1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Release For Mac?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by DonPato, Oct 17, 2016.

  1. DonPato

    DonPato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Does anybody know if the preloading for Mac means that the game is officially released yet on Mac, or should I still not bother to pre-order the game if I have a Mac?
     
  2. Mort_Q

    Mort_Q Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    361
  3. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,094
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    I just contacted Aspyr and they said that they don´t have an ETA for the game on Mac. They said, We're working on getting it out the same day as PC but there's no promises right now. As soon as we know, you'll know on Facebook and Twitter." Crossing fingers here!
     
    iamliberal likes this.
  4. DonPato

    DonPato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Thank you so much for sharing! This is super helpful to know; at least it sounds like the game won't release weeks or months later for Mac.
     
  5. manu-fan

    manu-fan Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Here's from the Aspyr FAQ:

    Q: When will Civilization VI be released?

    A: We are working to get Civilization VI out on Mac as soon as possible and we hope to get it to Mac fans on the same day the PC is released. However, we are still working on finalizing the game and cannot confirm our final launch date. We will confirm the launch date with the community as soon as we have it finalized.
     
  6. CGPanama

    CGPanama Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    On the Steam Discussion forum, Aspyr-Blair today posted "We are still targeting Friday along side the Windows version...internally, we have a fairly high level of confidence that we will hit that date, and yes if you pre-order on a Mac, you will have access to all the same content."
     
  7. Oleary

    Oleary OF Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Sweet. thanks for the update!
     
  8. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,640
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Moderator Action: Moved to Civ 6 - Mac forum.
     
  9. DonPato

    DonPato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    What do we think all? Are we going to see our Friday release happen?
     
  10. bbbt

    bbbt Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,954
    I'm wondering the same thing - I don't want to end up staying up all night clicking every hour to see if they've uploaded it yet!
     
  11. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,802
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I hopde that Aspyr would be fair enough and state it if they don't make it in time or if they do. But it's only a few minutes left before it launches in Australia.
     
  12. narmox

    narmox Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, I guess it's not ready yet. While beforehand it showed up in "Mac" section of my library, with a pre-load button, once 1am (JST) hit, the pre-load button changed to Play but of course there was no game to play.. and now no preload or play button. So I guess I get to sleep at least one more night in my life ;)
     
  13. oakdragon

    oakdragon Stagnating amongst the Siliconians Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Yeah, Civ VI has now disappeared from the Mac section of my Library completely. :/
     
  14. Alan Palmer

    Alan Palmer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Mine shows "Pre-load complete; unreleased". I'm in the UK, and if I understand the map of release time zones correctly we should get it before America. :)

    With my luck I've got the Windows version though...
     
  15. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,802
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I'm also in Europe, but for me it got kicked out of the mac games list, too.
     
  16. Alan Palmer

    Alan Palmer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Just filtered on Mac games and it's disappeared from there for me as well.
     
  17. Alan Palmer

    Alan Palmer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Oh dear... I clicked the Play button and got the message that it is unavailable for my current platform

    . Screen Shot 2016-10-20 at 17.38.33.jpg
     
  18. DonPato

    DonPato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Could all of this be good news? Perhaps they've taken it down from the Mac platform in order to sort of "reset" it with the completed version and it will soon be playable in areas where the game has already launched?
     
  19. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,802
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I'm still wondering why Aspyr posted that picture of a sloth today on its Facebook page...
     
    ELRACj and Ondolindë like this.
  20. Alan Palmer

    Alan Palmer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    LOL!
     

Share This Page