1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire

Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire

  1. IXIRandyIXI

    IXIRandyIXI Dirty Warmonger

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Florida, USA

    Wow was I off or what!? :p
     
  2. Ciceronian

    Ciceronian Latin Scholar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Germany
    Best to use Miles Alarius Gallicus and Miles Alarius Germanicus as well as Eques Alarius Gallicus and Eques Alarius Germanicus. You could also make a change by exchanging Pedes for Miles, as Pedes means foot-soldier specifically.
     
  3. GoodGame

    GoodGame Red, White, & Blue, baby!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    13,725
    I'm having trouble getting the WinAce to work right. Is there a plain .zip version anywhere?
     
  4. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    I had tried to play your scenario but the map was too big :(

    When a smaller map ?
     
  5. jobiwan7

    jobiwan7 Jedi Scholar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    A hut on some swampy planet
    Hey! Has anybody else seen zulu's Roman Pikeman? I think we could use this, perhaps as a new Stratiotes or Mercenary Legion unit.
     
  6. loki1232

    loki1232 Loki

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,493
    Location:
    New York City
    It seems to be more of an Auxilary than truly roman.
     
  7. jobiwan7

    jobiwan7 Jedi Scholar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    A hut on some swampy planet
    It looks accurate to me, as it is a later Roman infantryman.
     
  8. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Uh, a beginnners question:
    I don't have to research the first page of the techs, do I?

    (I will have to start a new game, as I have wasted 15 turns not knowing this...)


    BTW: I will be off for a holiday for a week... in nowhere else but Rome! :)
     
  9. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    No those techs on the first page are timers which you are not supposed to research. You will get them for free once the AI gets them because you have the effects of the Great Library.

    Oh yeah, the pdf readme has all kinds of great information to start you out. It answers alot of questions like this pretty well.

    Good luck bringing Roman civilization to the know world ;)
     
  10. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    They technnically can roam anywhere to wish. Now, practically, they are going nowhere, I agree ;) Blame the AI

    :cry: You are right, especially since I am taking a 3 weeks leave end of this week. I will try having a minor patch before, but no guarantee.

    That could work better, but I am still wondering where to go with 'strategic movement'...

    All units (except the one raised among locals like the Alarius) can go through these ports. I have also added a new pirate unit which works like an air superiority unit with H/N. I still have to test but then shipping your troops in pirate controlled waters would be highly risky, adding back some tactics to the game. But you are right, moving big stacks of units would take time (and it should!). Nonetheless, with 5 large harbors in Western Mediterranean, you could ship a nicly sized army in a couple of turns.

    I currently removed the end flic for obvious reason. If anyone can get his hand on a small movie not enfraining copyrights and fitting well, well... let me know!

    Well, yes they are, why ;)? It was a long time ago, but I didn't found an alternative version.

    Sorry, the pedia wasn't correctly updated. It will now read as follow:

    To win the game, you will need to gather the different parts of the Byzantine Empire as it was at the end of the reign of Justinian, so allowing the Roman Empire to continue in history as he did in reality. By 575AC, you will be able to complete the Legatum Romanum, or Roman Legacy if you still control $LINK<Constantinopolis=BLDG_Hellen>. You will need to ensure that four areas are secured (namely Italia$LINK<Italia=BLDG_SS_Italia>; $LINK<Africa & Hispania=BLDG_SS_Africa>; $LINK<Asia & Pontus=BLDG_SS_Asia>; $LINK<Oriens=BLDG_SS_Oriens>; $LINK<Moesia=BLDG_SS_Moesia>) by controlling two capital cities in each of these areas (and thus the unique resource they each contain). The game end by 625AC, and the player is considered as winner only if he succeeds assembling the Legatum Romanum before that date. There is no histograph victory for Rome.

    To get the names of the cities you need to control, click on the spaceship parts, and look at the resources needed (anchors named after the city where they are located).

    List is:

    - Constantinopolis (you need the wonder of the same name in order to buidl the spaceship)
    - Carthago
    - Carthago Nova
    - Roma
    - Ravenna
    - Sinope
    - Ephesus
    - Thessalonica
    - Sirmium
    - Alexandria
    - Antiocha

    Good! I might change the Mare Nostrum requisites then...

    Shipping would really need some serious planification if concerning many troops (emergency) and the seas will have to be secured first, so I think it will work. So wondering what to do with a minor prexisting network of RRs...

    As a ‘brave’ Belgian, brave having all sorts of connotations, (which is a country even smaller than yours lol), I would support the Constitution nonetheless. Failing that one would put us back in waiting for two more decades before something more constructive come in. I wish to see a real united Europe before expiring.

    :( I will have another quick check and get back to you in next post...

    Anyone else went recently beyond the 4th century?

    Thanks, I made the changes.

    I am afraid no. Get a trial version of WinRAR there!

    What exactly is the problem? Would a save of the game on turn 1 helps?
    Smaller map like scenario? This will depend on the people around. I have no time right now.

    Downloaded, thank for linking us there :) Still pondering where to use it... Replacing the Statriotes would probably be a good idea.

    Aoow, enjoy! Let me know if you come by the Val d'Aosta!
     
