1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Removing the Prerequisite Building XP "nerf"

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Legends of Revolution' started by justinian66, May 22, 2013.

  1. justinian66

    justinian66 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Anyone know how to change/mod the game in order for buildings like the Barracks, Drydock, and Airbase to give XP to the units that require said buildings in order to be trained? I like this idea of having preq buildings, but whats the point of allowing them to give experience when the units your making aren't even going to benefit from it?

    What files need to be changed in order to fix this problem?
     
  2. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,832
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    I don´t really know, but I guess it´s in the DLL somewhere, so unless you know how to code and compile I wouldn´t recommend you to change anything there.
    The easiest way would probably be via XML either to remove the prereq buildings altogether or make something the prereq that doesn´t give XP itself, like it is already the case for Forges for Heavy Footmen or Industrial Park for Mechanized Infantry.
     
  3. justinian66

    justinian66 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    I was afraid this would be the case :mad:. I have no clue how to do code and modify DLL so I guess I'll just have to settle with removing those requirements from the XML files. Its a shame though, I really liked that feature of requiring certain preq buildings but I cant for the life of me figure out WHY they would make it so those units wouldn't get XP from them...
     
  4. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,832
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    It's only an educated guess on my part, maybe someone who actually knows it comes along and corrects me.

    Realism? Training Pikemen is probably more difficult than training Heavy Swordsman, what it's formations and all.
     
  5. Dragonxander PR

    Dragonxander PR Emperor of the Drakons

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Location:
    Mayagüez, Puerto Rico
    I think that was an unnecessary tweak to the regular game's combat aspect--I want all affected units back to their normal conditions, even if they still have the building prerequisite to build. I would think that, if I have to go through the extra effort of creating a building for the unit, I might as well get a better unit.
     

Share This Page