1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Reverting animal XP farm for solo play (2.8 -> 2.7)

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by Aerials, Jul 26, 2020.

1. Aerials

Aerials Chieftain

Hi Guys, i love the improvements added with 2.8 but i really hate the removal of XP from animals on land and sea.
    i have been playing colonization since 1994 and cant believe how much better you guys made the mod than either of the official games. i have played WTP for about 400 hours (100% against AI only) and always loved farming animals on scouts for XP etc. i have tried to edit the files myself to remove the XP cap but cant get it to work (no animals spawn or XP still doesnt get earned, and i have 15 errors when launching the game)

the removal of XP from animals kills my enjoyment so much that i have reverted to 2.7 even though i love changes introduced in 2.8.
    is it possible to add a toggle for animal XP farming at the game start menu or can someone on the forums help me to change my own game files?

Thanks a lot

2. devolution

devolution Prince

For 2.8 You can revert to the old behavior (i.e. no XP cap) by modifying the ANIMAL_MAX_XP_VALUE value (which is 2 by default) in Assets/XML/GlobalDefinesAlt.xml. Just set it to a very high number.
    Be warned: the AI is not capable of XP farming, so you will likely give yourself a significant advantage.

3. Aerials

Aerials Chieftain

I initially tried that (set to 200) but animals still awarded 0 XP when killed

edit: tried again with a fresh install of col and fresh install of mod, edited the XML to have xp cap set to 200. No wild animals will spawn on any map