1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise of Mankind - A New Dawn

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Afforess, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Download 7z, a free tool, which can open it.
     
  2. jtanner28

    jtanner28 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    "Pre-order Civ5: 2 days left to release"

    I wont be getting Civ 5 right off the bat. Money is very tight and my computer's specs are sliding near the low end of the gaming spectrum. 2.66 Ghz processor, 1 GB memory, 32-bit Linux (FTW! I love it dearly, but gaming is not it's strong point). I do have a Nvidia 8600 GS 512 MB video card however which is not terrible. Laughable to a true gamer, I know. All of this is a buildup to asking: when do you think RoM:aND 1.75 (or whatever the final # is) will be released? It plays beautifully on my machine and, at least from the videos and reviews I've read, seems to have more strategic depth than vanilla Civ 5 will have. I fully expect the standard modder's response: "WHEN IT'S DONE.", but I had to ask...:)
     
  3. os79

    os79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Beta3 is up. Find its stickied threda in AND's forum.

    As for time of final version. If no major stumblingblocks come up, I would say at least 1 and half to 2 weeks from now.
     
  4. CellKu

    CellKu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Europe
    But didn't Afforess say that he will quit moding Civ4 immediately once Civ5 is out? So, that would be in two days.
     
  5. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I decided to continue supporting AND until I get a final release out, whenever that is.
     
  6. CellKu

    CellKu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Europe
    That is good to hear! I will try your new beta - maybe I get it to run on my machine...
     
  7. TLF

    TLF Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Your mods look great with many interesting features.

    The problem I am having is that it keeps resetting my game settings to it's default.

    In BTS I have music turned off and monitor set to 1280 x 1024.
    When I load Rise of Mankind with A New Dawn The music plays and it is set to 1024 x (I forget).

    So, I reset everything and restart. All is OK.

    I then load BTS again and it's back to music on and 1024 x (I forget).

    So I set it up again.

    Now I load A New Dawn again and there's the music again and 1024 X (I forget) and all the rest of the default settings.

    Is there a way to make it stop doing this?

    AND 1.74.
    ROM 2.92.
     
  8. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    That particular bug has been fixed in RAND 1.75. ;)
     
  9. TLF

    TLF Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Good to hear.

    Thanks.
     
  10. gfurst

    gfurst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Beagá, MG, Brasil
    I had the same problem too, actually though that was a wine( windows emulation under linux) version causing it.

    So where is the 1.75, looking forward to it, now with civ5 released and the demo run out, i got a hunger to go back!
    One thing i would aprecciate is the change log between versions.
     
  11. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    The Final Version of A New Dawn is out! 1.75 comes with a lot more features, and customizability and control for the player, along with an improved AI. There may be patches, depending on the number of bugs found post-release.


    Also note, A New Dawn is now a STANDALONE MOD. You do not need Rise of Mankind installed first. Be sure you're installing it into your MODS folder, not over Rise of Mankind like previous versions!!!


    A New Dawn 1.75 Changelog
    • In a Standalone Modpack Form
    • Route-To Mode is available to Work Boats that can build sea tunnels
    • Lots of New Dynamic Civ Names - Confederacy, Federation, Provisional Authority, to name a few.
    • Improved Turn Times!!! ;)
    • Barbarian may spawn units inside of naval ships - allowing them to raid the coast
    • Improved AI City Expansion
    • Corporation Balancing
    • Re-Balanced Unique Units
    • New Unit Upgrades (See the Civilopedia Chart!)
    • Merged Abyssia with Ethopia
    • Improved Initial AI City Founding
    • Trait Balancing
    • Faster Mod Startup Times
    • Added New Era Music for Late Game
    • Mastery Victory endgame video
    • New Free Specialist Actual Effects
    • Re-Balanced Killtech's Building Upgrade Chains
    • Lots of Balancing Work
    • Silicon Valley is a NW, not a WW.
    • Improved Trade Yield Information
    • Merged Future Civics into other Civic Catagories
    • Military Civics are Non-Optional
    • New Tech Hover's for When Improvements can upgrade to the next improvement
    • Better RoM Changes are Non-Optional
    • New Pedia Articles Describing New Features
    • When a Landmark Forest or Jungle is cut down, the sign is properly removed
    • Civilizations now only have 1 UU each.
    • Increased the Amount of Beakers GP give - they should always be able to research a tech in 1 turn.
    • MAD Nukes Mod
    • Advanced Automations Settings page
    • Changed the Dates for Marathon gamespeed to better match reality
    • Automate Protect Option
    • Added New Mission to Choose Free Tech for Great People
    • Completely Rebalanced Government Civics
    • Alert Message for Pillaging Roads.
    • Small Chance for Units Who Die On a Ship by the Coast to make it to shore

    Enjoy!
     
  12. Jabarto

    Jabarto Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,025
    Location:
    Colorado, U.S.
    Are the newly-merged future civics balanced against the others in their categories? One of the things that really killed earlier versions of ROM for me was the fact that all of the options in the civic categories were supplanted by a single, overpowered sci-fi option at the end of the game.

    In any case, congratuations on making coming so far with your submod. You've done great work, even if I don't agree with all of it. :)
     
  13. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas

    Balanced-ish. However, feel free to turn off the future era to avoid them entirely. ;)
     
  14. trevort

    trevort Corporal of Marines

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    That's funny.
     
  15. TLF

    TLF Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    I was going to ask why 1.75 is 850mb and 1.74 is only 95mb.

    I guess it's because it's standalone.
     
  16. DJ We$t

    DJ We$t Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    I don't know if my Question will fit in this section, but I never found out why the turns are limited in AND. How can I turn this off ? In the mainmenu before you start a new custom game you can't turn it off or lets say you can deselect this option but it won't effect the game...
    I never reached the last turn so correct me if I'm wrong
     
  17. wyqtor

    wyqtor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I have a question: whenever I load a save game, in the dialog box with the modding options it says "no revolutions". I have no check box to enable it if I press Ctrl+Alt+O. Is there any other way to enable revolutions?
     
  18. gfurst

    gfurst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Beagá, MG, Brasil
    By the way, i always play with revolutions enabled, and not once i saw a revolution occurring.
    My last game, on the 1.75 version, i have a vast empire, still in a early stage of the game, almost crumbling economically and no sign of revolution. And i guess this is because of the civics not being so aggressive on the revolution side.

    Also this was a Perfect World 2 map, size small, and still the output was a very large map, the mod changes the size overall or is this a feature from the map?
     
  19. cha dawn

    cha dawn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Europe
    you could change the indexmodifier (perhaps make it 2.0) to get more revolutions
     
  20. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    It's because you are using a Time or Mastery victory. ;)

    You enable Revolutions by setting up a Custom Map or Custom Scenario. ;)

    Perfectworld overrides the normal settings, basically it's usually one size larger than it says. So a standard size gives a map closer to a large size.

    As for Revolutions, yes they do occur, but only if you neglect your economy, happiness, healthiness or other factors. Higher difficulty levels have more issues as well. ;)
     

Share This Page