1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: General Questions and Discussions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by raystuttgart, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Germany
    This is correct. It is currently not so important to use the unique unit for the different professions. I'm currently thinking about a re-balance that makes it easier and more usefull (e.g. only 2 specialists - one for infantry and one for dragoons and cavalry; special promotions which can only be reached by the specialists).

    Thanks for picking this up!
     
  2. Sarin

    Sarin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    288
    Hm. If you are going to mess with it, any chance that some military professions and units could be available only after certain date (I suppose using eras that are AFAIK already in game, but not being used for anything else but different starts)? I mean, the game basically takes image of, with a few exceptions, a late 17/18th century warfare, which makes no sense from both gameplay and historical perspective. We can get 18th century style line infantry, with appropriate strength compared to natives, at era when armies were just transitioning to pike and shot model.
     
  3. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Germany
    This is a well known problem of the game. The vanilla game does not include devlopments of the military professions/units between 1492 and the revolution in the 18th century. Hence the implementation requires a lot of work. You need a lot of changes in XML, Python and the DLL, not to mention the huge amount of graphics that would need to be designed an implemented!

    Furthermore the changes would not impact the gameplay very much. Therefore we have refrained from these changes until now.
     
  4. PlotVitalNPC

    PlotVitalNPC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Would it be possible to code things such that desert tiles adjacent to rivers (or freshwater lakes?) could be 'irrigated' and made into Savannahs, or no?
    If possible, is that something the R&R team is favorable to the idea of?
     
  5. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Germany
    I have changed this a little bit now. There exists only one specialist for infantry: The veteran infantry soldier - this unit is specialist for both professions: Colonial Militia and Line Infantry.
     
  6. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    @ConjurerDragon : The issue(s) concerning players returning to their port of origin is caused by some problematic AI logic ( AI_transportSeaMove ) which determines what the transport (or rather, ship) should do. I have fixed this in RaR 2.7 by not allowing ships carrying units to travel to any port (Europe or Africa).
     
    ConjurerDragon likes this.
  7. rapanui

    rapanui Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    In what circumstances native raid considered partially successfull? I keep getting robbed by them or get my buildings destroyed even if I win every battle during their raids. Is this a bug? Playing 2.71b2 version
     
  8. Sarin

    Sarin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    288
    It's not a bug. Native raids can do some damage even if battle is lost, the chance however decreases with higher level of fortifications in colony. I think you need fortress to completely eliminate this.
     
  9. rah

    rah Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Location:
    Chicago
    does the level of fortification influence whether a unit will attempt to raid or just the outcome?
     
  10. Barra

    Barra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Its a long time ago I last played colonization, I used to play with the TAC mod. Now Im back and see what you guys have done to the "base-mod" TAC, congratulations to all Team Members, very good job.
    I wonder if there is an location where I can change the hurry cost modifier for buildings in the colonies or forbid hurrying at all for the human player ?
    I have looked into ...Documents\My Games\Colo\MODS\Religion_and_Revolution\Assets\XML\GlobalDefinesAlt.xml, but could not find any related option ?
     
  11. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    I don't have access to the game installation at the moment, but you can alter value associated with the XML tag NEW_HURRY_MODIFIER and it will impact the hurry modifier for both buildings and units. I guess RaR did not change it so look in the XML files for the base game. If you do decide to change it, copy the tag over to GlobalDefinesAlt.xml in the RaR folder for it to take affect. Don't forget to clear the cache (hold the shift key or turn off caching entirely)
     
  12. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    Raids can succeed even if the brave died. The consequences are only a bit less severe. I guess you just can't win! :crazyeye:

    I looked into this recently and fortifications do influence the chance of a successful raid but they do not impact the decision of a brave to attempt it.
    However, the way the code is structured makes it so that fortifications have a fairly low impact since the raider gets multiple chances (up to 4) to raid the target. There is a random dice roll that determines this outcome:
    Code:
    if (GC.getGameINLINE().getSorenRandNum(200, "Buildings raid") < pCity->getDefenseModifier())
    {
        return false;
    }
    
    Assuming a city has a defensive modifier of 150, there is still a 25% chance of a raid passing this dice roll. The odds of a raid failing 4 attempts is 0.75^4. The chance of success is thus 1-0.75^4 = 0.684 or close to 70% chance of success!

    Note that I am not claiming that these are the real odds of a successful raid, this is just a brief analsis of the impact of defensive structures on the odds. There are other factors as well.
    However, I think it's reasonable to say that defensive structures are not that helpful.

    If anybody wants to have a look at this the code is in CvUnit::raidCity
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2018
  13. Barra

    Barra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    thank you for your help, I just forgot to look at the original xml
    Another question:
    Is it possible, to transfer a whole bunch of goods into a cargo container fe. using shortcuts ? (600 at once into a galleon)
     
  14. Jorge Tamay

    Jorge Tamay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hi, I have to say this is an excellent mod, and it gives the games a whole new feeling and thanks those who worked in it.
    I have the next question: How can I change the city storage mechanics so it can be like it was before? (like in the original TAC and Vanilla version)
     
  15. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774
    I don't think anybody have tested if the old system is still working as intended, but the way you control the warehouse capacity system is by editing Assets/xml/GlobalDefinesALT.xml. In line 545, it says NEW_CAPACITY and it has the value of 1. Set this to 0 and it looks like it should revert to the vanilla code.
     
  16. Jorge Tamay

    Jorge Tamay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you very much Nightinggale, you were right about where to changing the NEW_CAPACITY to 0, it reverted to vanilla code. There is any chance you know where I can change the warehouses capacities? Cause +2000 for everything it's too much. Anyways, thank you very much for the help!
     
  17. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774
    Assets/xml/buildings/CIV4BuildingInfos.xml. Here you can set up how each building affects the game and the tag you are interested in is iYieldStorage. No line numbers this time because you have to look/search around to locate all the buildings, which add to storage capacity (all with a non 0 iYieldStorage)
     
  18. TheIanOakley

    TheIanOakley Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    173
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    How far into the Pacific Ocean do I have to go to trigger the event reward for its discovery?
     
  19. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774
    It triggers on discovering a Europe access plot. Since they are placed randomly on random maps, the answer is: it depends on the map.
     
  20. devolution

    devolution Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    @TheIanOakley
    Only a single western "Europe" tile needs to be revealed to trigger the achivement. For the quest, you'll have to be the first to reveal one of these tiles before any other player. As for the AI, it is currently not capable of purposefully targetting any quest objective, so if the AI beats you, it is just a byproduct of something else :p
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop