Removing promotions from units?

Evalis

Prince
I'm really new to lua, and programming in general, but I've gathered together a sampling of what I think I will need to get this to work. There are most likely monstrous issues with the code so I would like some assistance in putting it together before I test this.

Spoiler :
Code:
function Remove_Mounted_Penalty(Player, unitCombatType, Unit)
	local iUnitCombat = unitCombatType
	local pPlayer = Player
	local pUnit = Unit
	if pPlayer:GetTraitType == "No_Mounted_Penalty" and iUnitCombat ==  "UNITCOMBAT_MOUNTED" then
		pUnit:RemovePromotion('PROMOTION_CITY_PENALTY')
		pUnit:RemovePromotion('PROMOTION_NO_DEFENSIVE_BONUSES')
	end
end

Events.SerialEventUnitCreated.Add(Remove_Mounted_Penalty)

Obviously I will create the aforementioned trait in xml. Is this doable?

Is this doable?

I'm assuming this is just pseudocode while you'd look up the actual variables and functions to use. In that case, yes, it can be done.

If you really, really don't want any units for that player to have the mounted penalty promotion, then the code would be more like this:
Code:
function Remove_Mounted_Penalty(iPlayer,iUnit,hexVec,unitType,cultureType,civID,primaryColor,secondaryColor,unitFlagIndex,fogState,selected,military,notInvisible)
	if(iPlayer ~= -1) then
		pPlayer = Players[iPlayer];
		if(iUnit ~= -1) then
			pUnit = pPlayer:GetUnitByID(iUnit);
			pType = pUnit:GetUnitType();
			pCombatClass = GameInfo.Units[pType].CombatClass;
			iLeader = pPlayer:GetLeaderType();
			condition = "LeaderType = '" .. GameInfo.Leaders[iLeader].Type .. "'";
			for row in GameInfo.Leader_Traits(condition) do
				iTrait = row.TraitType;
			end
			if iTrait == "TRAIT_NO_MOUNTED_PENALTY" and pCombatClass == "UNITCOMBAT_MOUNTED" then
				pUnit:SetHasPromotion(GameInfoTypes.PROMOTION_CITY_PENALTY,false);
				pUnit:SetHasPromotion(GameInfoTypes.PROMOTION_NO_DEFENSIVE_BONUSES',false);
			end
		end
	end
end
Events.SerialEventUnitCreated.Add(Remove_Mounted_Penalty)