RFC Classical World

Discussion in 'RFC mod-mod: Classical World' started by srpt, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    the Arabs not spawning more likely is due to some other unrelated python tripping up.

    I like the idea of provincial capitals. maybe not making cores but helping stability and maintenance.

    I think I fixed that event so the rewards are applicable to this mod. I will check.

    EDIT:

    svn 236

    took out my tester code which automatically did the Christian split in 333AD

    EDIT2:

    svn 237

    minor python fixes
     
  2. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    Some civs spawn after the end of the mod?
     
  3. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    oops. that should be 880AD
     
  4. Brew

    Brew Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Hello srpt, so glad you are back - this has become my favorite mod so I'm excited about further developments.

    I downloaded the svn and I think the food nerf is just too much. I was skeptical when you decreased the farm bonus to +1 food, but the additional food for tiles bordering the city really changed the dynamic (especially with limitations on cottage building) and I loved it. However this change seems like it will cripple growth. Perhaps I don't fully understand how it is meant to work, and perhaps there is a bug, but I did a Tang start and, for example, the farm just west of Chang'an yields 2 food, while the cottage tiles (in other cities) yield just 1. It seems like it will take an eternity to grow, and even then there will be only enough food to spare to work 2 specialists even in cities with several food resources.
    Essentially, I think cities need to have more than one or two tiles that yield more than 2 food without "The Plough", especially if cottages will only provide 1 food.
    There are a few other things I've been meaning to bring up, but they are trivial compared to this, so I'll wait and see what you have to say before I bombard you with more. Thanks so much for all of your hard work!!

    - Just went back and can see that the yield is different in the city screen than the map. The farm just west of Chang'an says 3 food on the map, but only 2 in the city screen. It is similarly short for the cottage just NW. I still think it's too low, though. I understand the concept as it applies to commerce and production to compensate for the longer game, and I realize population growth must be slowed accordingly, but this seems a bit too powerful.
    -My suggestions:
    - Remove the limitation on (only) food for distant tiles, or
    - Leave the limitation and reintroduce the extra food for tiles adjacent to the city, or
    - Leave the limitation and change the farm yield back to +2 food

    - I prefer the 2nd option
     
  5. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    I agree about the food. I have been thinking that for a while. I think adding 1 to farms is best.

    I didn't think there were disagreements between the city screen and the map. in my current game all is correct. I have noticed that loading old saves could make for odd results.
     
  6. Brew

    Brew Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Adding 1 more food to farms sounds good to me. Thanks for the quick response. I'll watch for that weird cityscreen/worldmap disagreement and let you know if I see it again.
    I'm excited to try out the new features - hope you can update the svn soon.
     
  7. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    svn 239

    farms are now +2 food

    updated the religions on the 550AD map

    made the Byzantines like religious techs more. on recent Visigoth and Vandal starts I've rolled the schism had already taken place.
     
  8. Rafaelito

    Rafaelito Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    how about the arabian? will they spawn now ?
     
  9. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    they should. if they don't, give me a save from just before they are supposed to.
     
  10. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,385
    Here are screenshots:

    Spoiler :





    Looks like limit for Rome is 12 workers.
     
  11. Brew

    Brew Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Played a little with the new svn - here are some thoughts:

    Spoiler :
    With less food available per city, growth will be slowed, but cities will also not be able to grow as large as before. I am ok with redetermining what constitutes a big city in this game, but I think it will really lessen the number of great people that civs are able to spawn during the course of a game.
    The change has hurt some cities more than others just due to where resources are located. Constantinople at least will need a boost, but that's just an example.

    I've always wanted to see population values be more realistic. It looks like Rome can max at about a size 15 now, perhaps that can be set at 1,000,000. Currently it is 225,000.

    The Gupta UU doesn't cause collateral damage.

    I don't think the Han UP works - granaries and settlers are more expensive for them than the Bactrians.

    I'd like to see Chang'an get a food boost - it should be the largest city in the world for much of the game and currently doesn't come close. I'd also really like to see it as the Tang capital, given how important it was to the dynasty, even though they launched their rebellion from Taiyuan.

    I'm sure I remember you intentionally putting a limit on workers when someone mentioned the AI having huge stacks of them roaming around. I never had a problem with it, but now that production is more limited slaves will be needed more for rushing and thus can't be used as much for improvements.
    Perhaps you could increase the slave rushing value to 50 now that buildings are more expensive and textile factories have been removed.

