Rewarding Long Term Policy Commitments

Amrunril

Emperor
Since I started playing Civ VI, I’ve gradually come to the realization that, while I enjoy the new civics tree system, I really miss the customization provided by Civ V’s policy system. Playing the same civ but opening with two different policy trees felt like playing two different civs, and even a later game choice, like taking Patronage instead of Commerce, would be a major influence on your subsequent decisions. In replacing permanent civics with temporary policies, Civ VI gives up much of this long term customization. A civ running Colonization will, to be sure, play differently than one running Serfdom, but only until the next civic comes around, at which point those strategies are as likely to be reversed as kept. A few policies, like Scripture (+100% Holy Site adjacency bonuses) do lend themselves to longer term specialization, but such policy choices are very much the exception rather than the rule.