1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Recommended System Requirements for DOC?

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by only sky, Feb 19, 2015.

  1. only sky

    only sky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    China
    Hello!

    Is there a Recommended System Requirements list for DOC 1.12?

    it is very unpleasant that in the industrial era and mordern era in DOC game, every turn needs 10 seconds + to be processed, I heard the cpu is the key but what kind of cpu?

    I plan to upgrade my PC to play doc 1.12, my plan is to upgrade my pc so the time of processing turns will be reduced to less than 8 seconds in later eras.

    Thank you!
     
  2. citis

    citis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    *Windows 7 (I don't know about 8).
    *a tone of GHz (the more the less wait time)
    *a modern RAM should be enough
    *a modern disk should be enough
    *no special display card required.
    *if Leoreth incorporates multithreading in the future multiple cores will help too
     
  3. Eric Cartmenez

    Eric Cartmenez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    ...in Limbo
    DoC and Windows 8.1 works well for me.
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,055
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Don't count on it.
     
  5. only sky

    only sky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    China

    Then what 's the cpu with quite high GHZ? will AMD A4-7300 be good enough? it has 3.8GHz
     
  6. Novicenoble

    Novicenoble Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    East Asia
    Civ4 itself uses only one core of CPU :/
     
  7. citis

    citis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,479
    I don't know. Mine has 2.2 and I wait about 3 minutes per turn in late game. But definately, Ghz is the most important feature. It indicates how fast a core runs the program. Since DoC runs in a single core it requires the fastest core possible.

    Rethinking the cores, having a second core might help a little too. Windows, firefox etc. run in the one core and DoC in the other. More cores won't.
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,055
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    For multi-core CPUs, you need to consider the clock rate of a single processor, not the total clock rate they are usually advertised with.
     
  9. calad

    calad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Even with new computer is takes a long time to load Canada or other late date civs. Thats why they are rarely played.
     
  10. agentxorange

    agentxorange Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    Civilization is very CPU intensive, mostly because the amount of calculations that must be done each turn. Getting an unlocked processor can be very helpful, since you can overclock it, which decreases the processor lifespan but does increase performance significantly.

    It would be helpful if you post your current specs, and specify which you are planning to upgrade.

    Edit: Also, play on the SVN version, not 1.12! There are so many changes that almost feel essential at this point (new culture mechanics, civ overhauls, new civs, specialist changes, etc).
     
  11. great.taurus

    great.taurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    As others have said, Civ4 performance doesn't improve much with newer PC's. You just have to live with slow turn times.
     

Share This Page