    The game is now definitely going to be harder, but that's not necessarily bad.
     
  12. Brew

    Brew Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    More thoughts:
    Spoiler :
    Also, haven't seen Master Artisans or Master Tradesmen in any of the late games I've played recently (haven't gotten that far on this svn version). They used to be everywhere when I played Arab games. I also just noticed that an Artisans' Quarter by 200 AD is an option for the Kushan UHV. I've only ever seen those companies after 750 - should they be around earlier?

    It might seem trivial, but is there anything that can be done about the city graphics for Constantinople? It really is an eyesore.

    Charcoal is a requirement for a building (can't remember which), but as I understand it the resource has been removed.

    The Buddhas of Bamiyan have no effect.

    The House of Wisdom and Alchemist Lab are not buildable despite the civilopedia saying they are. If you hadn't originally intended to include the HOW, I think you have to now that the end date is pushed further back. The date change also has ramifications for the orientation of the Arab game (Umayyad vs. Abbasid and the inclusion of Baghdad), but that can wait.

    Damascus is another city that really needs a food boost now.
     
  13. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,760
    Welcome back! Why you didn't tell us about your plans? :( We were waiting and waiting! :beer:
     
  14. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    hi Tigranes.

    I had totally forgotten about the worker limit. yes I will remove it.

    I will look over the companies code.

    I'm not sure what you mean about Constantinople. can you explain?

    I took out the HoW both because it was built by the Abbasids and because there were too many Islamic wonders compared to other religions. the end date was extended just to prvide a round number and provide late civ players with a few more turns, not to include the Abbasids. in this mod the Arab civ represents the Umayyads and the implicit assumption in playing them is that the Abbasids revolt either never happens or is defeated. I should now include it as a non-playable spawn though, to be fair.

    increasing slave-rushing hammers is a good idea. I didn't touch it when I changed the game speed.

    I haven't been able to think of a good effect for the Buddhas of Bamiyan. any ideas anyone?

    I will fix the charcoal thing

    I have never looked at the game pop vs real pop thing but I will. Rome = 15 = 1,000,000 sounds perfect to me.

    I will look at those other cities and maybe move some resources.

    and I will look into:

    Tang capital switch to Chang'an

    Gupta UU

    Han UP
     
  15. Brew

    Brew Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Sorry for being vague - Currently Constantinople has Indian city graphics instead of Roman.

    For the Buddhas maybe they could give a boost to priests in all cities - like +1 gold, for example.

    I understand what you mean about the Abbasids. For me, though, they are one of the most fascinating civilizations ever, and the extended date got me excited about the possibility. Maybe one day far down the road...
     
  16. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    524
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Or maybe to double the effects of priests in cities with Buddhism that you control. Or +1 happiness to every city with Buddhism that you control.

    You could add the Mausoleum of Theodoric for another christian wonder, and Trajan's wall for a Hellenistic one
     
  17. Cetrix

    Cetrix Merovingian

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Regnum Francorum
    Welcome back srpt ! Glad to see you again.

    About the worker "act like a great engineer" bug :
    - played the Bactrians and the Parths
    - can hurry palace, and minor wonders (didnt try anything else)
     
  18. Rafaelito

    Rafaelito Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi,


    i have recently started a new game, with the latest update, as Byzantines
    However, i´ve started from 320 BC, and when i´ve finally spawn, my "inflation" was about 350 gold per turn, which gives me a -300 GOLD even with 100% gold slide bar, even adopting the trade civic which gives me +1 trade route.
    So in this case, the game was unplayable.
    How to fix it ?
     
  19. srpt

    srpt Deist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Toronto
    svn 240

    fixed the city artstyle map, Byzantium is mediterranean now.

    removed the worker limit

    nerfed Rome's food a bit and buffed Xian's

    about the Byzantine inflation, was that from a 220AD start? inflation in the 390s AD in my current Byz game is 187

    I still cannot reproduce the worker as slave bug. can you post a save?
     
  20. Cetrix

    Cetrix Merovingian

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Regnum Francorum
    That's OK now, I don't know why. Workers can't hurry production with the new version.

    And by the way, I like the new 3rd Greco-Bactrian UHV, the slowest years-by-turn and the new river crossing system.

    Did you fix the indy city production ? Because there are less troops now at Samarcand and Takshashila (and it's fine, it was so hard before to take those cities !).
     

Share This Page