1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's Earth map (180x180)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - User-created Maps' started by Rhye, Dec 2, 2003.

?

Rate this map

  1. 5/5: The best Earth map ever made

    56 vote(s)
    32.9%
  2. 4/5: One of the best maps, it still needs improvements

    86 vote(s)
    50.6%
  3. 3/5: Nothing particular compared to other Earth maps

    15 vote(s)
    8.8%
  4. 2/5: The level of details sucks

    1 vote(s)
    0.6%
  5. 2/5: The projection sucks

    3 vote(s)
    1.8%
  6. 1/5: Please study mapmaking before posting again

    9 vote(s)
    5.3%
  1. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    31 Civs on this map are really too :eek:

    Can you split this map in "ancients" and "moderns" Civs like in your mod ?
     
  2. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I foresee hard times.....Conquests seems to be twice slower than standard and PTW, even with the same map and the same number of civs. And the situation gets worse if you consider that instead of 16 I'll set 21 ancient / 21 modern in the same time (or 23 / 23). Loading times will be probably halved anyway, but I'm not sure that I'll reach peaks like 96%, as in standard/PTW Rhye's of Civilization. Probably I'll reach a good 80%
     
  3. Kal-el

    Kal-el Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
    this is really excellent work.
     
  4. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Thank you, Kal-El :)

    Please vote if you still haven't
     
  5. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    How could you reduce time of load turn for turn ???
    By particular settings ? Please apply these settings !

    You will made the two maps when ?

    Because i love your earth :love:

    Can you change name of civ and cities names ?

    example : "ancient" : açoka empire, rome, aztec, han empire ...
    "modern" : india , italia , mexico, ming empire ...

    other example : cemenelum --> nice, massalia --> marseille

    reworking cities names and civs names and create civs for ancient or modern will be cool :egypt: !

    I prefer psycholgic work than graphic changes but if we have both ... :goodjob:
     
  6. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Due to the high number of volcanos in this map, I realized that there are three-four eruptions per turn.
    So I raised the number 5000 in the editor to 100000 (the maximum) and uploaded the new file.
    If anybody has the old, please re-download it (version hasn't changed)
     
  7. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    The settings for reducing loading times are many, and right now I can't explain them. In the readme of my mod there's everything written:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=46415

    the update should feature:

    - this new map
    - a new graphic modpack. It's been already made: go to http://forums.civfanatics.com/showt...&threadid=69369
    - 2 or 3 new terrains
    - 1 new tech
    - 1 new government
    - 2 new wonders
    - 1 or 3 new units
    - 1 or 2 new civs (Ethiopia and perhaps Italy)
    - import of the Rhye's of Civilization v1.0 rules (with some corrections)
    - a new rule about the mountains
    - 21 or 23 civs in the same time (divided in ancient/modern: I won't add ancient civs or modern civs but I'll act as I did in the previous version: take a look in the readme!)
     
  8. Jin23

    Jin23 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Great work !!! I love the map :)

    Did you kept track of how luxuries and strategic resources there were on the map? I want to use your map as the basis of my personal mod but I don't want to add / delete resources blindly as it might have balance issues.

    Thanks !! :)
     
  9. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I've put the resources basing mostly on atlas, except for dyes, based on other people's maps as I couldn't find them on the atlas.
    I've put bonus grasslands in industrialized regions.
    Some more game, cattle and wheat are added near civs starting locations
     
  10. Jin23

    Jin23 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Sorry, I meant did you keep track of the number of luxuries and strategic resources you placed?
     
  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    ah, yes.
    You can see that with CivCopyTool. But only non-conquests versions.
     

    Attached Files:

    • c3ct.jpg
      c3ct.jpg
      File size:
      36.1 KB
      Views:
      418
  12. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    When the C3C mod will are realized ?

    I can't wait, me ! :love: :egypt: :nuke: :nuke: :nuke:
     
  13. Strengefuhrer

    Strengefuhrer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    I really like this map. Finally Europe isn't completely cramped and I can actually EXPAND as germany :king:
     
  14. Jin23

    Jin23 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks !!! Now I can start modding :)
     
  15. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    I'm working on it. It will take much time, and I'm slower because Powerbar isn't updated for Conquests, and that was a really useful tool.



    Vote please!
     
  16. Iztvan

    Iztvan the Terrible

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden, Europe
    Maybe you already know this, if so I apologize:
    1. In C3C seafaring civ's (almost) always start on the coast. if they are assigned an inland starting location, the game will swap their starting location with a non-seafaring civ. This appears hard-coded.
    2. Spain is a seafaring Civ.

    Possible solutions:
    1. Change Spains from Seafaring to someting else. Perhaps back to Com Rel?
    2. Move Spains starting settler to the Spanish coast.

    edit:
    I'll download and have a look at the map so I can vote, even though (knowing your earlier work) I might as well just vote now for 5/5! :)
     
  17. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Thank you Iztvan.
    I was already told that ticking custom player data solves the problem :)
     
  18. Iztvan

    Iztvan the Terrible

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden, Europe
    Oops sorry! Do you mean that ticking custom player data allows you to place a Seafaring civ not on the coast, and it'll show up that way? Excelent!

    The map looks great! :D

    I'll study it in greater detail soon, but one thing: Maybe some oil in Rumania (you know the important Ploesti oil fields of ww2) and around Norway/Scotland, perhaps on small tundra islands?

    When you implement your rules changes to this map, will cities in Desert and tundra (forest) be impossible as before? Just curious, the rule worked fine!
     
  19. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Iztvan,
    I was forced to remove some oil spots beacuse they can't be put in plains or grassland. And I didn't want to edit game rules, so I've written in a notepad where to put them back in Rhye's of civ update.

    About the mod, I've quite good news.

    Loading times after 130 turns (150 AD):

    rhyes of civilization (conquests version) my 180x180 map, 23 civs = 6 sec.
    rhyes of civilization (old version) 140x140 map, 16 civs = 3 sec
    kal-el's earth 140x140 map, 16 civs = 15 sec
    arne's earth 180x180 map, 24 civs = 29 sec
    teturkhan's earth 256x256 map, 24 civs = 1 min 13 sec

    I think the loss isn't much considered the larger size and the raised number of civs (and considered that Conquests is generally slower)
     
  20. Iztvan

    Iztvan the Terrible

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Göteborg, Sweden, Europe
    Ok, so they will be in the right place in the mod. Excelent news!
    By the way, I think Sweden needs somw plutonium. Perhaps it's not on your atlas, since it's not being mined (for political & environmental reasons). If Sweden was ever a dictatorship, occupied or in big trouble with energy, we could mine it. I can check out the exact location, if you are interested?

    I'm realy looking forward to the mod... :)
    Are you going to keep the basic fundamental rule changes from the old edition?
     

Share This Page