugh, Americans. A civ that shouldn't really be playable from 4000 BC. Generally speaking, unless I retool all pre-colonial America to natives (which might be technically the right thing to do, but too large an undertaking on my part at this point), the only real Medieval Europeans that the New World can draw upon for their roster are the Vikings (and maybe maybe Irish, but that has never been archaeologically proven). The amount of fantasy stuff required for the early American roster is way beyond my own tolerance level, but there is really no ideal solution for them... Vinland as early America seemed the least terrible solution to me.

    I kinda agree with that; I might actually go with Ulugh Beg's Observatory, Uraniborg and/or House of Wisdom to replace one or both. Though it does feel right to have Poland represented by their own wonder in-game, even if it isn't a real one. I did try to supply at least one buildable wonder for every civ in RI. But I guess Poland could get Malbork Castle instead, if I can think of a fun wonder effect. I am not quite satisfied with the current wonder lineup anyway, and had a couple of ideas I wanted to implement.

    It is a kind of a rubber band to somewhat lessen the effect of one civ getting far ahead of everyone else in tech due to a combination of circumstances. I didn't really want to make it too restrictive (as I don't want players to feel punished for getting ahead), but it should mitigate stuff enough so that research speeds aren't too ridiculous.

    Shows how old I am I guess. For me, BC and AD are just something I grew with. I know conventions change, and I will probably look into changing that, but TBH it would require quite a lot of digging to find the exact place I need to change them at. So maybe I'll get to it at some point.
     
    fdrpi and Snowygerry like this.
  16. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    Germany
    I've implemented a BUG option for that in AdvCiv. Let me dig for that ...
    Spoiler :
    If I can trust my own comments, then, apart from the BUG menu stuff, only CvGameTextMgr::setYearStr and some game text keys need to be changed. (For RI, BUGOption::getValue would have to be changed to getBugOptionINT in the C++ code). I've put the option on the game clock tab (renamed to "Time" through TXT_KEY_BUG_OPTTAB_NJAGC in BUG Options Screen.xml):
    Not Just Another Game Clock.xml
    BugNJAGCOptionsTab.py
    Game text:
    Not Just Another Game Clock Options.xml (3 text keys)
    CIV4GameText_advc.xml (6 text keys)
    But, of course, even with those code and text fragments, adding a BUG option is always a chore. And, obviously, 'Pedia texts won't be affected by the option.
     
  17. fdrpi

    fdrpi Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I feel like the Centralizing Constitution should buff your capital and maybe reduce nearby maintenance and/or increase maintenance for distance to palace. Federalist constitution should feature empire-wide benefits but maybe increase maintenance for number of cities. That would reflect the strengths and weaknesses of those systems of government.

    As for America I hadn't even thought of Vinland. That's actually a solid justification, though technically in what is now Canada. My rationale for English (or German as a backup) was that they were the first white settlers in the colonies that would become America.

    EDIT: And is Paganism and Animism supposed to prohibit having a state religion? Because I have a Hindu Hungary AI running around with paganism active.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2021
  18. [Y]

    [Y] Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Thematically it would be appropriate if the game used BC and AD until the 2000 year mark and then switch to CE. :lol:
     
  19. Grassland Farm

    Grassland Farm Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Le mighty motherland France
    What map options or scenario do you guys usually go to? I'm finding so many pros and cons for each that I just can't make up my mind anymore. :crazyeye:
     
    fdrpi likes this.
  20. Snowygerry

    Snowygerry Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gent - Belgium.
    Tried a few random maps and now on my first EarthEvolution3 map, Standard size, Temperate and Medium Sea level.
     

Share This Page