Rewriting "CulturePerGarrisonedUnit" into "FaithPerGarrisonedUnit"

FieryCharizard7

Chieftain
Hello all,

I'm working on an Italian Wonders modpack, and for one wonder, I want to implement something similar to the "Military Caste" social policy where the empire would gain +1 Faith for every unit garrisoned in a city. I have been trying to find the original LUA code from the game and simply repurpose that code for my needs, but I haven't seen it around so I am guessing it is proprietary.

I figured I would have to use LUA to do this, but I'm still a bit of a beginner with LUA (though I understand other languages like Java, C, and XML).

Code:
local iSuperWew = GameInfoTypes.BUILDING_WONDER_OF_THE_WEW
local iNotEnoughLads = GameInfoTypes.BUILDING_DUMMY_LADS
function Wowlads(iPlayer)
    local pPlayer = Players[iPlayer]
    for pCity in pPlayer:Cities() do
        pCity:SetNumRealBuilding(iNotEnoughLads, 0)
        if pPlayer:GetBuildingClassCount(iSuperWew) > 0 then
            if pCity:GetGarrisonedUnit() ~= nil then
                pCity:SetNumRealBuilding(iNotEnoughLads, 1)
            end
        end
    end
end
GameEvents.PlayerDoTurn.Add(Wowlads)
Make dummy building that produce +1 faith and this code should work.

Last edited:
Vanilla effects aren't handled in Lua - they're handled in the DLL game engine, which is impractical to edit.

Something similar to Enginseer's function would do as you want - although rather than using a dummy social policy it'd be better to run a function that makes sure the player still owns the wonder, because otherwise the wonder changing hands would make no difference.

Code:
local iSuperWew = GameInfoTypes.BUILDING_WONDER_OF_THE_WEW
local iNotEnoughLads = GameInfoTypes.BUILDING_DUMMY_LADS
function Wowlads(iPlayer)
    local pPlayer = Players[iPlayer]
    if pPlayer:GetBuildingClassCount(iSuperWew) > 0 then
        for pCity in pPlayer:Cities() do
            if pCity:GetGarrisonedUnit() ~= nil then