1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Remove education punishment (rephrased)

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - General Discussions' started by Bad Brett, Oct 1, 2008.

?

Remove education punishment?

  1. Yes, the game is about becoming MORE independent

    34 vote(s)
    85.0%
  2. No, it would ruin the game balance

    3 vote(s)
    7.5%
  3. I don't know / I don't care

    3 vote(s)
    7.5%
  1. Bad Brett

    Bad Brett Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    828
    With the current rules, it takes an absurd amount of turns for the colonists to learn even basic skills like lumberjacking. You shouldn't get punished just because you get your first schoolhouse up and running early and use it to train carpenters and farmers. In my opinion it's idiotic that you should avoid using the schoolhouse/college/university just to save it until it's time to train elder statesmen.

    Basicly, if you train one or twenty carpenters back in 1550, it shouldn't affect the efficiancy of your university 100 years later and it should definately not lower the efficiancy.
     
  2. Roller123

    Roller123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    Heh previous poll was better phrased.
     
  3. The_Dwarf

    The_Dwarf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    To remove the effect completly doesnt make much sense to me because gameplay wise it makes a lot of sense that you cant get everything for cheap.
    However to keep it as it is doesnt make much sense either because its quite a bit overdone and rather unfun.
    So Im missing another voting option like : reduce the effect but dont remove it totally.
     
  4. Bad Brett

    Bad Brett Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    828
    Yes, you're right. Sorry about that.

    The thing is that it would be balanced if Firaxis hadn't removed some elements from the original game. In the original game you needed a size 10 colony and a University to train statesmen. This also (kind of) required that you had no more than 5 torries in the city, since this would lead to inefficiancy.
     
  5. Ar4i

    Ar4i Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    It would be better if just different professions require different amount of education points, also some professions should require collage or university to train (like in col1). That would be a better system. If the current system stays the education penalty should actually REMAIN but get TWEAKED and should depend on difficulty (like 0% on lowest diff and 30%+ on highest).
     
  6. Bad Brett

    Bad Brett Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    828
    This is how it should work:

    The other European powers should be so powerful that you contantly have to fight them back or rush through the game in order to win. In other words, if the game worked like it should, "turtling" would never be an option.

    I would suggest something like this:

    Carpenter: 15 turns in Schoolhouse, 10 turns in College, 5 turns in University
    Blacksmith: 15 turns in College, 10 turns in University
    Statesman: 15 turns in University

    An interesting feature would be that you had to meet certain requirements in every colony with a schoolhouse, college or university. Let's say that you need a source of prime cotton in the colony in order to educate cotton plating and weaving and at least 50% rebel sentiment in a pop 10 colony in order to educate statemen.

    This would force you to build several schoolhouses in order to teach all professions as well as building different kinds of colonies, such as mining towns, farming towns, etc. This would also prevent you from pumping out Statesmen in every colony, because if you have 50% rebel sentiment in most colonies, you shouldn't need any more Statesmen.
     
  7. Rockstone

    Rockstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Nijmegen, NL
    After rephrasing... did the results change?
     
  8. Sashimi917

    Sashimi917 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    How about increasing the amount of money(instead of time) required to train different specialists? That is, the more the statemen you already have trained, the more it would costs for your next stateman. Since you can purchase them at fixed cost from Europe, it makes training statemen less and less profitable. You would end up purchasing them instead of training them eventually. But once the stateman becomes too expensive to train, you can still use your colleges to focus on another profession.
     
  9. Bad Brett

    Bad Brett Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    828
    But this is what's so wrong. The game should be about gaining independence: You shouldn't need your motherland anymore. It feels like you're hearding backwards, that you become more and more dependent on your motherland.

    If anything should increase, it's the price of the experts in the home port:

    Let's set the standard cost of educating a Statesman to 10 turns and 1000 gold, University needed.
    In the beginning of the game, the profit of doing this would be very small, since you can buy a Statesman for 1500 with Peter Minuit. But after a while, if the price went up to 3000, you would be forced to train your own Statesmen

    The game should go in the direction that trading with the motherland becomes LESS profitable. Today, that is not the case.

    And yes, the results has changed quite a lot since rephrasing. My bad. ;) I hope Firaxis get the picture.
     
  10. GodBen

    GodBen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Ireland. Did you not work that out?
    Truer words have never been spoken!

    Okay, so maybe they have. :undecide: But I still think that that is an excellent idea!
     

Share This Page