1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Redcoat and Continental Infantry

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Unit Graphics' started by Deliverator, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,214
    Location:
    London, UK
    Presenting the first custom units to use Civ 5 animations! Both models use the mesh from the Civ 4 Colonization Imperial Musketman. The Redcoat reskin was by Oleg153 and the Continental Infantry reskin was by myself.

    The units use the Civ 5 American Minuteman animations. Using Civ 5 animations means the unit is fully hooked up with sound and effects and the animations are much smoother than with the Civ 4 conversions so far.











    The files are in the form of a mod - this mod is purely designed to showcase the art and is not intended to be a serious gameplay mod. Releasing the files in this way should make it easier from people to integrate these new units into their own mods should they wish.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>> Download Here <<<<<<<<<<<<<<

    .
     

    Attached Files:

    • rc1.jpg
      rc1.jpg
      File size:
      68.1 KB
      Views:
      11,966
    • rc2.jpg
      rc2.jpg
      File size:
      76.8 KB
      Views:
      11,910
    • rc3.jpg
      rc3.jpg
      File size:
      47.4 KB
      Views:
      10,228
    • rc4.jpg
      rc4.jpg
      File size:
      38.3 KB
      Views:
      10,187
    • rc5.jpg
      rc5.jpg
      File size:
      53 KB
      Views:
      10,929
  2. LoneGamer

    LoneGamer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Very nice. Looking forward to the skeleton and tutorial when you get the chance.
    Anyway very nice, happy to see you got the anims working.

    Cheers.
     
  3. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    30,746
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    And the master strikes again :goodjob:.
     
  4. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Shiny indeed. :D
     
  5. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    Independance war anyone ?
     
  6. Hulfgar

    Hulfgar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Really nice units.

    I hope you will do the french grenadier of the Napoleonic Old Guard :)
     
  7. Jaythekiller

    Jaythekiller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Ajaccio,Corsica,france (Europe)
  8. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,287
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Fantastic looking, great job:goodjob:


    btw does anyone know how to change that "icon" above them and put the flags back, when we get like 50 civs later, colors will match (somewhat) i hate that icon besides its in the way and i can't even tell now whom is whom:( (PM me cause i dont want to take over this thread with stuff, unless Deliverator says its ok:confused:)
     
  9. tlucky4life

    tlucky4life Sachem

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Shawnee
    Any interest in making skins for other nations. The default musketeer drives me crazy. I hate that there are no colonial era uniforms.

    Could you do French, Spanish, Prussian(German), Russian

    and maybe Dutch, Portugese, Sweden, and Papal States?
     
  10. BomberEscort

    BomberEscort Don't be alarmed; this is a kindness

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,102
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Nice! Is there a way to use these units to update existing ones? For example, I want to use your Redcoats as the English Musketman, just changing the graphics and leaving all other stats the same...
     
  11. RenaissanceFan

    RenaissanceFan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Now that's just what I needed! Can I use thes on my mod (with credit to both of you, of course)?
     
  12. Ajidica

    Ajidica High Quality Person

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    18,649
    Generaly, whenever someone uploads something to CFC with a download link, it means you have free reign to use it as long as you credit the source.
     
  13. spilo

    spilo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Does this mod work with BNW?

    I'm trying to add a musket-wielding redcoat model as a unique unit for England.

    I extracted the mod to the mod folder, I edited out all the extraneous civ 5 units in the two artdefines files, (the whole civ 5 roster is included in the two civ5 artdefines files), edited the redcoat.xml file (see attached) to give it promotions and override the Musketman for England, loaded the mod without loading any other mod that adds units.

    In gameplay, no musketmen appear when the appropriate tech is reached, as England.

    I've never had this trouble with other modded units, but this particular mod is obviously bare-bones compared to most.

    If this mod is incompatible with BNW or otherwise unusable, can someone direct me to a more accessible musket redcoat infantry unit for me to incorporate into my game?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,214
    Location:
    London, UK
    The mod won't work with BNW as it is. This is because the format of Art Defines changed at some point in Civ 5's development. This was one of the earliest models I did for Civ 5. If you look at a more recent ones such as this one you should be able to play spot-the-difference in the way the Art Defs are set up. To be clear, there is no issue of compatibility - the art assets will work - it is just that the Art Defs need to be set up in the newer way.
     
    spilo likes this.

Share This Page