Rise and Fall ahead of time tech cost increase

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Denkt, Jan 22, 2018.

  1. Denkt

    Denkt Left Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,944
    Looking at Quill youtube video. In classical era machinery (medieval era tech) cost 360. When he reach medieval era the same tech cost 300.

    So tech rushing one era ahead will have a cost increase of looks like 20% and likely even bigger penalties the futher ahead the tech is from your era.

    There also seems to be a tech cost reduction for researching techs an era behind.

    So it is more expensive to research ahead while it is easier to catch up both due to the penalty as well as the cost reduction.

    Industralization in the medieval era cost 1014 from a base cost of 700 which suggest that the tech penalty is 1.2^a

    a = numbers of eras ahead.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2018
    leandrombraz and anandus like this.
  2. dunkleosteus

    dunkleosteus Roman Pleb

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I think in Civ 5 there was a reduction in cost for techs that were already researched by other civs you know. Maybe the reduction was related to that? Or did the cost drop instantly?
     
  3. Denkt

    Denkt Left Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,944
    Well the industralization tech cost seems to support that tech cost is modified by 1.2*a with a being the distance between your current era and the tech era. So techs behind your current era will be much cheaper while the opposite is true for techs ahead of your era.

    Machinery did cost 360 when Quill was in classical era and droped to 300 when he entered medieval era.

    The research gained from eurka seems to be based on base cost so you will gain relative less from eurka if you research techs ahead while you will gain relative more from eurkas on techs behind.
     
  4. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,661
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Fairly sure it's observed that you have easier time researching civics/techs of the current world age and harder time doing it for future eras. It was more observation than a specific outright mention.
     
  5. UWHabs

    UWHabs Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,791
    Location:
    Toronto
    Somewhere it was mentioned that this was the case. So if a tech has a base cost of 300, the eureka is 150 for it. If it's an era ahead of the global era, then it costs 20% more. If it's an era behind, then it costs 20% less. I guess this is another catch-up mechanism.
     
  6. Goliht

    Goliht Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    I wonder, if the ai will now continue to rush into renaissance era via navigation and will just get continual dark ages, due to lacking era pts.

    Or if will try to get the boosts and then all era techs, prior to moving into the next era and therefore maximise it's chances of golden ages etc.
     
  7. Lord_Azazel

    Lord_Azazel Prime Swatter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    421
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norway
    But is that how you advance to the next era? I thought the times when you advanced to the next era was more arbitrary than just research something in that era to get there. I haven't watched that much R&F videos yet though, so I'm most likely wrong.
     
  8. Goliht

    Goliht Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    The ai usually rushes up to "cryptography" not navigation, which puts them in ren era. You'll notice the civs that are doing this usually have a few harbours. Some Civs rush gunpowder.. I suppose it might depend on their starting location or proximity to player which way they go, but you can often end up against ai in info era that have no tanks or no musketeers etc.. because they have alot of science.. they just push to the end asap and have insanely high city def.. so I am expecting the ai will either get some kind of bypass to dark era's or will just continually be in dark eras due to this.. maybe at higher diffs, they'll get the wonders down and thus will get more era pts.. clear barb outposts etc.
     
  9. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Deity

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    Urrr The base cost of Industrialization is 845... I have no idea how 700 comes from...

    So it's only a raw +20%, as I mentioned multiple times before... Not things like 1.2^x, or +20% per era...
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018
  10. civtrader6

    civtrader6 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Gender:
    Male
    haha lily - 'only 20%' can translate into a very large number of turns.
    also I remember seeing in the first screenshots that Merchant republic had a 25% discount on GP (as a legacy card) and now it doesn't etc

    all these are big hits so looking forward to seeing how to go around them
     
  11. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Deity

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    Well, I think in late game the main issue for tech development is the 1-tech-per-turn limit.

    R & F gives +20% for researching tech/civics more advanced than the current era, while -20% cost for tech/civics that is behind the current era.

    I'm sure it is not like (+20% per ahead , or things like 1.2^x)

    This makes difference, now you basically need 20% more science(culture). Since the player shall always be ahead of "world era".

    Or, if you eliminate all other civs except one, the "world era" will follow your era?

    Also, with royal society, stewart, and reyna(purchase district), I think SV in R & F no longer needs GPs. (Also since the -50% Democracy bonus is no longer there, it's more difficult to purchase GPs, too)
     
  12. Lord_Azazel

    Lord_Azazel Prime Swatter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    421
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norway
    I always play Epic or Marathon and I rarely focus science. Just out of curiosity, on what gamespeed do you encounter this being a cap limiter?
     

Share This Page