1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Revolutions: Financial Troubles

Discussion in 'RoM Strategy & Tips' started by os79, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Hello,

    I had been playing a game at Noble difficulty level with Revolutions on. At one point, it warned me that revolution was in air, so I checked why. It said something to do with financial trouble.

    Now get this: my finances before I went into panic mode to bribe the city was at least stable. I had ample gold to deal with potential events and was teching at max till I hit my preferred minimum of gold, then I scale down to 5% of research scaler to get to my maximum gold stockpile. So it seemed stable to me. But the game yelped, "Financial Trouble!"

    So my question is:

    WHAT THE !@#$ IS FINANCIAL TROUBLES???
     
  2. winthrowe

    winthrowe Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    It has been my experience that binary research like that can make things more difficult; any time that the combined sliders are below 70% or so, revolutions seems to complain about the financial trouble, even if you have the economy to keep the sliders high. I tend to avoid binary research unless I have lots of headroom in stability.
     
  3. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    they hate binary research! I believe it has to do with how much money you are burning through in proportion to how much you have
     
  4. generalstaff

    generalstaff Steadfast

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    California
    I share those frustrations, but never had to go even close to that low for research. Of course, I always feel like I never have enough cities early on, and I always play with Ancient Age/Advanced Start (gives a good initial gold stockpile).
     
  5. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Before I forget...

    I found the solution.

    No :):):):):):):):) about binaries, etc....

    It is simply a matter of formula:
    35+(100*ERA)=Gold in the Treasury should be the goal (or more) to avoid Financial Troubles.
    NOTE: Era=0 with Ancient, so count it up from that :D.
    NOTE #2: Credits to Afforess for the answer :D!
     
  6. digitCruncher

    digitCruncher Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,012
    Oh... so wait...

    In order to prevent that annoying 'financial trouble' penalty, which ALWAYS happened to me, and I never knew what was wrong about it... all I need to do is have a huge amount of money in the treasury...

    It doesn't do anything about GPT?

    I might try this... thankyou so so so much!!

    I assume Classical == 1, Medieval == 2, and Reinnecance (sp.) == 3?? I would think it would increase much faster than that though...

    *Gets 335 gold*
     
  7. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    According to Afforess' interpretation/understanding of the code, yes :). I will test it out later when I come to that situation in later eras :).
     
  8. Traks

    Traks Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    I got 550 in Medieval Era and that is not good enough.
    While I like revolutions idea, I am disabling Revolutions Mod for this and many other reasons.
    I will keep Mankind mod, I just love getting a lot of technologies.
     
  9. Nefelia

    Nefelia Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    That formula is way off. I had to get 400,000+ gold in the modern era to completely rid myself of the "financial trouble" effect.

    I haven't taken a look at the code, but from my gaming experience it seems that the larger the empire, the more gold you need in the treasury to stave off financial troubles. You are not likely to get rid of it until end game, but you can lower its impact by building up your treasury throughout the game. I usually aim to always keep a positive income unless in the most dire need for a certain technology.
     
  10. civ-wrecked

    civ-wrecked Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    I tried ROM for the first time a few days ago but gave up since I couldn't figure out how to deal with all the rebellions which seemed to be out of my control (a bad thing for strategy game where the whole point is to have a good handle on the planning). Now, with this info, I will try again :)

    BTW, is there a way to turn the whole rebellion thing off ? I guess it might unbalance the game as many of the government/social choices are based upon the stability factor. Turning it off entirely will make one choice much better than another.
     
  11. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Go to custom game and you can turn Revolutions off.
     
  12. digitCruncher

    digitCruncher Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,012
    As I said before: National Stability is worth peanuts to Local Stability. Since money woes cause massive national stability, it isn't too much of a problem.

    In addition, this is of an OLD revolutions code. ROM now has new Revolutions code in which :mad: is MUCH more likely to cause rebellions (and also causes LOCAL rebellion), and money woes causes much LESS problems than it did before.

    But if you are having trouble with your ROM game in stability, why don't you just post a summary of your game on these forums? Make judicious use of the hover-text on the revolutions bar, and try to get as few of those negative revolutions factors as possible.

    You also need to switch out of the default civics, into something good ASAP. Tribalism and the default government civics are especially bad. Aiming for Democracy quickly will do you alot of good, especially if you limit your growth (switching into a free nation will cause a significant amount of :mad: in your larger cities. I think it is supposed to symbolise the elite getting annoyed at the freedoms of the plebs or something...)
     
  13. SamV

    SamV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Is there any way to adjust this problem myself? Because I got 650 gold in the classic era and think that should be enough~
     
  14. civ-wrecked

    civ-wrecked Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    I just downloaded ROM a few days ago so I'm sure I have the newer version :). My rebellion problem was local in the occupied cities. An additional problem in my case was that, after I took those cities, another civ built some cities in between and cut off my main cities from the occupied cities. That left my small number of troops stranded in the 3 rebellious cities since there was no Open Border agreement and I had enough rebellion problem to deal with to think of another war. I did fix all of the social choices to reduce stability and bribed two out of the three occupied cities but the occupied capital refused to take bribe.

    I started another game and I got rebellion in my second city without any clear reason I could figure out. This was very early in the game. I think I used advanced start and had two cities to begin with (that could be a problem from what I learned about stability factors now). There weren't any social choices at that point.

    I'll try that next time :). I just turned off the revolution mod and tried ROM again. There are a lot of options to get familiar with in ROM and adding stability on top of all that is too much for me to handle. I play at Monarch level, maybe I should lower it also to gain some familiarity with the game first.

    I did pick all the civis which improved stability available to me. I think the only thing in the "Bad" column at the end was the financial problem in the occupied cities. Everything else was good.
     
  15. Tapok

    Tapok Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Is there any way of keeping Revolutions whilst disabling or reducing the intensity of this particular effect, possibly through editing files? I like the concept of the Revolutions component but "financial troubles", coupled with the near universality of instability in Civics choices, is a little debilitating.
     
  16. IPEX-731BA5DD06

    IPEX-731BA5DD06 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,742
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Just to revive this Thread.

    Financial Troubles, Bah Humbug. I use Specialist, combined with Slider and building Multipliers. I.E. a Library, a Scribe? for 3 Scientist, with an Observatory for a 4th. Civics can further boost this, up to 85%.

    I've noted this 'Financial trouble' quote. But as I'm virtually slider independent, I've never worried about it. Always thought it a quirk. Number of Cities that can replicate this Formula is the Key I've found.

    On Rebellion, yes initially a new city will have an index of 300-500, increasing, due to distance, lack of buildings etc. But Core civics, religion, garrison etc, will quickly bring most down to Zero along with the rest of my Empire.

    That last Civ I conquer on my Continent (Playing Continents) will cause any new cities to join in the rebellion. One solution I have (the only one currently) is to bribe, garrison and build buildings till I can adopt the proper civics.

    Senate, Republic and State Church are probably the best, rebellions will still occur, due to distance, but further civics and empire development will eliminate this.

    This is NOT debilitating its a Challenge in management, development and Conquest. Not some Prissy conquer all, and gain instant 100% Cohesion.
     

Share This Page