1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Feedback and Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by raystuttgart, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. C~G

    C~G Untouchable

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    4,146
    As Feedback I want to say this Mod rocks!

    Haven't been part of the scenery for a while (for few years) but back in the day thought Civ 3 mod about Colonization would have been neat. Then when Civ IV: Colonization came out, I wasn't totally pleased since it felt like something was missing...

    But you all nailed it!

    I nowadays don't even play games and especially don't get addicted but when I started your mod it was instant hit.

    Thanks for all your work!
     
  2. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Always very nice to get feedback like this.
    Thanks. :)
     
  3. Raubwuerger

    Raubwuerger Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Hi folks,

    I have one short question. From time to time the natives offer me one of their villages.
    If I agree the village turns into a ruin - I think because the village is within a radius of 3 tiles next to one of my cities?!
    Is this a feature or a bug?
     
  4. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    This is neither a feature nor a bug, this is vanilla.... :D

    Whenever your territory extends so widely that you displace the natives fron their land - sooner or later they will offer you the land - i.e. the city, then they leave their city and the affected city becomes a ruin.

    What do you think should happen? That their village turns into a European city? :hammer: :D
     
  5. Raubwuerger

    Raubwuerger Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Hmm, I don't know what should happen, but what is happening is not was I expacted ... :lol: :confused:
     
  6. Marla_Singer

    Marla_Singer United in diversity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    12,893
    Location:
    Paris, west side (92).
    The weird thing is that they are actually glad to offer it (as if you were doing them a favor in accepting the village to be destroyed). I find that a bit counter-intuitive.

    So maybe we could see the thing in 2 ways:
    • either our culture "impressed" them so much that they wanted to assimilate, in which case the people moved out of the village should pop up as converted natives (that's what is currently happening with some nomadic people worldwide settling to take advantage of modern life).
    • or the natives are pissed to lose a village (as I would be as a player), and this should have a negative impact on our reputation towards them.

    Or both actually! One thing doesn't necessarily exclude the other.
    What do you think? :)
     
  7. Willi_Tell

    Willi_Tell praefectus praetorio

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    City of the Bears, Switzerland
    I second that! I always had mixed feelings with this "feature" from vanilla. Why should Natives be happy to loose their grounds, but angry if you let them keep...? (that's the way it is handled since vanilla) :crazyeye:

    Marla's solution sounds good: Exchange of the attitutes (keep village: +1, make it European Lands: -1) and receiving some converted Natives if the village is vanished...?
     
  8. Sanotra

    Sanotra Wannabe Modder

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    Wa - USA
    Why have the village vanish at all if you choose the assimilation/converted natives option? Wouldn't it be cool to see the city itself merely turned over to your control? Except it would obviously keep the native buildings which could then slowly be replaced with European counterparts. Whatever the population was at the time of conversion (say 4), 3 converted natives would be in your new settlement and the native village loses one population (now 4-1), due to that Indian wanting to emigrate to another native village because he wants to maintain his cultural identity.
     
  9. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,003
    I kind of like the ideas regarding settlement overtaking from a realistic perspective, but I'm concerned with the game balance. Not only can it heavily affect gameplay, it also hurt French expansion while Spanish players are largely unaffected (assuming they exploit leader bonuses). I think changing something like this can hurt the gameplay, especially if the change isn't carefully considered and tested.
     
  10. vetiarvind

    vetiarvind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Chennai, South India
    Is there a rule that you cannot declare war before x turn? I'm trying to simulate the bombard bug, but i can't declare war on louis or on the portuguese..It's turn 0 btw.
    (edit it's 5 turns and both of us have colonies)
     
  11. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Yes. There is a "forced peace period" in the beginning of the game.
    But for testing you can still "declare war" by using Worldbuilder (Diplomacy).
     
  12. rah

    rah Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,145
    Location:
    Chicago
    How long is the forced peace period?
     
  13. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Same as in Vanilla (or TAC):
    20 turns
     
  14. rah

    rah Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7,145
    Location:
    Chicago
    Never knew what it was in vanilla or TAC since I never played them much.
    R&R is what got me playing.

    So thanks.
     
  15. noza1015

    noza1015 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    When I try to play colonization conversed earth map (download), RAR has been crashed.
    How can I solve this problem?

    RaR version is 2.2

    English is not my major language, so my words feel little weird.
     
  16. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    I am sorry, I do not understand your problem. :dunno:

    All 3 MapScripts used by the mod (Faireweather, New World, Carribean) have been tested (and partially adjusted).
    They should not cause any crashes.

    Edit:

    There was a bug though (which is fixed in the upcoming Release 2.3):

    When a European Starting Ship was placed on a Plot with Water Goody / Shipwreck the game crashed.
    (This had nothing to do with the MapScript and could happen on every Map or Mapscript.)

    Edit 2:

    Oh, so you are playing some map that is not part of clean RaR.
    Well, then I have absolutely no idea what goes wrong ... :dunno:

    Just to clarify:
    Any MapScript (or Map) that has not explicitly been made or adjusted for RaR, will most likely not work with RaR.
    They would need to be adjusted first for RaR (by a modder who knows about Maps or MapScripts).
     
  17. Marla_Singer

    Marla_Singer United in diversity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    12,893
    Location:
    Paris, west side (92).
    Please send here the .ColonizationWBSave file, I will look at it.

    NOTE: You can attach a file to a post in clicking on the "manage attachment" button. You only need first to zip it.
     
  18. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    350 rounds autoplay with the current SVN:

    The French rule this game.

    I don't know why the economy of the AI isn't so effective in every game.... :eek: (no gold mine inside a city):

    Spoiler :
     

    Attached Files:

  19. noza1015

    noza1015 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Here's the file. I played this map previous version of RAR(I don't remember version number. sorry), but I can't play this map on RAR ver 2.2
     

    Attached Files:

  20. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,447
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Wow, that AI city is really huge. :eek:

    The biggest AI city I had ever seen in my games was around 50 citizens.
    (Also was lategame on Gigantic Map. Probably also more than 300 turns.)
     

Share This Page