1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RiskNES III - Apex In Circle

Discussion in 'Never Ending Stories' started by Symphony D., May 4, 2007.

  1. LightFang

    LightFang "I'm the hero!"

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    USA
    Man, I need to figure out what went wrong with all my attacks...either I really do suck at Risk, or the dice hate me. :p
     
  2. Symphony D.

    Symphony D. Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,991
    Location:
    ALNITAHIA FOREVER
    Retroactive deletion.
     
  3. Lord_Iggy

    Lord_Iggy Tsesk'ihe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    24,565
    Location:
    Yukon
    I was about to mention that.

    D:
     
  4. Insane_Panda

    Insane_Panda Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    8,595
    Location:
    Southern California
  5. Symphony D.

    Symphony D. Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,991
    Location:
    ALNITAHIA FOREVER
    Retroactive deletion.
     
  6. LightFang

    LightFang "I'm the hero!"

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    USA
    Goodbye, cruel world! I suck at Risk. :(
     
  7. JosefStalinator

    JosefStalinator Я буду снова здесь

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,381
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    I think it actually looks better when its not animated... especially since you don't have to wait for the final results, watch for a few seconds, then wait again :p
     
  8. Symphony D.

    Symphony D. Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,991
    Location:
    ALNITAHIA FOREVER
    Retroactive deletion.
     
  9. Kentharu

    Kentharu Zebra Commander

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,908
    Location:
    Place with things
    wow symphony that was amazing, not the update but the presentation, i must give you a hand, you have truely out done yourself
     
  10. knigh+

    knigh+ .

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Shipless Anchor
    Question:

    Do we get the opponent's cards when we take him out? I remember a rule like that in regular risk.
     
  11. Niklas

    Niklas Fully Functional GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,290
    Location:
    57°47'55"N 12°09'16"E
    @knigh+: Yes, you do. But the question of who gets the cards is a bit complex. If Red were to hold in Madagascar, and is destroyed, whoever holds Madagascar at the end of the turn gets the cards, regardless of who killed the Red units. So if you were to attack Madagascar, taking Red out, and Blue player then were to surge attack Madagascar, taking your units there out, Blue gets the cards.

    If Red didn't hold, but attacked somewhere, who gets the cards depends on the order that battles are resolved. If Red's attack is resolved first and fails, then after that the situation is the same as above. If the attack on Madagascar is resolved (and Red lost) before Red's attack, then whoever owns the territory that Red attacked, at the end of the turn, gets the cards.

    Battle resolution is roughly done in top-down left-to-right order on the map.

    In conclusion, the player who at the end of the turn holds the territory where the last remnants of another player were last seen, be it a defending or attacking army, gets the cards of that player, as well as the feather to put in his hat.

    EDIT: Btw, I'm thoroughly amused by the fact that I still own Scandinavia, despite no efforts whatsoever to hold on to it.
     
  12. Grombar

    Grombar Fire in the Hole

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Pewaukee, WI
    Well I got screwed, contacting Symphony before I rant too much (I may have rules with my placement messed up)
     
  13. Lord_Iggy

    Lord_Iggy Tsesk'ihe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    24,565
    Location:
    Yukon
    I liked the update. Very nice.
     
  14. Symphony D.

    Symphony D. Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,991
    Location:
    ALNITAHIA FOREVER
    Retroactive deletion.
     
  15. Lord_Iggy

    Lord_Iggy Tsesk'ihe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    24,565
    Location:
    Yukon
    I hope my turn goes as well... :(
     
  16. Symphony D.

    Symphony D. Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,991
    Location:
    ALNITAHIA FOREVER
    Retroactive deletion.
     
  17. knigh+

    knigh+ .

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Shipless Anchor
    I think we should have access to our cards. If a territory whose card we have is within reach and we are one card short of a set, we might decide to take it in our next attack, so that we get 2 bonus armies when we exchange the cards on the following turn. That is something I often do in tabletop Risk.
     
  18. Symphony D.

    Symphony D. Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8,991
    Location:
    ALNITAHIA FOREVER
    Retroactive deletion.
     
  19. Lord_Iggy

    Lord_Iggy Tsesk'ihe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    24,565
    Location:
    Yukon
    Wow. It went even better this time!
     
  20. LightFang

    LightFang "I'm the hero!"

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    USA
    Goodbye, cruel world!
     

Share This Page