  11. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    There are many units and wonders coming in in 375AC, since this is the treshold date for the Germanic Great Invasions. I checked again, and it all seems fine. It is especially strange since the game has been already successfully tested beyond that date by at least a few people (any game with Huns, Incursatores is after 375AC). So I don't know why your game crashed for the third time at about the same date... :( What I need is to know if people can reach the 5th century with the current version without crashing. If the problem is the mod, it should happen to all players, and I will do my best to fix it. I am very sorry for you, having invested days in playing (and giving invaluable feedback) without being able to conclude one lone game... Let's hope it is the mod and that it can be fixed!
     
  12. Fictionles

    Fictionles Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Great mod pink! I think I've been playing it non-stop since .84. Quick question, does Pergamon culture flip in .9? I'm tempted to invade it but with over 15 units defending it, it doesn't seem like a wise decision? Any thoughts anyone?
     
  13. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi Fictionles, welcome to CFC!
    Pergamum is still the same strong city state in v0.9 as it was in earlier versions. Wait for next patch to get Edboltz's idea implemented. Inspired by Randy's sneaky tactics, you could ally Pergamum and then wage a war against the Seleucids. The Pergamenes, being in first line, will be seriously weakened (just be sure they are not conquered) and you can easily 'inherit' them by a quick war later on.
     
  14. Asclepius

    Asclepius AWOL

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    Lurking
    An alternative idea for Great Harbour (Airport) teleportation:

    Create a special coastal waters tile that has a far lower movement cost. Place it all along the coast from Tarraco to Croton. Voilà. If the player has enough transports he can move multiple units in one turn all the way across the Mediterranean without affecting strategic game play in the deeper waters near the islands or Carthage. If the player always maintains a small transport fleet in Tarentum and Eretria or Byzantium, as well as Tarraco or Massilia, then a large army can be realistically transported enormous distances in one turn by offloading to another fleet to jump across the straits to Asia for example. This would also make a Second Punic War more likely to follow history as Iberia could be realistically (at least in game terms) invaded without having to worry about Magna Graecia first.

    It may be better to go from Croton to only Massilia, to stop Carthage from using this ocean motorway, but this would IMHO be a far more realistic method of increasing ship transportation without introducing dematerializing Legions or ships which have 20 move points. The Romans regularly transported things up the coast of the Italian peninsular exactly because it was faster than going by road.

    I wouldn't add this coastal motorway to the Levant or North Africa though. The Romans never had a very large fleet at Antioch and this extra fast movement would see Egyptian navies all over the med which is unrealistic.
     
  15. loki1232

    loki1232 Loki

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,493
    Location:
    New York City
    Interesting idea, but it will need a lot of testing in my opinon.
    -how can it have less movement cost than coastal tiles now?
     
  16. Asclepius

    Asclepius AWOL

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    Lurking
    Well, I may be wrong but I thought it would be possible to create a new LM coastal tile with entirely new properties when compared with an ordinary coastal tile. This way the Italian coastal tiles are actually a different terrain type.
     
  17. Traianus

    Traianus Why is it dark in here?

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    Dublin
    Hi all! My first post and honoured am i to post on this thread! the mod is excellent and already has taught me so much more about story of rome. Many sincere congrats to all involved! Believe me when i say that these days i'm the walking dead, having not been to bed earlier than 2 am for over a week! :sad:

    I must say I love the idea of coastal high speed corridors. not sure if they're possible but would be a great solution. failing that, there is a way to impliment the imperial highways. simply make them un-buildable and preplaced. to avoid unbalancing the game you simply need to remove key links in the chain so that, for example, getting from (mod. day) portugal to byzantium might take 3 turns.

    i'm going to try to attatch a crude diagram of what i mean.
    hope that worked!
     
  18. captain beaver

    captain beaver Civ 3 addict

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    the great forest
    I dont think it would work as intended before we do a lot of testing. The use of a sea boulevard might be used by the AI and the player to move unrealisticly fast before Cartage is conquered or the pirate threat is removed.
    Simple suggestion to help integrate this idea : block those highways with immobile barbarian units strong enough to be destroyed only after a certain time.
    However, I still prefer the Great Harbor idea.

    An interesting idea, but these railways will be used by the AI too, giving him a huge advantage when Rome conquers those areas. Also, many of those regions didn't have infrastructures such as roads before the Roman built them. Personnaly, I think normal roads are fine but they should take less time to build.
     
  19. edboltz

    edboltz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Could the pre-built, but broken up, Imperial (Rail) Roads be occupied by a realtively weak units with no movement and non-disbandable owned by a new "generic" civ (again with just a false city out in the Caspian Sea)? Have this Civ (which Rome couldn't talk with) be locked into a Mutual Defense Pact with the Barbarian Civ through which the roads pass.

    This would keep the Barbarian Civs from both using those roads and also attacking the Road Block Civ.

    Probably would involve adding several of these Road Block Civs, otherwise, attacking the Gauls and their Road Block Civ, would result in Rome at war with everyone.

    Alternatively, the Road Block units could only be subject to attack by units capable of attacking air units. Make the Faber Arcis (or some similar unit) the only one capable of attacking these units. Make them look like trees, the destruction of which reveal a Imperial Road beneath. No one could talk with this Civ, so no demand to evacutate could be made.
     
  20. Traianus

    Traianus Why is it dark in here?

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    Dublin
    As always, edboltz, you're the one with the cunning plan. But IXIrandyIXI has a point; no sort of road should already be in place in some of these areas. rome brought the roads with it.

    is there any way to give them era specific graphics? they'll be invisible until the last age!?!
     

Share This Page