1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Request for advise to enjoy marathon

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Rustonreddit, May 17, 2018.

1. Rustonreddit

Rustonreddit Chieftain

So im fairly new to VP (not to Civ 5) but Ive played a lot these last weeks and recently, after getting used to the new mechanics, Im having difficulties enjoying marathon games.

My last settings:
    • Marathon speed
    • Huge map
    • 20 Civs
    • 20 City States
    • Continents
    • Diety
    • Policy: progress
    • Civ: Ethiopia
    • Human handicap: cant steal workers from City States. Cant declare war on Civ just to steal workers
    • No barbarians. No ancient ruins. No events.
    My issues are 2:
    1. China AI seems to be the only one to do well consistently scientifically and culturally.
    2. After getting libraries (not Great library) my civ manages to catch up in science with the leader. After getting Oracle and the effects of religion belief Way of transcendence for entering Medieval I just snowball and Im too far ahead for any Civ to be a threat scientifically and culturally (only China). I stop playing when Im entering Renaissance (with all medieval done) and most of the other Civs are in early medieval/late classical.
    am I just quitting too soon and the AI can catch up later? is ethiopia too op for marathon? should I ban to myself Oracle and/or Way of Transcendence?