1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's and Fall Crashes After a While

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by ShahJahanII, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    South Florida
    So I start up the game as the Dutch, play for about 2 minutes, and everything works fine so far.
    Then, the game crashes and I get this error:


    I am playing on a Windows 7, the game itself works fine:(
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    Which version do you use? Any modmods?
     
  3. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    South Florida
    No modmods, the Bts version: The one that came with the game.
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    I don't know about those early versions. Maybe you should try to download the latest version of RFC here and see if the problem persists.
     
  5. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    South Florida
    I will try that.
    Thank you.
     
  6. trexeric

    trexeric (or backwards 'cirexert')

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,521
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Same thing happens to me... only sometimes though. (And it only seems to happen when I am playing a very good game!!!)
     
  7. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    South Florida
    Mine isn't constant either.
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    Something else you could do is enable logging. You can do this by opening My Games/Beyond the Sword/CivilizationIV.ini and there set "enableLogging = 1".

    When your game crashes for the next time, go to My Games/Beyond the Sword/Logs/ and upload the PythonDbg.txt file found there here.
     
  9. HurriCline

    HurriCline Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Paris of Appalachia
    I also have the exact same problem that ShahJahan is having. The only difference is that I am playing DoC v1.72 with BTS patch 3.19 (manually downloaded). Sometimes I can play an entire game (while saving and restarting over a period of a couple of days), but most times it ends up crashing, even if I save and restart a few turns before the initial crash. It happens with every civ I attempt to play with as well. I have tried to enable logging but I cannot acess the BAK file. Is there something I can do to fix this crashing problem, Leoreth?
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    Are you're sure you're using 1.72 and not 1.73? If so, an update to 1.73 might worth a try (it included a fix for the respawns which might have caused the problems you're having).

    If that didn't do it, when do the crashes happen? Random years, or some specific dates?
     
  11. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    South Florida
    When I started with the Netherlands, it crashed.
    Then, I started with Japan and switched to the Netherlands and it lasted a little longer.
    I don't know the specific dates but I wasn't able to get out of my home country.
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    Sounds like you have problems with the respawns. Try updating to 1.73.
     
  13. HurriCline

    HurriCline Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Paris of Appalachia
    Updating to v1.73 seems to have worked. I am playing a game as the Dutch and have made it to the late 1800's with no problem. Thank you very much :D
     
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    Great :)
     
  15. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    South Florida
    Could you post a link?
     
  16. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    If you use DoC 1.72, there a patch in this post.

    Else you have to download the whole modmod anew.
     
  17. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,842
    Location:
    South Florida
    And can you tell me how to install this?
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    I don't know if that's the right solution for you, you seem to be playing vanilla RFC.

    DoC is a modmod that makes a number of changes. To install it, simply download the RAR file and unpack it into your Beyond the Sword/Mods/ folder.
     

Share This Page