1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire

Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire

  1. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    So is this thing updated with the gazillion of units that Sandris, Plotinus and the rest have made?
     
  2. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    If this means you volunteer to do so Stormy, certainly ;) Seriously now, I won't put another second in this mod. The job has been done, as imperfect as it is. If someone wants to update RFRE, go ahead nonetheless, these units certainly would be a fine addition!
     
  3. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    I am certainly not qualified to deicide what units should go in, Rome is not my area of expertise. :)

    I know you are no longer working on it, but I thought one of the guys took over? Haven`t been following the thread much..
     
  4. Stazro

    Stazro Prince

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    at the shores of Rhine
    I hope Christophoros is still working on it, hasn't shown a lifesign for some time...
     
  5. againsttheflow

    againsttheflow unpolitically uncorrect

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    northern CA
    oh Christophoooooros! where aaare you? :trouble: We definitely need to find him. *looks around* Nobody told him about the plan, right? :assimilate:
     
  6. Keroro

    Keroro Dororo: Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    The Hinata Residence
    I think that we scared him off...

    We'll probably have to wait another 20 pages before we find someone else brave enough to make another patch. :mischief: Seriously though, if it's just a case of adding some of Sandris' units in then I'll have a go sometime, I trawled through most while sorting Alexander out. Soon TM.

    Soon is a trademark of Embryodead.
     
  7. areon

    areon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Question, has anyone ever seen the comp actually make the Cimbri/Tuetones/and the third one I forgot wonders? I went into the map and removed the resource requirements but they still didn't get made in my latest game.
     
  8. pikmaster

    pikmaster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Poland
    Hmm, I was able to conquer (using my army of 14 ballistas and Legio Consularis) several Persian cities - Susa (1 presidium), Siraf (2), Ectabana (2), Rhagae (2) and Thara (2). Persians offered me Herat, Sarmias and Hamadan for a Peace Treaty. So I reduced their possesions very much.

    I tried to attack Persepolis (the capital) but found that 3 presidua are too many, because I wasn not able to bombard them and finnish off with an army, before they got healed.
    So, if you put 4 presidia, that should be fine. Maybe also increase their defense to 30 and HP to 30?

    As a side effect, I observed that chronicle advances (like 150BC-100BC) are happening later than they should. Maybe this is because Persians lost so many cities? I suppose Rome has one of the building which acts as a Great Library (gives you the advances already known by 2 other civs), but because Persians lsot their research, this is not happening. Which civs should drive the research forward?


    Why so much?


    Cheers
     
  9. areon

    areon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    They want to increase the Pict movement so that the ones moving from the capital don't stop right outside of Hadrian's Wall waiting to be killed.
     
  10. World Destroyer

    World Destroyer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    United States
    So...Chris? What's the dillio?
     
  11. areon

    areon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    I just finished my first complete game with a few alterations of the hard map on consul. I turned down the spawn rate on Incursors and removed the Scythia-Germania alliance. Even with those changes I was barely able to compute some of the turns...anyway here are some pictures.

    Spoiler Rome Peak :


    Spoiler Saxons :


    Spoiler Rome vs Germania :


    Spoiler Damn Horde :


    Rome's last days are numbered with 3 of those stacks heading south. Atleast the Byzantines will carry on for some time.

    Spoiler Victory :


    Funny story why Gaul stuck around so long. I had gone to war with them and taken their lower cities and made peace. A few techs later I tried to fight again but my computer kept freezing everytime I declared war on them. Yet the turns ran fine as long as I ignored them which presented some logistical problems of reaching Britannia before Picts showed up. Then when the Germans made their first invasion south I treated the Gauls as the Visigoths in the peace process by giving them the lands west of Massilia which is why they gained so much territory. I was able to reclaim some of the valuable cities before the end.

    For my next playthrough I plan on trying something new of giving Incursors/Praedators hidden nationality so that war isn't required for Rome to lose ground. In addition I will rise the unit support cost because by the end I had 11k gold left even after some very liberal rushing of Stratiotes.
     
  12. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    Very nice report areon, nice new perspective on the late game. Thanks for the screenshots, too bad that horde did not have enough time to make it to Rome!
     
  13. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    864
    Gender:
    Male
    Those massive barbarian stacks are also what wiped me out :(

    But you did a lot better than me, so congrats!:goodjob:
     
  14. DrewTate

    DrewTate Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    596
    this needs to be made for bts
     
  15. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    This is being made for CIV Warlords by Primordial Stew: check it out
     
  16. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
  17. againsttheflow

    againsttheflow unpolitically uncorrect

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    northern CA
    That's gotta motivate even the most cautious patcher... :yup:
     
  18. geminisama

    geminisama Resident Batman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Can someone explain sea trade routes to me? I have the Pharus built, I have plenty of ports, but it still tells me "X resouces are unconnected, and require a sea route." By what I can tell though, this only applies to Islands.
     
  19. areon

    areon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Only portus mercatorius do sea trading and they can't be built until Commerce. Some cities start out with them but have that chance of being destroyed when conquered.
     
  20. geminisama

    geminisama Resident Batman

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Ahh, thanks. :]
     

Share This Page