1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Remove barbarians?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Felixissimo, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. Felixissimo

    Felixissimo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi
    I've spent some time on a map and have now begun playing. But now I'm finding the barbarians very much distracting (I was stupid enough to leave the no barbarians box unchecked :rolleyes:) Is there any way to toggle this without having to create a new scenario and thusly having to recreate the whole map. :confused:
     
  2. Synsensa

    Synsensa Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21,944
    Enter the World Builder and remove them whenever you see them?
     
  3. Felixissimo

    Felixissimo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Yeah, I know, that's what I've been doing :rolleyes:
    But that gets annoying in the end..
     
  4. thecrazyalaskan

    thecrazyalaskan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    I don't know of one... I haven't played with barbs in a long time for that reason. Building the Great Wall always seemed to minimize my problems with them, however, when I did play with them.
     
  5. Bkeela

    Bkeela Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Why don't you like Barbarians? They are perfect fodder for upgrading your units.
     
  6. AfterShafter

    AfterShafter Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057
    Location:
    World's largest lentil producer
    Precisely. I tend to leave them off because all it does is all but force you into war, and slow the CPU expansion down. Oddly enough, barbs almost make it easier, since it forces you to play your ace, and gives it upgrades to boot. So, barbs? Boooorring.
     
  7. MrBrown

    MrBrown Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Seriously, if you're having trouble with barbarians, you're behind in tech/military, and will get stomped by the AI.

    Well, unless you've turned wars off. ;)
     
  8. brades

    brades Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Fog busters... Build a bunch of warriors at the beginning, put them on forested hills for the +75% defense bonus, give them woodsman promotions and barbs will not give you problems. Not only that you will most likely have heroic epic unlocked without ever having to go to a real war.
     
  9. Un Oso

    Un Oso Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    N ur forests prevent'n ur fires
    I think you can adjust most anything if you open the world-builder file for your map in a text editor. I don't have a lot of experience with that, just changed players once or twice, but it would be worth a try. It would probably be something simple like "Barbarians On = 1", so just scan through. Might seem like a hassle but consider it an investment. Knowing the mechanics in editing a map could come in handy later.
     
  10. LordMachiavelli

    LordMachiavelli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Flint MI
    If you're going into worldbuilder anyway, why not just give yourself a great wall?

    LM
     
  11. eewallace

    eewallace King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    USA
    If you started from custom settings, I think that you should be able to save it as a scenario in worldbuilder, then when you choose "play scenario," you should have the option of turning off the barbarians. (Fairly sure this would work...at least if you have a save from the beginning of the game that you can save as a scenario...)
     
  12. thordk

    thordk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    barbs are interesting on maps like terra. but on most other maps you have to do the tedious task of fending them off your backyard for a couple of turns and then they're gone due to massive expansion of player and AI.

    in most of my custom games i switch barbs off. i don't think they add to the game.
     
  13. jeffreyac

    jeffreyac Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Here's the funny part for me - I like barbs in the abstract, just not in reality. :) That is, I include them in my game, and really do think they add a certain random factor (plus giving the opportunity for early combat) but then consistently get very frustrated at the huge barbarian armies that roll across my borders. It's not so bad when it's warriors and archers, but when the axemen/swordsmen start to show up - things get serious...

    So, fogbust you say? This seems to cost me huge amounts of gold, at a time (early expansion) when I'm strapped for cash anyway (maybe it's just my imagination, but I'm under the impression that units outside your borders cost more upkeep than within. That's what it's seemed like when I've tried to fogbust en masse, anway - I'm sure if I'm mistaken someone will be kind enough to point it out! :p

    Barbs are easy - build your army and crush them you say? Well, again, my problem is the timeframe. I'm still a poor enough player that I struggle to balance early expansion with early military, so I find if I build a force big enough that I fear no barbarians, that means I haven't expanded enough and I'm in trouble in mid game... OK, yeah, use the army to crush my neighbors after the barbs are gone - but I really don't LIKE being a warmonger if I can avoid it!

    But the funny thing is, even after my frustrations, I just can't turn 'em off - I feel like in some way, I'd be cheating to do so. And, every once in a while, when I get the military/expansion balance right, and my chariots are chasing barbs along my borders while my escorted settlers run to prime city spots - those games are just great!!

    So, in summary, I guess I play for the maybe 15% of games where I get the balance right... :) it's a great, fun experience, and in some way getting frustrated the other 85% of the time is the price I pay for it - and, of course, the real reason: I'm hoping that over time I can bring that 15% up as I get better! :)
     
  14. brades

    brades Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Barbs will only spawn in parts of the map you cant see, so if you fan warriors out in a circle around your capital barbs will spawn much further away, or not at all if you have enough fogbusters. The thing i hate the most is when I've got 2 warriors positions with only a little fog between them and next turn a damn barb city pops down there.
     
  15. warpus

    warpus In pork I trust

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    50,544
    Location:
    Stamford Bridge
    Is there a way to get rid of barbs but keep the animals in early game without modding?

    There should be.
     
    pietro1990 likes this.

Share This Page