1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Republic

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Siaphi94, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. Siaphi94

    Siaphi94 Uber king

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    when im in ancient times and middle ages, i use monarchy as my government.
    is republic better? the thing is, the units cost 2 gold for every unit that isnt supported. do you need alot of cities for republic? and can you stil have alot of units? i realize it makes less waste than monarchy but i thought the units would cost too much money.
     
  2. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    If you want a huge army, then monarchy is probably better. Republic is usually the choice, though, cause you usually don't need *that* huge an army...and every citizen pays for another unit on average, at least until they get completely corrupt.
     
  3. MAS

    MAS Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,080
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Look at it this way:
    the bonus of monarchy is 4 free units per city and 2 free units per town

    the bonus of republic is 3 free units per city plus 12 bonus commerce, and 1 free unit per town plus 6 bonus commerce.

    if you set the science slider at 50% your science under republic is as high as 100% under monarchy.

    You could use the 12 commerce to pay for 6 units. So with the same research rate, under republic a size 12 city could support 3+6=9 units. The same city can only support 4 under monarchy.
    With a market, the city can even support 3+((1.5*12)/2)=12 units.

    But you do not need that many units usually, so what is left of the commerce bonus could instead be put in science.
    The bonus of monarchy can only be used for unit upkeep, if you have less than 4 units per city, the bonus will be wasted.
     
  4. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,829
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    MAS, while the general thrust of your analysis is spot-on-the-money, you are exaggerating about the free unit support in Republic. It is .5 units per town and 1.5 per city. Also, some of the additional commerce will be corrupted. It's not always 6 or 12 either because the city may not be at maximum size.

    However, despite all this, it remains true that Republic it still able to support a larger army than Monarchy. Especially since MPs are simply wasted support and wasted shields.
     
  5. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    Are you absolutely certain about this? I'm pretty sure the civilopedia states that towns support 1 unit, cities 3 and metros 4 in C3C Republic. :confused:
     
  6. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,829
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    The maintenance of each unit costs two gold, so one support pays for a half a unit.
     
  7. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    Maint is charged only on the units in excess of the base support. Although this would never actually occur, if you had only 1 town and one unit, your support cost would be zero...1 town and two units, support cost would be 2 gold for that 2nd unit.

    More realistic would be 10 cities (3 base support each) with 30 units and zero unit support. The same 10 cities with 31 units would cost 2 gpt for that 31st unit only.

    I'm pretty sure Republic works that way, unless I've been confused all along. :)
     
  8. Tone

    Tone Chieftain Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    :confused:

    The unit support is the number of units that do not have to be paid for. The cost of any additional units is immaterial. Each city supports 3 units and each town supports 1 unit in Republic.

    A 3 city-5 town Republic can have up to 14 units without cost; not 7 units. Each unit above the 14 will cost 2gpt.

    Edit: crosspost with Harriet. I'm 100% sure that we are right BTW!
     
  9. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,829
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    I just opened a game to check. I had 26 units, ten towns and support costs of 32 gold.

    (26 - 10) * 2 = 32

    So you guys are indeed right. :blush:
     
  10. Siaphi94

    Siaphi94 Uber king

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    ok, i will try republic ;)
     
  11. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    units, of course, include workers.

    under republic, I have noticed that, on average, the core of your civ will make about 2.2-2.5 commerce per citizen, assuming you road everything and make sure you work high commerce tiles like rivers, coast and sugar/tobacco/horses/luxes, which means that as your core cities grow, each citizen can support another unit. This is one of the reasons why republic is better than monarchy - you have more flexibility. Want to war? set your sliders so you make a lot of tax and build a big army, plus you can cash rush, so you can build units without destroying your ability to build more later. Want to research heavily? You can make a smaller army.

    with monarchy, you can have a larger army, but you don't really have the option to make a smaller army and and research faster...
     
  12. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    I used to think Republic sucked but now I think it's pretty good. I am still trying Republic, but have switched to monarchy before a war started. But I think Republic is better if there is no current war happening. Although in C3C it is easier to manage Republic due to the unit support. The extra commerce is also a good help for faster scientific research and more gpt (Gold Per Turn).
     
  13. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    Unless you are playing as a Religious civ, you shouldn't be switching governments more than once per game. You just lose too much gold and production during the anarchy.
     
  14. Delphi456

    Delphi456 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    True, if spoken to someone else. But this is Aceman, know for his 'colorful' wartime strategies...as witnessed by his current warlord game:)
     
  15. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    Oh yes, of course! I should have known. How did I miss that? ;)
     
  16. Siaphi94

    Siaphi94 Uber king

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    i always thought communism was good in the industrial ages. i noticed it had much less waste than monarchy but i dont think i made as mcuh commerence... but you could support a huge army
     
  17. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,829
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    If you want to support a huge army, do what the AI does. Switch to fascism. :rolleyes:
     
  18. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    :lol:

    I am playing as a religous civ - the Iroqoius. I don't know if they are a religous civ in C3C but they are in plain old vanilla :). Which was the only reason why i switched back.
     
  19. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    they aren't religious in CSC - in fact, iroquois changed from expansionist/religious to commercial/seafaring...
     
  20. Desertsnow

    Desertsnow πr²

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Iroquois are commercial and agricultural.
     

Share This Page