1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Requesting: Victory conditions mod

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by ziamatt, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. ziamatt

    ziamatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    I was wondering, would anyone be able/willing to create a mod that allows you to choose what the victory conditions are for a game for the latest BTS version of the game? I was thinking it might be possible to modify a civilization's behavior by modifying how they can win. Can anyone do this?
     
  2. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    Modding AI is very hard, as for the victories available, you can edit those in the WB file with notepad yourself.
     
  3. ziamatt

    ziamatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    I opened the WB for 3000 BC unlocked in Word (better organized than in Notepad) but I'm not sure how to modify the possible victory conditions. I imagine I need to add a new option, but I'm unsure what to call the option.

    Edit: Never mind, found a tutorial.
     
  4. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    I am not sure if Word will save the file back properly. Probably not.

    Notepad generally sucks, if you want a good program use TextPad or Geany (the latter is kind of tricky since it is designed to do other stuff). You can download both of them for free (use Google to find the sites).
     
  5. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,395
    Sorry to be the Necromancer. Well, not realy, I love hanging out with the dead.
    But has anyone figured out how to remove the generic victory conditions from Ries?
    I realy wish if there was a way to disable things like cultural or time victories.
     
  6. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    You can do that from the WB file, just open it in a good text editor and you will see all the condition in the beginning.
     
  7. JediClemente

    JediClemente Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    You don't need to edit the WB file. In the .ini file located in the mod folder, enable the CustomScenario option.

    Also, it's better to use Wordpad instead of Notepad or Word.
     
  8. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,395
    So it will work if I just eather edit the map to disable the VC or load the scenarion as a custom scenario?
    That almost sounds too simple.
    Thanks people.
     
  9. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    I am not sure if opening RFC as custom scenario would work, there is just so much inbuilt into python and C++. I would go for the WB, IMHO it is the easiest and surest way to do it.
     
  10. JediClemente

    JediClemente Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    I've been playing with custom scenario for a long time, just for enabling the new random seed with reload.

    It can be a bad thing if you change options like "always peace" or "raging barbarians", as RFC is hardcoded in some ways, but if you don't touch that it's just fine.
     
  11. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,395
    Is there any way to modify an existing save file to remove certain victory conditions?
     
  12. 3Miro

    3Miro Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,480
    Location:
    Knoxville USA
    I don't think there is an easy way to do that. You are probably better off going into the World Builder and adding/removing units/cities/techs to get what you want.
     
  13. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,395
    That is not going to get rid of unwanted victory conditions.
     

Share This Page