1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

"Remove District" project

Discussion in 'Civ - Ideas & Suggestions' started by Leyrann, May 3, 2017.

  1. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2,191
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'd like to see a project that requires a certain amount of production but lets you remove a district from it's tile, making it available again. This way putting a district on the wrong tile is still a costly mistake that costs you district production cost as well as district removal cost, but at least it's not permanent, for example if an AI built a holy site on the only spot where you can build an aquaduct.
     
    nzcamel, Manifold, Arlequin and 3 others like this.
  2. Orange1861

    Orange1861 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Gender:
    Male
    I agree, it should be take 5-10 turns so that it is something that will be inconvenient but not the insane permanent.
     
  3. civviefan

    civviefan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Fantastic idea!
     
  4. Infixo

    Infixo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  5. stormerne

    stormerne is just a Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,426
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    It's the same for wonders if, for example, you mistakenly start it off in a low production city next to your high production one.

    I raised a bug report on this with 2K. I said players should be able to repurpose district and wonder tiles, at least during their construction phase. Not to allow that is unnecessarily punitive on the player for what's usually an honest mistake (only fixable by loading a save), and it's completely unrealistic as a parallel of real life.

    The 2K guy was sympathetic and indeed shocked that it was like it was. However, in conversations with the developers, he found out that it was deliberately like that. I was appalled. There should be some way to repurpose it, even if builders have to be involved taking it apart.

    By the way, I found a way round it - for wonders at least - without loading a save. It's pretty crazy and it can't be guaranteed to work because it relies on the proximity of the tile to the edge of your empire and it needs an aggressive neighbor. It's also very disruptive and takes a lot of time. What one can do is this:
    1. Provoke a neighboring civ into declaring war on you.
    2. Withdraw all military units from the city with the aborted wonder.
    3. Encourage the other civ to attack and take that city. When it becomes theirs, the incomplete wonder build will disappear and the tile will become cleared.
    4. Counterattack immediately and retake the city.
    5. Negotiate peace. You can now repurpose the tile.
    I haven't tried this for districts, and in any case you shouldn't have to do this!

    The district system is wonderful. I want to keep it. However, THIS HAS GOT TO CHANGE.
     
  6. Rosty K

    Rosty K Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    306
    Gender:
    Male
    My guess would be that there are some programming-related issues for this.

    And a potential loophole. Of course we'd take cities during the war, remove everything and give them back.

    Though I partially agree, there should at least be a way to cancel the unfinished district completely (or re-purpose it for a penalty), with the cost of the action increasing as the construction progresses (or maybe if we're speaking of a pure human mistake, just don't permanently lock it for 3-5 turns). Though this won't be very compatible with the 'price lock' strategy (see, there's lots of things to consider...).
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  7. Infixo

    Infixo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  8. Amrunril

    Amrunril Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    745
    I think he's concerned about the possibility of capturing a city and removing the districts before returning it, but I don't see how that would be any worse than just razing the city.
     
  9. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2,191
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My personal idea was that you can only do the project for fully completed districts, so no removing districts under construction, and that the project for removing the district would have a production cost equal to what the cost of building a district is at that point. So once you say "yes" when it asks you wheter you want to build that district there, you have to spend twice the production cost to get the district out of the way. This way, it is still a very punishing mistake, but at least it's possible if there's a really special case, like maybe finding out that there's a wonder you want that can only fit on that very spot where you built a Campus 3000 years ago. Additionally, this would make it virtually impossible to use that loophole you mentioned. Occupied cities have halved production, so you'd have to spend twice the time to build the districts to get them out of the way. Considering population loss on capture and no growth, that may easily go towards one hundred turns or even more. Good luck not losing to war weariness before you're done emptying the city.
     
    Infixo likes this.
  10. Turrdy

    Turrdy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    or make the project only available for non-occupied cities!

    another thought: you could also tweak the population needed to build your next district... lets say you have 3 districts and 7 population and you remove a district. then, if you want to build your 3rd district again you'll need population 8 instead of 7. just to make it more undesirable to replace/rebuild a district...
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2017
  11. Rosty K

    Rosty K Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    306
    Gender:
    Male
    Everyone will hate you for razing, but everyone, including the original owner will love you after you return an empty shell of a former city.
     
  12. Infixo

    Infixo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Maybe some warmonger points could be added for removing a district if the city is not yours originally. So, emptying the city would have similar effect as razing from diplomatic perspective. Together with huge cost of emptying process, it would not be worth doing. Or at least in some extreme cases maybe.
     
    Leyrann likes this.
  13. Amrunril

    Amrunril Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    745
    True, but that's an AI problem rather than a city mechanics problem.
     
  14. Manifold

    Manifold ModderProtectionAdvocate

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Yes, that should be possible!

    it is also possible to raze the city if you have conquer it, so there is no problem the demolition of districts.
     
  15. Franc007She

    Franc007She Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Same with the OP. Sometimes I also consider that I have a wrong tile for the district.
     
  16. unpossible251

    unpossible251 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Make it so.
     
  17. zyx

    zyx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    I want districts to be deconstructable too. Sometimes the AI places the districts in a weird way.
     

Share This Page