1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Request advice on Deity

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by Nimof, Dec 25, 2010.

1. Nimof

Nimof Chieftain

Hi,

I am an old Civ player. I used to play Civ I when it came out. I then played some Civ II and just a few games of Civ IV. Since then I didn't have time to play anymore. Now out of curiosity I started playing againg Civ V. Of course I see that a lot have changed since Civ I... to the better of course. The game has more depth now.

I played one game in Prince just to know the game a bit (Germans I think -not that it matters-). I won, so I just went to play Deity, which is what I always played. After playing some games, I understood that horsemen are overpowered so I won by rushing to horsemen. Not that I could win every game with this strategy though (I would say 1 out of 3). Of course I didn't know much about the game (e.g. the bonus that maritime CS give).

After the patch, I started playing again, but now I have some issues that I would like some advice on. Some of them I faced even in pre patch.

• First of all a quick question. Is there a way to win in every game in Deity? I don't mean by following an strict algorithm, I'm just asking if some of you consistently win (9 out of 10 maybe) on Deity whatever the map and whatever the place you land or civilization you end up having (Deity,Continents,Small map,Random Civ).
    • When I play on Standard maps I get to have time to settle and find some strategy to follow, but on Small maps this is not the case. I have problems finding something to do with opponents that are close to me. Let me share a scenario,