1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Bugs and Todos

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by raystuttgart, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
  2. danielstp

    danielstp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    I had just renamed version 1.2. I deleted it and now it works. Thanks
     
  3. Toys®Us

    Toys®Us Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Shawinigan
    CIV4GameText_RaR_New_Ressources.xml

    ---

    <Tag>TXT_KEY_UNIT_HUNTER_STRATEGY</Tag>
    ...and...
    <Tag>TXT_KEY_PROFESSION_HUNTER_STRATEGY</Tag>

    ---

    Bad translation from German to English?

    "effektive"

    "effective" is more appropriate.
     
  4. Toys®Us

    Toys®Us Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Shawinigan
    CIV4GameText_Credits_Readme_Hints.xml

    <Tag>TXT_KEY_HINT_6</Tag>
    <English>Nay, so great was our famine, that a Salvage we slew, and buried, the poorer sort tooke him up againe and eat him, and so did divers one another boyled and stewed with roots and herbs: And one amongst the rest did kill his wife, powdered her, and had eaten part of her before it was knowne. --- A Trve declaration of the estate of the Colonie in Virginia, 1610</English>

    ... 4 words

    Nay, so great was our famine, that a Salvage we slew, and buried, the poorer sort TOOK him up AGAIN and eat him, and so did divers one another boyled and stewed with roots and herbs: And one amongst the rest did kill his wife, powdered her, and had eaten part of her before it was KNOWN. --- A TRUE declaration of the estate of the Colonie in Virginia, 1610
     
  5. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    It is not Typos. :D

    It is simply very old style English / the original quote.
    (At least that is what I was told.)
     
  6. Toys®Us

    Toys®Us Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Shawinigan
    My God! Poor me then, my native language is French, and I'm trying to learn English.
    Dead-end I suppose.

    :)
     
  7. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    As I said, it is not the English that is spoken today.
    Some of the quotes are in very very old style English.
     
  8. colonialfan

    colonialfan Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Ray is correct. The dialect from those quotes is akin to some of the words you might find in some of the plays by Shakespeare, Marlowe, Bacon etc. Hence it has a very Elizabethan feel to it. It can be hard to follow at times and it is made harder by the many different ways of spelling the same word, even by the same author in the same piece of text. Standardized spellings of words in the English language did not start until the latter part of the 18th century.
     
  9. Rambozod

    Rambozod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I have found two bugs in RaR 1.3

    By this Mandatum i miss the translation to german.



    In the City Screen the Tavern and the Market are Overlaped.

     

    Attached Files:

  10. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Germany
    I think these points are no "bugs". ;)

    The first one: The mod in general is completely in English, It seems that this event was simply not translated into German. Maybe we will change this at a later stage.

    The 2nd one: It seems to be caused by the resolution. What resolution do you use? Maybe the city screen is not optimized for all possible resolutions. I use 1680x1050 and have no problems.
     
  11. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    @Rambozod:
    Please put large images like that into a Spoiler. :thumbsup:
     
  12. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    Hi Toys®Us,
    Well, never mind! :p You can play in French. ;)
    By the way are you interested in helping us with the French translation?
     
  13. Toys®Us

    Toys®Us Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Shawinigan
    I prefer to play in English. French Mods are rare.
    And I'm still learning many new words.

    About the translation, I'm able to help for sure. I work 7/14 days.
    I just need to remember/find the HTML Codes needed for letters like "é", "à" or "è", etc.
    But I won't do it 8 days/week. :lol:
    I'm free the weekend, so let me know which XML file needs work.


    :coffee:
     
  14. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    For Brabeuf it is not stated that he will end wars with the natives (at least not in German).
     
  15. Johnny Canuck

    Johnny Canuck Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Not sure if this is a bug, but is it WAD that ships repair damage while going to/from Europe?
     
  16. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Germany
    Ships can repair at sea.

    But what means "WAD"?
     
  17. Johnny Canuck

    Johnny Canuck Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    WAD = Working As Designed :)

    Ships can repair at sea, but they can't repair while moving. So I was wondering if ships are supposed to repair while 'moving' to/from Europe.
     
  18. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Repairing while heading back and forth from and to Europe is a vanilla feature. So, yes, it is "WAD". :)
     
  19. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,288
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Feature?? Sounds like a vanilla mistake to me
     
  20. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    You know, as the saying goes :)
    "It's not a bug, it's a feature!"
     

Share This Page