1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire

Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire

  1. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    @Imphotep

    Welcome to CFC first :)
    Then, the crash :): that missing file is a Civ3 vanilla file.
    If you go in ...\Conquests\Scenarios\RFRE\Art\Units\Roman Army, you will spot a .ini file. Open it, and you will see it refers to a bunch of file. The graphic files are included with RFRE (the Roman army graphics), but the sound files are linked with a Civ's vanilla's unit sounds called ARMY ANCIENT TIMES (which should be at ...\Civilization 3\Art\units\ARMY ANCIENT TIMES). So check out in Civ3 if you have that unit, and possible take a screenshot of your folder and post it here.

    @Gunner

    That unit rocks :goodjob:

    @Soma

    Good game, it seems you got Carthage easy!

    @ApolytonCivFan

    Well, 50 nomads uh... Maybe pack your troops out of a few minor cities, and try to bribe off the infuriated Scythians tribes. Gold and possibly that city/cities. Get back to them with Trajan full furor later on. The bad news is that Scythia and Germania are in a locked alliance (that will change with next patch, since I plan to have the newly arrived Goths and Germans allied, and Scythia standing alone), so you better finish that war quick before being overwhelmed. Otherwise, once peace is back, finish of Carthage, the southern Mediterrenean will be quiet and that will free many troops.

    @Woodelf

    The sooner you get Punic Spain, the better. It spawns Hannibal armies at a regular basis and it is not a good thought to see them imoving on you in hordes. Plus, based on V. Soma experience, it seems Carthage use these troops to even extend in Gaul. Not fun ;)
     
  2. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    Agree! I do have a hard time tuning the game for 1.0 with these different experiences. I am trying to tune up difficulty levels so that they offer a broader range of challenge, but the settings are limited. I never thought yet that the hardest part of the game was in the late AD (IV, Vth cent). Early game is much more dangerous as Rome is not able to take big challenges (like a Scythian invasion ;)) while late Rome is so HUGE that even massive Barbarian invasion are somehow... less dramatic. That said, I do need much more feedback on the late game!
     
  3. Soam

    Soam Golden Monkey

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Canada

    Really? I don't find this at all. In the begining the other nations all have miniscule armies whereas later in the game you are spread so thin. Then when the barbarians come they come in such huge numbers with such high attack power. Unless you can attack those units first they cut through your Praesidiums like butter. Ah... why can't Rome survive!!!
    Oh and I've been wanting to suggest you change the irrigation graphic since the earilier versions. Not that I have anything against it, just that it doesn't look good when you irrigate coastal squares and have these sharp square edges jutting out into the ocean.
     
  4. ImhotepII

    ImhotepII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    hi pink, and all the others too :)


    well i checkt... found the sound file... but no ini file...
    and now i`m as helpless as before :mischief:






     
  5. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    Arrr, a German version ;)

    The .ini is there: Roman Army (Konfig something)

    And I see the file you need in your Ancient Army folder:
    ArmyAncientRun.amb

    It should works!
    Here is a possible solution to your trouble:
    Try copying the sounds files (or at least the .amb one) into the Roman Army folder, and launch RFRE again. Let me know if it solves it!

    EDIT:
    FOUND your problem :) Your vanilla unit is called Army Ancient and not Army ancient times like my version. Sigh. You can rename the folder where RFRE look into by opening the ini file of Roman Army and replacing all ARMY ANCIENT TIMES by Army Ancient


    You should then have this:

    BTW, I am not too sure the mod will work with a German (or any non English one) version. I do remember there was problems when some folks tried to do so earlier. Just by looking at your last screenshot, I can't help but to note that the fog of war is wrong: you are supposed to know all the Mediterranean coast and some other areas at start. Nonetheless, I believe some non-English version players suceeded in making english mod works, so let's cross the fingers.
     
  6. pinktilapia

    pinktilapia Homeless

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Belgium
    You don't like polders :)?
    I am open to suggestion for new farming pcx, just let me know which you have in mind.
     
  7. ImhotepII

    ImhotepII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    *deeply bows*

    great thanks pink!!!!!!!

    the Ancient Army change solved it :goodjob:

    the fog of war is corectly, when the file was not found it just stoped loading.

    now i see a nicely drawn mediteranean and i guess i`m about to quarrel with phyrrus very soon :D

    hope to get the game quite through before version 1.0 comes out .)

    i have alredy placed about 10 books round my desk with maps and historic roman information :crazyeye:


    a btw... as i read my way through most of this thread today..
    there was an idea of giving the carthagians a special monarchy to lessen there army strenght...
    actually Charthage was no monarchy since the 600BCs
    it was ruled by two Sufeten (like judges) elected every year.
    and a sort of senat made of aristocratics, wich decided solemly upon war and peace.

    and .... i never realised there was a city of vienna in france!
    but as i checked the maps... its there...
    that makes the austrian vienna look quite poorly copied :lol:

    sorry european fun :)


    hopefuly for me i wont find any other diffrences between the us and german version.


    well... then its off to tarentum for now ....

    ´
     
  8. Soam

    Soam Golden Monkey

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Canada
    Well to see what I mean take a look at page 72 of this thread (Gunner's post second from the top) and look at the shore near Pergamum and you can see how the irrigation cuts into the ocean.
     
