1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RFCE: Civilopedia Texts

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: Europe' started by merijn_v1, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    We would be realy grateful if you want to do that.

    Currently, no one is doing any tranlations. So you can go ahead. You don't have to worry about overwriting someone translations.

    Just send me the translations and I will make sure they will be included in the mod.
     
  2. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    Ok, i will begin as soon as possible.

    How do i send you my translation?
     
  3. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Just put the text files in a zip and upload them in this thread.
     
  4. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    I found something wrong with TXT_KEY_AD

    In file consts.py

    tYear = ( # for Dawn of Man starting screen
    ("500", "TXT_KEY_AD"),
    ("500", "TXT_KEY_AD"),
    ("635", "TXT_KEY_AD"),
    ("680", "TXT_KEY_AD"),
    ...


    In file CIV4GameText_RFCE_General.xml

    <TEXT>
    <Tag>TXT_KEY_AD</Tag>
    <English>AD</English>
    <French>ap. J.-C.</French>
    <German>n. Chr.</German>
    <Italian>d.C.</Italian>
    <Spanish>d.C.</Spanish>
    <Portuguese>DC</Portuguese>
    </TEXT>


    in game



    It should be 500 d.C., with italian TXT_KEY_AD, not 500AD.
     
  5. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    I solved the mistery!!!

    In file CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml

    <CivilizationInfo>
    <Type>CIVILIZATION_BYZANTIUM</Type>
    <Description>TXT_KEY_CIV_BYZANTIUM_DESC</Description>
    <ShortDescription>TXT_KEY_CIV_BYZANTIUM_SHORT_DESC</ShortDescription>
    <Adjective>TXT_KEY_CIV_BYZANTIUM_ADJECTIVE</Adjective>
    <Civilopedia>TXT_KEY_CIV_BYZANTIUM_PEDIA</Civilopedia>
    <!-- 3Miro Begin Update -->
    <StartingYear>500AD</StartingYear>
    <LoadingTime>0</LoadingTime>
    <UP1>TXT_KEY_UP_BYZ</UP1>
    <UP2>TXT_KEY_UP_BYZ2</UP2>
    <UHV1>TXT_KEY_UHV_BYZ1</UHV1>
    <UHV2>TXT_KEY_UHV_BYZ2</UHV2>
    ...



    Translation is not possible in this way.
     
  6. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    An this is the code in CvGameTextMgr.cpp
    Code:
    [COLOR="Green"]		// 3Miro: for starting years
    		//if (GET_PLAYER((PlayerTypes)EGYPT).isPlayable()) { //late start condition
    			// 3Miro: staring year vallue
    			//szText = startingYear[eCivilization];[/COLOR]
    		szText = GC.getCivilizationInfo(eCivilization).getStartingYear();
    			[COLOR="Green"]//if (startingEra[eCivilization])
    				//szText += gDLL->getText("TXT_KEY_AD"); // 3Miro: AD only
    			//else
    			//	szText += gDLL->getText("TXT_KEY_BC");
    		//	}
    [/COLOR]
    

    I can easily correct this piece of code to manage TXT_KEY_AD and all StartingYear as well.

    Let me know.
     
  7. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I don't mind if you want to do that. However, absinthered (the other modder) has some major updates in the C++ code ready. I think it's better if you wait for him to release that, to avoid merging problems. Unfortunately, the code can't be released yet as it has some bugs in it.


    However, it seems you have coding capabilities. If you want, you can also do coding for us. It might not be a bad idea if you help absinthe with his bughunting. (I can't help him with that, unfortunately. I have hardly any knowledge about C++)
     
  8. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    I'm a software developer indeed.
    I can read and understand code.

    I'm not so able to write code for modding civ as well because i don't know how to manage with civ engine, but i can easily modify or improve a previous implemented function like this one that displays the starting year.

    Let the other guy do his work. I'll proceed with XML translation.
     
  9. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Canada
    Just saying, he's been trying to fix that bug for the last several months, so I think so help would probably be highly appreciated.
     
  10. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    I found some text translated with google :eek: :cry:

    Please don't do it.

    Italian sections of file CIV4GameText_RFCE_Bonuses.xml are written in googlitalian. :lol:

    I'm afraid other foreing languages in that file were translated in the same way.

    I'm cutting all italian text and rewriting them in a correct and readable way.
     
  11. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    That's certainly possible. But as the rest of us can check if it's correct or not, we just assume it's a proper translation and include it.
     
  12. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    New question: leader Joan of Arc and Maria II of Portugal are in RFCE_Leaders.XML, but there is no <gender> for them.

    They are female and this is important in some languages like italian.

    Other Female leaders like Elizabeth have their gender in that file.

    Have i to modify XML and insert a <gender> entry for them?
    How can i make them appair in the game in order to check?
     
  13. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    If you want, go ahead. I will include that too when I get the files.

    If you find something else, you can change that as well. I can see what you exactly changed when I get the files.
     
  14. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    Another trouble.

    This is a piece of wonders screen:



    The word "with" should use TXT_KEY_WITH_SPACE defined in %CIVILIZATION_DIR%\Assets\XML\Text\CIV4GameTextInfos.xml and be customized in other languages.

    I'm afraid there is another python script where "with" has been hard coded instead.

    Same for "History" but i was not yet able to find it.
     
  15. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    About the "history"
    Can you check if this problem also accounts for the unit page? If it displays correctly their, I know how to fix it.
    Are their more pages with this problem?


    Fixed it. Checked it for the other pages as well. I will upload the changes to the SVN.
     
  16. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    Great!
    Let me know when i can update.
     
  17. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    If you have SVN, now. I have already uploaded it to SVN.

    You can keep track of the progress here:
    http://sourceforge.net/p/rfceurope/code/HEAD/tree/
    You can either remember the revision your on or look at the time the last update has been made.

    If you don't have SVN you have to wait until the next full version release.
     
  18. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    I don't know if i can tell about sound and voices in this topic.
    I did not look for a specific topic about sound and speech. :blush:

    This is the matter.
    I played some games for test driving Venetians and Genoans (Italian civs) and i heard italian speech in unit orders.

    That's great but...
    ...but nobody spoke Italian in Medieval Ages. :lol:

    In folder Asset\Sounds\units i found some ItalyOrder*.wav files.

    How did you make it? They are not part of original Civ neither original RFC.
     
  19. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,601
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    We didn't create it ourselves. They are borrowed from another mod or something. I think some civfans created them once and shared them.
     
  20. rmontaruli

    rmontaruli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi there, i'm still alive! :p

    My italian translation is going on.

    There is an unclear point. :confused:

    In wonders file, the entry TXT_KEY_BUILDING_GOLDEN_BULL

    the existing english text tells about a "Golden Bull of 1222 issued by King Andrew II of Hungary"


    the existing german text tells about a Goldene Bulle von 1356 war das wichtigste der "Grundgesetze" des Heiligen Römischen Reiches (The Golden Bull of 1356 was the most important law of the Holy Roman Empire)

    One of the two descriptions is about a wrong bull.

    I guess the English one is the right one, but i'm here to ask... :confused:
     

Share This Page