1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's and Fall Crashes After a While

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by ShahJahanII, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    So I start up the game as the Dutch, play for about 2 minutes, and everything works fine so far.
    Then, the game crashes and I get this error:


    I am playing on a Windows 7, the game itself works fine:(
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    Which version do you use? Any modmods?
     
  3. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    No modmods, the Bts version: The one that came with the game.
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    I don't know about those early versions. Maybe you should try to download the latest version of RFC here and see if the problem persists.
     
  5. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I will try that.
    Thank you.
     
  6. trexeric

    trexeric (or backwards 'cirexert')

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Same thing happens to me... only sometimes though. (And it only seems to happen when I am playing a very good game!!!)
     
  7. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Mine isn't constant either.
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    Something else you could do is enable logging. You can do this by opening My Games/Beyond the Sword/CivilizationIV.ini and there set "enableLogging = 1".

    When your game crashes for the next time, go to My Games/Beyond the Sword/Logs/ and upload the PythonDbg.txt file found there here.
     
  9. HurriCline

    HurriCline Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Paris of Appalachia
    I also have the exact same problem that ShahJahan is having. The only difference is that I am playing DoC v1.72 with BTS patch 3.19 (manually downloaded). Sometimes I can play an entire game (while saving and restarting over a period of a couple of days), but most times it ends up crashing, even if I save and restart a few turns before the initial crash. It happens with every civ I attempt to play with as well. I have tried to enable logging but I cannot acess the BAK file. Is there something I can do to fix this crashing problem, Leoreth?
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    Are you're sure you're using 1.72 and not 1.73? If so, an update to 1.73 might worth a try (it included a fix for the respawns which might have caused the problems you're having).

    If that didn't do it, when do the crashes happen? Random years, or some specific dates?
     
  11. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    When I started with the Netherlands, it crashed.
    Then, I started with Japan and switched to the Netherlands and it lasted a little longer.
    I don't know the specific dates but I wasn't able to get out of my home country.
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    Sounds like you have problems with the respawns. Try updating to 1.73.
     
  13. HurriCline

    HurriCline Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Paris of Appalachia
    Updating to v1.73 seems to have worked. I am playing a game as the Dutch and have made it to the late 1800's with no problem. Thank you very much :D
     
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    Great :)
     
  15. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Could you post a link?
     
  16. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    If you use DoC 1.72, there a patch in this post.

    Else you have to download the whole modmod anew.
     
  17. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    And can you tell me how to install this?
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth Vampire of the Blue Moon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,731
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Paris
    I don't know if that's the right solution for you, you seem to be playing vanilla RFC.

    DoC is a modmod that makes a number of changes. To install it, simply download the RAR file and unpack it into your Beyond the Sword/Mods/ folder.
     
  19. happysheep

    happysheep Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    新加坡
    I also have the same problem, made it to 1793 as the greeks on the latest verion of RFC with no modmods, no problem, but then I am stuck on that turn. Whenever I press next turn, it spends a long time loading, and then crashes. Tried Wbing barb warriors around the map so that they get killed and change the RNG and lowering the graphics settings, but it still crashes. Attached below is the savefile.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, I can reproduce the crash when loading your save file.
    Sorry, I don't know why it crashes.
     

Share This Page