  9. Meleagr

    Meleagr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Pink, I think catasta should give more bonuses for the player: it makes people unhappy, generates pollution and nothing positive, but an ability to build more improvements. May be as it's a slave market it should produce servi once every 10-15 turns. In my game i use servi for irrigation only, cause i don't have enough of them.
     
  10. Traianus

    Traianus Why is it dark in here?

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    Dublin
    The problem is that I never manage to have the proper defenses in place in time for the big invasions. I'm too busy trying to fight dacia or Pontus or Iberia or Persia.
    Re: Irrigation. I love Pounder's Fitted Irrigation. It has little farmhouses and hedgerows and he did a lot of work on eliminating the effect you mentioned.
     
  11. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    A long war with Illyria and some serious cash problems upcoming....

    Several military alliances were made in 238-235BC; Perganum and Scythia versus Dacia and then Bithyia and Perganum vs Dacia.

    233BC - After moving both armies, 5 ballistas, 3 legions, 2 equis, and 10 Velites to the Illyrian border I declared war. Rejoice! :goodjob:

    232BC - Aquileia falls quickly. Most Velites are left behind for road duty. Not sure how smart that was....The ballista are slowing me down, but are invaluable for softening up enemy defenses.

    228BC - Slavery completed, Second Punic War started.

    224 to 218BC - Salonae, Narona, Savaria, and Doclea all fall. Fine Timber found within Salonae's borders so new improved ships can be built, finally. Units need rest and reinforcements before moving on the last Illyrian city.

    215BC - Second Punic War researched, Education started.

    212BC - Apollonia captured, Illyria assimilated. Peace for a while, maybe....


    Right now I'm spread out, going broke, and getting very nervous at all of the new neighbors I've found; the Germans, Macedonians, ect.

    I can see the other reason for constant war ---- you can't support a large army so you may as well keep using it! I need to keep cranking out Praesidiums and hope I can hold my new borders while I build ships and prepare for Carthage....
     
  12. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi, Woodelf, my fellow in playing!

    I see, you also could not resist and went for Illyria! :)

    As about Carthage:
    I don't think you can beat her on the sea.
    In the second war with C., in around BC 200 (? I have to check that), she had about 20-30 ships around in the Med. Sea.
    And in around BC 100-50 she had about 60-70 ships in the Greek Sea alone!
    Consider that...

    As about economy and military:
    I think it is brillaintly kept in balance that you cannot have TOO many legion and other valuable military units... :goodjob:
    Except - as Gunner pointed it out - the velites:
    They are very useful on attack, both as artillery and quick attacker, their abilty to withdraw makes them superb!
     
  13. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Pink,

    How can I do spy actions?
    It is greyed out in my game in the screen (Shift-E).
     
  14. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    I'm not sure I can afford that many ships, unless some have no upkeep charge. I just need a few more to land my legions on those islands and start harrassing Carthage. Can armies travel on boats or are they doomed to walk everywhere? :D

    I have a bad feeling that the minute I get sucked into a Carthigian war the Northern tribes will choose that moment to overrun me. Oddly enough I look forward to it!
     
  15. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    You can transport armies - they take 3 spaces of the 4 of cumba or quinquremis... :)

    Yes, there is that threat from the barbarians, even this early on...

    Oh, those "blue" swordsmen coming as intruders - and when they capture your city they suddenly turn to be one with national identity - and you can't recapture the city cause that would mean war with them! e.g. Germans...
    That is a clever and annoying element of the game - again... ;)
     
  16. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    I've had plenty of servants captured and improvements destroyed by those intruders. Highly annoying when you can't recapture the servants. Thanks for the heads up on the fact that they can capture cities.

    How many Praesidiums are you leaving on that northern border V.?
     
  17. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    1 or 2, maybe 1 and one velite...
    Let's face it, in the end you will probably not hold on to these cities when Germanic Invasion comes in the 4rd and 5th century or even earlier...

    I plan to build up limes at the Alps and the Balkan...
    giving up cities north from that...
     
  18. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    I will read it in the Civpedia but can someone help me out now:

    what area must I own to be able to build the "spaceship" in RFRE?
    must I own Carthage, for instance?
     
  19. gringoesteban

    gringoesteban Senior Consul

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    homeless and unemployed
    I have reached about 430 AD in my v0.922 game. I noticed that the Triumphus city improvement -- which is supposed to expire with the discovery of the 375-425AD Tech -- is still located in all my cities. The little sword next to the city has disappeared, and my cities no longer produce veteran units, implying that the improvement has indeed expired. However, if I open up the city screen, the two red money icons appear next to the Triumphus, and the 2 gold per turn charge still seems to be getting charged to my Treasury.

    Does that mean that I need to go into each of my 100+ cities and delete all the Triumphuses (Triumphi?) or else continue to pay for an improvement that I am not using????? If so, then the same would be true for Forums and Census and all the other improvements which have expired on or prior to 425AD? Seems like a lot of micromanagement.... Any way around this?

    By the way, the deletion of a Triumphus does not seem to alter the cities' accumulated culture. If I remember right in vanilla Civ, if the Player sells a city improvement, all the accumulated culture generated by that improvement disappears, too. If this is not happening in RFRE, would it be because the "preserve culture on capture" has been flagged?
     
  20. Fictionles

    Fictionles Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Each of the cities required for the spaceship have their own resource. For example, Carthage, Carthago Nova, Pontus, Ephesus, Byzantium, Jersaulem. Some are already available on the map, but the rest won't be available until you're ready to build the spaceship.
     

Share This Page