1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

reboot followed by garbled graphics

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by astroglide, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. astroglide

    astroglide Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    shuttle sb81p sff pc
    3ghz p4 prescott cpu (tried toggling hyperthreading)
    1gb ddr400, 1gb page file
    74gb raptor hard drive with plenty of room
    geforce 6600gt 128mb pci-e w/dual monitors (tried disabling 1 monitor)

    xp sp2, all updates
    symantec antivirus 10 corporate edition
    latest drivers (e.g. 81.85 forceware)
    all other apps closed

    installed fine. played fine in tutorial. got to the point where a city was founded and my system rebooted (this never happens). now when i launch civ4 after the startup movies the graphics are garbled on the main screen. the text is still legible, but it's flashing and screwing up all over the place.

    i doubt there will be any known solutions for this, but has anybody experienced this particular problem?
     
  2. Rabid Bunny

    Rabid Bunny Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Detroit
    Asus A7N8X-E Mobo (bad AGP 8X - can only use low end cards)
    GeForce2 MX400 64 MB w/T&L 81.85 driver (just meets CIV4 min specs)
    AMDXP2700+
    1 GB 3200 DDR RAM
    200 GB IDE HDD
    On Board Nvidia Sound

    Other than opening intro, game plays great on medium graphics settings. Logged in 3 hours last night (tutorial & singe play game), haven't built a wonder yet (I understand some problems have been arising there).

    Try turning off you Symantec AntiVirus for both install & gameplay. Unplug from the internet if it makes you feel safe. ALWAYS turn off Antivirus programs when installing new software. Causes many install problems.

    Good luck!
     
  3. bugmenot17

    bugmenot17 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    There's your problem, your computer is probably just too good for this game praised mostly by its own developers.
     
  4. PennHead

    PennHead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Provo, Utah, USA
    I had a problem with garbled graphics too, which didn't show up until after I rebooted. I don't have the same video card as you, but it is an nVidia. Not sure if it's the same problem you're seeing, but here's how I resolved it:

    I turned the anti-aliasing on my card to application controlled. I previously was forcing it to a setting which Civ seemed to not like. Even then, setting 2x AA in the Civ options menu gave me the garbled graphics, but any other setting worked fine.

    Hope that can be of some help.
     
  5. astroglide

    astroglide Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    uninstall/reinstall didn't work (manually flushed firaxis dirs in profile/prog files), it's not the antivirus. need to test some other dx games though to verify it's not my card.
     

Share This Page